I would love to get a verified ruling on where the Sentinel Feat would stop an enemy hit with one of my opportunity attacks:
Opportunity attacks obviously hit the enemy as they are moving out of your reach, but are still within your reach when you actually make contact.
1. So would the enemy be stopped still within your reach, and if I keep hitting, they would be stuck in my reach indefinitely?
2. For this working alongside Polearm Master, I assume that the enemy would be stopped AFTER entering your reach, at the 10 ft from me square.then on an attempt to back away, I would get to keep them inside of my reach indefinitely? (assuming I hit every attack)
3. In a 5 ft wide hallway, where 1 enemy is 10 ft away from me, and an enemy tries to walk into the space only 5 ft from me (going through his teammate), if I stop his movement with my AoO, since he cannot end his movement inside of another creature's space, would he go back one space away from me, or somehow be propelled to the space adjacent to me? I feel like it would be the former, but am very curious.
Sorry if I was confusing at all, but it's interesting stuff :D
1. Yes. You hit the enemy while they're within reach, and they can't continue moving with 0 speed. If they keep trying to leave and you keep hitting, they stay there.
2. Also yes.
3. There's no rule for what happens when two creatures end up sharing a space. The DM could move either creature immediately; they may or may not choose to use up part of the creature's movement or their reaction in the process. They could also leave them there and force either one to move at the earliest opportunity; they may or may not give them some penalty (e.g. consider them squeezing) while they share a space. It's up to the DM.
Keep in mind the enemy can still take the Dodge action or shove you prone if they want to escape and have already figured out Disengage won't work. It's not guaranteed to work, but it'll decrease the chances of you hitting. They can also blind you or become invisible to prevent the opportunity attack from happening. And of course don't forget you only get one reaction each round.
Thank you for the reply :D I feel like that's all pretty reasonable :)
I recently started looking into Unearthed Arcana, in hopes that most of it will reach a finalized state when released in Xanathur's Guide to Everything :)
The interesting thing for this build would be for my fighter using a fighting style from the "Light, Dark, Underdark" release called "Tunnel Fighter":
Tunnel Fighter - You excel at defending narrow passages, doorways, and other tight spaces. As a bonus action, you can enter a defensive stance that lasts until the start of your next turn. While in your defensive stance, you can make opportunity attacks without using your reaction, and you can use your reaction to make a melee attack against a creature that moves more than 5 feet while within your reach.
If this ends up being released without any large differences, then I would be able to stop lots of melee enemies from reaching me or teammates behind me, assuming that I am able to actually hit my enemies xD Obviously most of this is an "in theory" build :)
I would love to get a verified ruling on where the Sentinel Feat would stop an enemy hit with one of my opportunity attacks:
Opportunity attacks obviously hit the enemy as they are moving out of your reach, but are still within your reach when you actually make contact.
1. So would the enemy be stopped still within your reach, and if I keep hitting, they would be stuck in my reach indefinitely?
2. For this working alongside Polearm Master, I assume that the enemy would be stopped AFTER entering your reach, at the 10 ft from me square.then on an attempt to back away, I would get to keep them inside of my reach indefinitely? (assuming I hit every attack)
3. In a 5 ft wide hallway, where 1 enemy is 10 ft away from me, and an enemy tries to walk into the space only 5 ft from me (going through his teammate), if I stop his movement with my AoO, since he cannot end his movement inside of another creature's space, would he go back one space away from me, or somehow be propelled to the space adjacent to me? I feel like it would be the former, but am very curious.
Sorry if I was confusing at all, but it's interesting stuff :D
Great questions!
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"...Debts must always be paid, sometimes in more than blood and gold. But this is Ordo Ursa," Ren places his hand on Erakas's chest, right where the Dragonborn's heart is. "Right here. And it always has been and always will be. Don't ever forget that. Because I won't."
Serandis Mendaen (Aereni Elven Rogue/maybe one day Wizard)- Project Point Playtest
So what if a monster has a Legendary Action that would allow them to move? Would they still be kept unmoven by the Sentinel hit?
I just had to look up the specific rules for Legendary Actions and it says they take them at the end of another creatures turn - that is - during that creature's turn but after they've done all their things. This also means it can't use a Legendary Action at the end of it's own turn.
All that applies to Sentinel because it stops movement only for the turn when the AoO was taken - which since it's an AoO is (typically) on that monster's turn. This means when the monster takes a Legendary Action they are no longer locked in place (because they can't do it on their own turn). If they move with their Legendary Action they will provoke another AoO (unless their ability says otherwise) - so it gives another opportunity for the character with Sentinel to stop the movement again (if they have their Reaction) - and again it will only last until the end of that turn - which is immediately after the Legendary Action was taken.
So they can move with a Legendary Action - but unless their ability says they don't provoke AoO's - they're probably just going to get stopped again. That said - if the Sentinel character has used their reaction - it's a very good way of getting away from them.
I hate to dig up old posts, but I'm still not sure if the Attack you can take as a reaction to a creature attacking someone other than you will also drop them to 0 speed, or if it's only Attacks of Opportunity that gain that benefit.
I hate to dig up old posts, but I'm still not sure if the Attack you can take as a reaction to a creature attacking someone other than you will also drop them to 0 speed, or if it's only Attacks of Opportunity that gain that benefit.
