The 6th level Conjuration Wizard ability Benign Transposition states:
Starting at 6th level, you can use your action to teleport up to 30 feet to an unoccupied space that you can see. Alternatively, you can choose a space within range that is occupied by a Small or Medium creature. If that creature is willing, you both teleport, swapping places.
Once you use this feature, you can’t use it again until you finish a long rest or you cast a conjuration spell of 1st level or higher.
This has the potential for some really strong combos when paired with find familiar that RAW seem just out of reach unless you have action surge. Summoning a familiar you don't need to see the space, it only has to be unoccupied. Benign conjuration lets you teleport to someplace you can see or with a willing small or medium creature without the need to see.
This almost seems like you could summon a familiar behind a totally impassable door or wall and teleport there. However, seeing through your familiar's senses takes an action and only lasts a round ending at the start of your next turn, BT also takes an action so that couldn't be comboed without action surge I believe. Swapping places with the familiar mostly doesn't work because almost all familiars are tiny creatures, not medium or small. However, the octopus familiar IS considered a small creature. Unless in an undersea setting you probably wouldn't have an octopus summoned, so likely wouldn't be available for impromptu attempts but could be used with sufficient time or planning. Also, action surge opens two actions in a turn. Need to get past a vault door to steal something??? Or possibly up or down a level in a dungeon???
I am wondering though if anyone can think of other mechanics to make use of this teleporting to inaccessible places? Something like quickened spell or fast hands or the like for actions. Or if my reading of this combo is off somehow. I plan on playing a conjuration wizard in my next campaign and would really love to pull out this move if possible.
Summoning a familiar you don't need to see the space, it only has to be unoccupied.
DM may require to have a clear path to the space where the familiar appears.
To initially cast the spell, sure (not really "DM may require," it's the literal rule). But, "As an action while it is temporarily dismissed, you can cause it to reappear in any unoccupied space within 30 feet of you." Since that's not the targeting phase of casting a spell, but rather some effect granted after the spell is cast, it's not subject to the "clear path to the target" rule. At this point, it would be reasonable for a DM to require a clear path anyway, but there's no rule mandating it.
Summoning a familiar you don't need to see the space, it only has to be unoccupied.
DM may require to have a clear path to the space where the familiar appears.
I mean, it does have the potential to really mess up a DMs plans. Like say they have a whole series of adventures planned to find the keys and the answers to unlock the Lost Vault of Arcane Treasures but the conjuration wizard with action surge says, "just a sec, I got this" and a minute later (well maybe an hour and a minute to short rest and get action surge back) they come out with the BBEG's phylactery.
I would prefer it if a DM improvised some sort of ward against teleportation rather than a house rule that foiled the solution.
The Familiar+Misty Step is a great way to get through some physical barriers. There's also spells like Clairvoyance or Arcane Eye to see beyond the physical barrier and then Misty Step. Misty Step is a range of Self so no worries about clear paths or such. Although as mentioned the dismissing/summoning of the familiar is not casting a spell so doesn't require clear paths either.
As for Benign Transposition. I'd be more than fine if you wanted to use that with any familiar, ignoring size. This isn't even broken at all. It only gets you past that locked door, but not the party and doors are locked with keys which you won't have. Getting the party with you still takes up your slots and wittles away your resources which could have been the DM's plan all along.
If a DM wants to protect against teleporting, they can just do it. There's multiple spells like Private Sanctum and Forbiddance that can do that plus as a DM they can invent it. There's also Glyph of Warding to harm creatures that enter without permission - bye bye familiar. If a DM doesn't want you to be able to enter somewhere - then you cant and nothing you do will change that.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
The Familiar+Misty Step is a great way to get through some physical barriers. There's also spells like Clairvoyance or Arcane Eye to see beyond the physical barrier and then Misty Step. Misty Step is a range of Self so no worries about clear paths or such. Although as mentioned the dismissing/summoning of the familiar is not casting a spell so doesn't require clear paths either.
As for Benign Transposition. I'd be more than fine if you wanted to use that with any familiar, ignoring size. This isn't even broken at all. It only gets you past that locked door, but not the party and doors are locked with keys which you won't have. Getting the party with you still takes up your slots and wittles away your resources which could have been the DM's plan all along.
If a DM wants to protect against teleporting, they can just do it. There's multiple spells like Private Sanctum and Forbiddance that can do that plus as a DM they can invent it. There's also Glyph of Warding to harm creatures that enter without permission - bye bye familiar. If a DM doesn't want you to be able to enter somewhere - then you cant and nothing you do will change that.
Nice post. I was so caught up in figuring out how to use Benign Transposition I forgot all about Misty Step. 😳
Summoning a familiar you don't need to see the space, it only has to be unoccupied.
DM may require to have a clear path to the space where the familiar appears.
To initially cast the spell, sure (not really "DM may require," it's the literal rule). But, "As an action while it is temporarily dismissed, you can cause it to reappear in any unoccupied space within 30 feet of you." Since that's not the targeting phase of casting a spell, but rather some effect granted after the spell is cast, it's not subject to the "clear path to the target" rule. At this point, it would be reasonable for a DM to require a clear path anyway, but there's no rule mandating it.
