It says that you "learn" the spells - does that mean that if I'm a Sorcerer and I pick Ritual Caster (Sorcerer), I can obviously cast the spells in the book as rituals, but can I cast the spells in the book normally because I've "learned" them? Does "learning" the spells count as knowing them, since the wording of Spellcasting: "if you know the 1st-level spell burning hands and have a 1st-level and a 2nd-level spell slot available, you can cast burning hands using either slot." Does that mean that I can cast sorcerer spells I "know" through the ritual book? And can I cast any sorcerer spells I know through the class rather than the feat as rituals if they have the ritual tag (don't think so, but have to check)?
The Magic Initiate feat has similar wording of "you learn". The Sage Advice states this counts as you knowing the spell and if the spell you chose for the feat is from the same class you have, then you can cast it using your spellcasting feature. Since it is the same language as the Ritual Caster feat, it should be treated the same.
So, yes, if you choose Ritual Caster (Sorcerer) then the spells you choose can be cast using your Sorcerer's Spellcasting feature.
The caveat is this line from the Ritual Caster feat: "These spells are written in a ritual book, which you must have in hand while casting one of them." It does not state "casting one of them as a ritual" so even when using the Spellcasting feature and using spell slots, you still need the book on hand. However, this seems more like an oversight in wording. The contextual intent is that this ritual book is for casting the spells as rituals. So, check with DM as your mileage may vary, as they say.
Choose a class: bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard. You learn two cantrips of your choice from that class’s spell list.
In addition, choose one 1st-level spell to learn from that same list. Using this feat, you can cast the spell once at its lowest level, and you must finish a long rest before you can cast it in this way again.
Your spellcasting ability for these spells depends on the class you chose: Charisma for bard, sorcerer, or warlock; Wisdom for cleric or druid; or Intelligence for wizard.
You have learned a number of spells that you can cast as rituals. These spells are written in a ritual book, which you must have in hand while casting one of them.
When you choose this feat, you acquire a ritual book holding two 1st-level spells of your choice. Choose one of the following classes: bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard. You must choose your spells from that class’s spell list, and the spells you choose must have the ritual tag. The class you choose also determines your spellcasting ability for these spells: Charisma for bard, sorcerer, or warlock; Wisdom for cleric or druid; or Intelligence for wizard.
If you come across a spell in written form, such as a magical spell scroll or a wizard’s spellbook, you might be able to add it to your ritual book. The spell must be on the spell list for the class you chose, the spell’s level can be no higher than half your level (rounded up), and it must have the ritual tag. The process of copying the spell into your ritual book takes 2 hours per level of the spell, and costs 50 gp per level. The cost represents material components you expend as you experiment with the spell to master it, as well as the fine inks you need to record it.
If you’re a spellcaster, can you pick your own class when you gain the Magic Initiate feat?
Yes, the feat doesn’t say you can’t. For example, if you’re a wizard and gain the Magic Initiate feat, you can choose wizard and thereby learn two more wizard cantrips and another 1st-level wizard spell.
If you have spell slots, can you use them to cast the 1st-level spell you learn with the Magic Initiate feat?
Yes, but only if the class you pick for the feat is one of your classes. For example, if you pick sorcerer and you are a sorcerer, the Spellcasting feature for that class tells you that you can use your spell slots to cast the sorcerer spells you know, so you can use your spell slots to cast the 1st-level sorcerer spell you learn from Magic Initiate. Similarly, if you are a wizard and pick that class for the feat, you learn a 1st-level wizard spell, which you could add to your spellbook and subsequently prepare.
In short, you must follow your character’s normal spellcasting rules, which determine whether you can expend spell slots on the 1st-level spell you learn from Magic Initiate.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
The Magic Initiate feat has similar wording of "you learn". The Sage Advice states this counts as you knowing the spell and if the spell you chose for the feat is from the same class you have, then you can cast it using your spellcasting feature. Since it is the same language as the Ritual Caster feat, it should be treated the same.
I'm going to disagree, because it's not the same language as Magic Initiate. Ritual Caster says "You have learned a number of spells that you can cast as rituals." That's a single sentence that serves to limit how you can cast them. Ritual Caster gives you no way to cast these spells except as rituals,
I'm going to disagree, because it's not the same language as Magic Initiate. Ritual Caster says "You have learned a number of spells that you can cast as rituals." That's a single sentence that serves to limit how you can cast them. Ritual Caster gives you no way to cast these spells except as rituals,
I'm going to disagree, because it's not the same language as Magic Initiate. Ritual Caster says "You have learned a number of spells that you can cast as rituals." That's a single sentence that serves to limit how you can cast them. Ritual Caster gives you no way to cast these spells except as rituals,
that you CAN cast as rituals, not MUST cast.
