Basically, I'm trying to use Green Flame Blade and 2 longswords. If I were to use the cantrip (at will) and attack with my action, could I use the cantrip again and attack with the second sword as a bonus action with Two-Weapon fighting?
Casting green-flame blade requires you to take the [Tooltip Not Found] action, rather than the Attack action that you normally use to make attacks. Green-flame blade cannot be cast as a bonus action except using the Quickened Spell Metamagic (so a Sorcerer, or another character with Metamagic Adept could technically attack twice with green-flame blade in that way).
You cannot use two-weapon fighting with green-flame blade at all, as the bonus action off-hand attack requires you to take the Attack action first, but like I say, casting the cantrip uses a different action.
Also you would need the Dual Wielder feat before you can dual wield a pair of longswords, as they are not light weapons.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
if you were a sorcerer and quickened the Green Flame Blade cantrip you could make two attacks with a single longs word, both gaining the effect of Green Flame Blade.
"At-will" refers to resource cost, not timing. You can cast cantrips any number of times, because they don't cost spell slots. But you still have to obey their casting times (usually 1 action).
Also you would need the Dual Wielder feat before you can dual wield a pair of longswords, as they are not light weapons.
That's not entirely true...You can wield any two one-handed-weapons you like just fine. You just can't use them for two-weapon-fighting unless you have the correct feat.
But as doubling up on GFB isn't using the two weapon-fighting rule then you could do this just fine (if you can do the S, M components of course). But, as Mog pointed out, you could do it just as well with only one sword so why bother?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Let's keep it short and sweet.
Basically, I'm trying to use Green Flame Blade and 2 longswords. If I were to use the cantrip (at will) and attack with my action, could I use the cantrip again and attack with the second sword as a bonus action with Two-Weapon fighting?
Short answers is no.
Casting green-flame blade requires you to take the [Tooltip Not Found] action, rather than the Attack action that you normally use to make attacks. Green-flame blade cannot be cast as a bonus action except using the Quickened Spell Metamagic (so a Sorcerer, or another character with Metamagic Adept could technically attack twice with green-flame blade in that way).
You cannot use two-weapon fighting with green-flame blade at all, as the bonus action off-hand attack requires you to take the Attack action first, but like I say, casting the cantrip uses a different action.
Also you would need the Dual Wielder feat before you can dual wield a pair of longswords, as they are not light weapons.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
if you were a sorcerer and quickened the Green Flame Blade cantrip you could make two attacks with a single longs word, both gaining the effect of Green Flame Blade.
"At-will" refers to resource cost, not timing. You can cast cantrips any number of times, because they don't cost spell slots. But you still have to obey their casting times (usually 1 action).
That's not entirely true...You can wield any two one-handed-weapons you like just fine. You just can't use them for two-weapon-fighting unless you have the correct feat.
But as doubling up on GFB isn't using the two weapon-fighting rule then you could do this just fine (if you can do the S, M components of course). But, as Mog pointed out, you could do it just as well with only one sword so why bother?