The first bullet point is quite clear. Only opportunity attacks can drop their speed to 0.
I hate to dig up old posts, but I'm still not sure if the Attack you can take as a reaction to a creature attacking someone other than you will also drop them to 0 speed, or if it's only Attacks of Opportunity that gain that benefit.
The first bullet point is quite clear. Only opportunity attacks can drop their speed to 0.
Very good distinction to notice there. The only other place where this is specifically worded is in the fighting style Tunnel Fighter, where you can take regular opportunity attacks from enemies fleeing like normal - but you can only attack an enemy once when they move within your area, not every time they move a space.
I would love to get a verified ruling on where the Sentinel Feat would stop an enemy hit with one of my opportunity attacks:
Opportunity attacks obviously hit the enemy as they are moving out of your reach, but are still within your reach when you actually make contact.
1. So would the enemy be stopped still within your reach, and if I keep hitting, they would be stuck in my reach indefinitely?
2. For this working alongside Polearm Master, I assume that the enemy would be stopped AFTER entering your reach, at the 10 ft from me square.then on an attempt to back away, I would get to keep them inside of my reach indefinitely? (assuming I hit every attack)
3. In a 5 ft wide hallway, where 1 enemy is 10 ft away from me, and an enemy tries to walk into the space only 5 ft from me (going through his teammate), if I stop his movement with my AoO, since he cannot end his movement inside of another creature's space, would he go back one space away from me, or somehow be propelled to the space adjacent to me? I feel like it would be the former, but am very curious.
Sorry if I was confusing at all, but it's interesting stuff :D
1. Yes. You hit the enemy while they're within reach, and they can't continue moving with 0 speed. If they keep trying to leave and you keep hitting, they stay there.
2. Also yes.
3. There's no rule for what happens when two creatures end up sharing a space. The DM could move either creature immediately; they may or may not choose to use up part of the creature's movement or their reaction in the process. They could also leave them there and force either one to move at the earliest opportunity; they may or may not give them some penalty (e.g. consider them squeezing) while they share a space. It's up to the DM.
Keep in mind the enemy can still take the Dodge action or shove you prone if they want to escape and have already figured out Disengage won't work. It's not guaranteed to work, but it'll decrease the chances of you hitting. They can also blind you or become invisible to prevent the opportunity attack from happening. And of course don't forget you only get one reaction each round.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Thank you for the reply :D I feel like that's all pretty reasonable :)
I recently started looking into Unearthed Arcana, in hopes that most of it will reach a finalized state when released in Xanathur's Guide to Everything :)
The interesting thing for this build would be for my fighter using a fighting style from the "Light, Dark, Underdark" release called "Tunnel Fighter":
Tunnel Fighter - You excel at defending narrow passages, doorways, and other tight spaces. As a bonus action, you can enter a defensive stance that lasts until the start of your next turn. While in your defensive stance, you can make opportunity attacks without using your reaction, and you can use your reaction to make a melee attack against a creature that moves more than 5 feet while within your reach.
If this ends up being released without any large differences, then I would be able to stop lots of melee enemies from reaching me or teammates behind me, assuming that I am able to actually hit my enemies xD Obviously most of this is an "in theory" build :)
"...Debts must always be paid, sometimes in more than blood and gold. But this is Ordo Ursa," Ren places his hand on Erakas's chest, right where the Dragonborn's heart is. "Right here. And it always has been and always will be. Don't ever forget that. Because I won't."
Serandis Mendaen (Aereni Elven Rogue/maybe one day Wizard)- Project Point Playtest
So what if a monster has a Legendary Action that would allow them to move? Would they still be kept unmoven by the Sentinel hit?
I just had to look up the specific rules for Legendary Actions and it says they take them at the end of another creatures turn - that is - during that creature's turn but after they've done all their things. This also means it can't use a Legendary Action at the end of it's own turn.
All that applies to Sentinel because it stops movement only for the turn when the AoO was taken - which since it's an AoO is (typically) on that monster's turn. This means when the monster takes a Legendary Action they are no longer locked in place (because they can't do it on their own turn). If they move with their Legendary Action they will provoke another AoO (unless their ability says otherwise) - so it gives another opportunity for the character with Sentinel to stop the movement again (if they have their Reaction) - and again it will only last until the end of that turn - which is immediately after the Legendary Action was taken.
So they can move with a Legendary Action - but unless their ability says they don't provoke AoO's - they're probably just going to get stopped again. That said - if the Sentinel character has used their reaction - it's a very good way of getting away from them.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
I hate to dig up old posts, but I'm still not sure if the Attack you can take as a reaction to a creature attacking someone other than you will also drop them to 0 speed, or if it's only Attacks of Opportunity that gain that benefit.
The first bullet point is quite clear. Only opportunity attacks can drop their speed to 0.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
Thank you. I just wanted to make sure I wasn't reading it wrong.
Very good distinction to notice there. The only other place where this is specifically worded is in the fighting style Tunnel Fighter, where you can take regular opportunity attacks from enemies fleeing like normal - but you can only attack an enemy once when they move within your area, not every time they move a space.
Does a successful Sentinel attack, reducing target's speed to zero, block target from using teleport actions while affected by Sentinel?
No. It sets a creatures speed to 0, it does not affect its actions in any more ways.