It also doesn't say "can cast as rituals or using your spell slots".
It says that you "learn" the spells - does that mean that if I'm a Sorcerer and I pick Ritual Caster (Sorcerer), I can obviously cast the spells in the book as rituals, but can I cast the spells in the book normally because I've "learned" them? Does "learning" the spells count as knowing them, since the wording of Spellcasting: "if you know the 1st-level spell burning hands and have a 1st-level and a 2nd-level spell slot available, you can cast burning hands using either slot." Does that mean that I can cast sorcerer spells I "know" through the ritual book? And can I cast any sorcerer spells I know through the class rather than the feat as rituals if they have the ritual tag (don't think so, but have to check)?
Do sorcerers use a spell book or is that a wizard thing? I always thought of their spells as essentially superpowers.
i mean the ritual book they get if they take the Ritual Caster feat. You're otherwise correct.
Yes, with a caveat.
The Magic Initiate feat has similar wording of "you learn". The Sage Advice states this counts as you knowing the spell and if the spell you chose for the feat is from the same class you have, then you can cast it using your spellcasting feature. Since it is the same language as the Ritual Caster feat, it should be treated the same.
So, yes, if you choose Ritual Caster (Sorcerer) then the spells you choose can be cast using your Sorcerer's Spellcasting feature.
The caveat is this line from the Ritual Caster feat: "These spells are written in a ritual book, which you must have in hand while casting one of them." It does not state "casting one of them as a ritual" so even when using the Spellcasting feature and using spell slots, you still need the book on hand. However, this seems more like an oversight in wording. The contextual intent is that this ritual book is for casting the spells as rituals. So, check with DM as your mileage may vary, as they say.
Magic Initiate
Choose a class: bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard. You learn two cantrips of your choice from that class’s spell list.
In addition, choose one 1st-level spell to learn from that same list. Using this feat, you can cast the spell once at its lowest level, and you must finish a long rest before you can cast it in this way again.
Your spellcasting ability for these spells depends on the class you chose: Charisma for bard, sorcerer, or warlock; Wisdom for cleric or druid; or Intelligence for wizard.
Ritual Caster
You have learned a number of spells that you can cast as rituals. These spells are written in a ritual book, which you must have in hand while casting one of them.
When you choose this feat, you acquire a ritual book holding two 1st-level spells of your choice. Choose one of the following classes: bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard. You must choose your spells from that class’s spell list, and the spells you choose must have the ritual tag. The class you choose also determines your spellcasting ability for these spells: Charisma for bard, sorcerer, or warlock; Wisdom for cleric or druid; or Intelligence for wizard.
If you come across a spell in written form, such as a magical spell scroll or a wizard’s spellbook, you might be able to add it to your ritual book. The spell must be on the spell list for the class you chose, the spell’s level can be no higher than half your level (rounded up), and it must have the ritual tag. The process of copying the spell into your ritual book takes 2 hours per level of the spell, and costs 50 gp per level. The cost represents material components you expend as you experiment with the spell to master it, as well as the fine inks you need to record it.
Sage Advice
If you’re a spellcaster, can you pick your own class when you gain the Magic Initiate feat?
Yes, the feat doesn’t say you can’t. For example, if you’re a wizard and gain the Magic Initiate feat, you can choose wizard and thereby learn two more wizard cantrips and another 1st-level wizard spell.
If you have spell slots, can you use them to cast the 1st-level spell you learn with the Magic Initiate feat?
Yes, but only if the class you pick for the feat is one of your classes. For example, if you pick sorcerer and you are a sorcerer, the Spellcasting feature for that class tells you that you can use your spell slots to cast the sorcerer spells you know, so you can use your spell slots to cast the 1st-level sorcerer spell you learn from Magic Initiate. Similarly, if you are a wizard and pick that class for the feat, you learn a 1st-level wizard spell, which you could add to your spellbook and subsequently prepare.
In short, you must follow your character’s normal spellcasting rules, which determine whether you can expend spell slots on the 1st-level spell you learn from Magic Initiate.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
I'm going to disagree, because it's not the same language as Magic Initiate. Ritual Caster says "You have learned a number of spells that you can cast as rituals." That's a single sentence that serves to limit how you can cast them. Ritual Caster gives you no way to cast these spells except as rituals,
that you CAN cast as rituals, not MUST cast.
It also doesn't say "can cast as rituals or using your spell slots".
The description specifically says "can cast as rituals".
DMing:
Dragons of Stormwreck Isle
Playing:
None sadly.
Optimization Guides:
Literally Too Angry to Die - A Guide to Optimizing a Barbarian