I agree the targeting rules is more for original casting and cannot take into consideration every spells' unique mechanic, but in this case the reapparance is still conjuring in a targeted space after initial casting and some DM may still require a clear path to the space like you say. Especially to prevent someone from conjuring it on the other side of doors, floors and walls , to prospect for empty spaces beyond.
What's the rule about a clear path to the target? It sounds different than sight or cover. I'm not familiar with that one.
In Spellcasting
A Clear Path to the Target: To target something, you must have a clear path to it, so it can't be behind total cover. If you place an area of effect at a point that you can't see and an obstruction, such as a wall, is between you and that point, the point of origin comes into being on the near side of that obstruction.
What's the rule about a clear path to the target? It sounds different than sight or cover. I'm not familiar with that one.
In Spellcasting
A Clear Path to the Target: To target something, you must have a clear path to it, so it can't be behind total cover. If you place an area of effect at a point that you can't see and an obstruction, such as a wall, is between you and that point, the point of origin comes into being on the near side of that obstruction.
Hmm, well you're not targeting anything and its not an AoE. I guess the question I'm not sure about is whether this would then still apply to find familiar? My sense is there is some way that general vs specific works, but I don't fully get that ruling. It seems Saga also brought up the point earlier (that I didn't understand at the time) that casting the spell might be different than resummoning a familiar, and that rule wouldn't apply.
What's the rule about a clear path to the target? It sounds different than sight or cover. I'm not familiar with that one.
In Spellcasting
A Clear Path to the Target: To target something, you must have a clear path to it, so it can't be behind total cover. If you place an area of effect at a point that you can't see and an obstruction, such as a wall, is between you and that point, the point of origin comes into being on the near side of that obstruction.
Hmm, well you're not targeting anything
You're targeting a point or space within range where the conjuration appears. Spells that involve teleporting or conjuring creature or object that occupy a space will usually rely on such reference while abjuration or evocations that don't for exemple will rely on a point instead.
What's the rule about a clear path to the target? It sounds different than sight or cover. I'm not familiar with that one.
In Spellcasting
A Clear Path to the Target: To target something, you must have a clear path to it, so it can't be behind total cover. If you place an area of effect at a point that you can't see and an obstruction, such as a wall, is between you and that point, the point of origin comes into being on the near side of that obstruction.
Hmm, well you're not targeting anything
You're targeting a point or space within range where the conjuration appears. Spells that involve teleporting or conjuring creature or object that occupy a space will usually rely on such reference while abjuration or evocations that don't for exemple will rely on a point instead.
Looking through the conjuration spells they seem to say a point you can see in range, such as summon shadowspawn. A "target" seems to always refer to an attack roll ice knife. My brief close reading doesn't really reflect targeting as being a point or space.
What's the rule about a clear path to the target? It sounds different than sight or cover. I'm not familiar with that one.
In Spellcasting
A Clear Path to the Target: To target something, you must have a clear path to it, so it can't be behind total cover. If you place an area of effect at a point that you can't see and an obstruction, such as a wall, is between you and that point, the point of origin comes into being on the near side of that obstruction.
Hmm, well you're not targeting anything
You're targeting a point or space within range where the conjuration appears. Spells that involve teleporting or conjuring creature or object that occupy a space will usually rely on such reference while abjuration or evocations that don't for exemple will rely on a point instead.
Looking through the conjuration spells they seem to say a point you can see in range, such as summon shadowspawn. A "target" seems to always refer to an attack roll ice knife. My brief close reading doesn't really reflect targeting as being a point or space.
"Choose a space within range" is a textbook example of how spells declare their targets. The rules also help clarify:
For a spell like fireball, the target is the point in space where the ball of fire erupts.
Like I said earlier though, in terms of rules as written, I don't think the targeting rules necessarily apply after the spell has already been cast. I do think it would be reasonable for a DM to apply them anyway in this case.
The target of a spell must be within the spell's range and it's description tells you whether the spell targets creatures, objects, or a point of origin for an area of effect.. Non-Self range spells such as Summon or Conjure X, Flaming Sphere, Grasping Vine, Floating Disk etc are exemple of conjurations appearing in an unoccupied space. Some require you to see it, others don't. It differ from Self range spell that you are the one specifically being affected and that choose a space in the process, such as Misty Step, Far Step etc These always have a clear path to the target of the spell since it is you.
I suppose another possibility in order to use benign transportation, would be to cast enlarge/reduce on your tiny familiar to increase its size before summoning behind the door.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The 6th level Conjuration Wizard ability Benign Transposition states:
This has the potential for some really strong combos when paired with find familiar that RAW seem just out of reach unless you have action surge. Summoning a familiar you don't need to see the space, it only has to be unoccupied. Benign conjuration lets you teleport to someplace you can see or with a willing small or medium creature without the need to see.
This almost seems like you could summon a familiar behind a totally impassable door or wall and teleport there. However, seeing through your familiar's senses takes an action and only lasts a round ending at the start of your next turn, BT also takes an action so that couldn't be comboed without action surge I believe. Swapping places with the familiar mostly doesn't work because almost all familiars are tiny creatures, not medium or small. However, the octopus familiar IS considered a small creature. Unless in an undersea setting you probably wouldn't have an octopus summoned, so likely wouldn't be available for impromptu attempts but could be used with sufficient time or planning. Also, action surge opens two actions in a turn. Need to get past a vault door to steal something??? Or possibly up or down a level in a dungeon???
I am wondering though if anyone can think of other mechanics to make use of this teleporting to inaccessible places? Something like quickened spell or fast hands or the like for actions. Or if my reading of this combo is off somehow. I plan on playing a conjuration wizard in my next campaign and would really love to pull out this move if possible.
DM may require to have a clear path to the space where the familiar appears.
To initially cast the spell, sure (not really "DM may require," it's the literal rule). But, "As an action while it is temporarily dismissed, you can cause it to reappear in any unoccupied space within 30 feet of you." Since that's not the targeting phase of casting a spell, but rather some effect granted after the spell is cast, it's not subject to the "clear path to the target" rule. At this point, it would be reasonable for a DM to require a clear path anyway, but there's no rule mandating it.
I mean, it does have the potential to really mess up a DMs plans. Like say they have a whole series of adventures planned to find the keys and the answers to unlock the Lost Vault of Arcane Treasures but the conjuration wizard with action surge says, "just a sec, I got this" and a minute later (well maybe an hour and a minute to short rest and get action surge back) they come out with the BBEG's phylactery.
I would prefer it if a DM improvised some sort of ward against teleportation rather than a house rule that foiled the solution.
The Familiar+Misty Step is a great way to get through some physical barriers. There's also spells like Clairvoyance or Arcane Eye to see beyond the physical barrier and then Misty Step. Misty Step is a range of Self so no worries about clear paths or such. Although as mentioned the dismissing/summoning of the familiar is not casting a spell so doesn't require clear paths either.
As for Benign Transposition. I'd be more than fine if you wanted to use that with any familiar, ignoring size. This isn't even broken at all. It only gets you past that locked door, but not the party and doors are locked with keys which you won't have. Getting the party with you still takes up your slots and wittles away your resources which could have been the DM's plan all along.
If a DM wants to protect against teleporting, they can just do it. There's multiple spells like Private Sanctum and Forbiddance that can do that plus as a DM they can invent it. There's also Glyph of Warding to harm creatures that enter without permission - bye bye familiar. If a DM doesn't want you to be able to enter somewhere - then you cant and nothing you do will change that.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Nice post. I was so caught up in figuring out how to use Benign Transposition I forgot all about Misty Step. 😳
I agree the targeting rules is more for original casting and cannot take into consideration every spells' unique mechanic, but in this case the reapparance is still conjuring in a targeted space after initial casting and some DM may still require a clear path to the space like you say. Especially to prevent someone from conjuring it on the other side of doors, floors and walls , to prospect for empty spaces beyond.
What's the rule about a clear path to the target? It sounds different than sight or cover. I'm not familiar with that one.
In Spellcasting
Hmm, well you're not targeting anything and its not an AoE. I guess the question I'm not sure about is whether this would then still apply to find familiar? My sense is there is some way that general vs specific works, but I don't fully get that ruling. It seems Saga also brought up the point earlier (that I didn't understand at the time) that casting the spell might be different than resummoning a familiar, and that rule wouldn't apply.
Strict RAW, it works. There are reasonable story ways a DM can discourage this if they don't like it, though.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
You're targeting a point or space within range where the conjuration appears. Spells that involve teleporting or conjuring creature or object that occupy a space will usually rely on such reference while abjuration or evocations that don't for exemple will rely on a point instead.
Looking through the conjuration spells they seem to say a point you can see in range, such as summon shadowspawn. A "target" seems to always refer to an attack roll ice knife. My brief close reading doesn't really reflect targeting as being a point or space.
"Choose a space within range" is a textbook example of how spells declare their targets. The rules also help clarify:
Like I said earlier though, in terms of rules as written, I don't think the targeting rules necessarily apply after the spell has already been cast. I do think it would be reasonable for a DM to apply them anyway in this case.
The target of a spell must be within the spell's range and it's description tells you whether the spell targets creatures, objects, or a point of origin for an area of effect.. Non-Self range spells such as Summon or Conjure X, Flaming Sphere, Grasping Vine, Floating Disk etc are exemple of conjurations appearing in an unoccupied space. Some require you to see it, others don't. It differ from Self range spell that you are the one specifically being affected and that choose a space in the process, such as Misty Step, Far Step etc These always have a clear path to the target of the spell since it is you.
I suppose another possibility in order to use benign transportation, would be to cast enlarge/reduce on your tiny familiar to increase its size before summoning behind the door.