Based on the PHB rules, it seems like a character with two weapons or a weapon and a shield should need 2 turns to use an item like a healing potion. You would use up your free object interaction to sheathe a weapon and your action to draw the potion. Likewise, you can’t cast a spell with a material component until next turn if your hands are full. Is this correct?
Is drawing an arrow or crossbow bolt an exception to this rule? The entry for ammunition uses the same wording as drawing a weapon (“you draw a sword as part of an attack” versus “drawing the ammunition from a quiver, case, or other container is part of the attack”) but the loading property of crossbows implies that you could draw multiple bolts per turn without it, and bows don’t have the loading property.
Is drawing an arrow or crossbow bolt an exception to this rule? The entry for ammunition uses the same wording as drawing a weapon (“you draw a sword as part of an attack” versus “drawing the ammunition from a quiver, case, or other container is part of the attack”) but the loading property of crossbows implies that you could draw multiple bolts per turn without it, and bows don’t have the loading property.
I believe it is. In fact, I can't see any reasonable way for it not to be.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both" -- allegedly Benjamin Franklin
Using ammunition falls under the property Ammunition, as opposed to standard rules for object interactions.
If you read both relevant lines in the property (Player's Handbook page 146, or at the property linked above), I believe the intention becomes clear about it: "Each time you attack with the weapon, you expend one piece of ammunition. Drawing the ammunition from a quiver, case, or other container is part of the attack."
I don't think the written rules are actually that harsh. The rules for the Use An Object action in combat do not actually state that said object needs to be in your hand before you start that action. For example if you intend to interact with a door handle, it is not one action/interaction to touch the handle and a second action/interaction to turn the handle. Likewise, if a potion is in easy reach then I see no reason why a single action cannot grasp the potion and also drink it. Drawing/sheathing a weapon is called out as a specific object interaction because it is often paired with the Attack action rather than the Use An Object action. If you wanted to use your action to draw the sword and also place it on a table or hand it to somebody, then that could be a single Use An Object action.
So, in my opinion sheathing a weapon with the free interaction, then drinking a potion that you retrieve from your belt with your action is fine.
Drawing a sword is part of an attack with it. Sheathing it isn't, it's an object interaction by itself. Similarly, pulling out a potion is part of drinking it but that drinking is an action.
You can only do one free-interaction (such as draw with attack). Subsequent ones also require an action (so you can't draw two weapons, unless you have the Dual Wielder feat).
That's why it's tricky to sheathe a sword and drink a potion. You can drop a sword (which is free) and drink a potion (including taking it out from your belt or whatever).
Drawing a sword is part of an attack with it. Sheathing it isn't, it's an object interaction by itself. Similarly, pulling out a potion is part of drinking it but that drinking is an action.
You can only do one free-interaction (such as draw with attack). Subsequent ones also require an action (so you can't draw two weapons, unless you have the Dual Wielder feat).
That's why it's tricky to sheathe a sword and drink a potion. You can drop a sword (which is free) and drink a potion (including taking it out from your belt or whatever).
A quote from the PHB: "Here are a few examples of the sorts of thing you can do in tandem with your movement and action:
draw or sheathe a sword"
The single free interaction you get can be almost anything simple enough, and need not be in any way related to either the moving or the action that accompanies it, but if you have lost both your action and all movement then you have also lost the free interaction. The Use An Object action can be a slightly more significant interaction, like the use any object which specifically requires an action such as a potion.
Still, though, you only get one of those for free (Player's Handbook, page 190, or here), so sheathing a sword (as part of your movement) and taking out a potion (as part of your action to drink it) is still a complicated process (if you're not a 3rd level Thief >.> ). I'd allow it if the potion is on your belt or something without thinking twice, though. Backpacks make things more complicated (and Bag of Holding kind of items even more so :p ).
Yeah agree that getting things from backpacks is too hard to do as part of anything else. But if I've learnt anything from inventory screens in adventure games it's that belts is where a good adventurer stores their healing potions.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Based on the PHB rules, it seems like a character with two weapons or a weapon and a shield should need 2 turns to use an item like a healing potion. You would use up your free object interaction to sheathe a weapon and your action to draw the potion. Likewise, you can’t cast a spell with a material component until next turn if your hands are full. Is this correct?
You are correct. If your DM cares enough to track your object interactions (which I don't), everything you just said is right.
"Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both" -- allegedly Benjamin Franklin
Tooltips (Help/aid)
Keep in mind (in case it's urgent), removing a shield is tricky, but dropping a weapon is free.
Just remember to pick it up later (which is an object interaction again >.> )
Is drawing an arrow or crossbow bolt an exception to this rule? The entry for ammunition uses the same wording as drawing a weapon (“you draw a sword as part of an attack” versus “drawing the ammunition from a quiver, case, or other container is part of the attack”) but the loading property of crossbows implies that you could draw multiple bolts per turn without it, and bows don’t have the loading property.
"Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both" -- allegedly Benjamin Franklin
Tooltips (Help/aid)
Using ammunition falls under the property Ammunition, as opposed to standard rules for object interactions.
If you read both relevant lines in the property (Player's Handbook page 146, or at the property linked above), I believe the intention becomes clear about it:
"Each time you attack with the weapon, you expend one piece of ammunition. Drawing the ammunition from a quiver, case, or other container is part of the attack."
I don't think the written rules are actually that harsh. The rules for the Use An Object action in combat do not actually state that said object needs to be in your hand before you start that action. For example if you intend to interact with a door handle, it is not one action/interaction to touch the handle and a second action/interaction to turn the handle. Likewise, if a potion is in easy reach then I see no reason why a single action cannot grasp the potion and also drink it. Drawing/sheathing a weapon is called out as a specific object interaction because it is often paired with the Attack action rather than the Use An Object action. If you wanted to use your action to draw the sword and also place it on a table or hand it to somebody, then that could be a single Use An Object action.
So, in my opinion sheathing a weapon with the free interaction, then drinking a potion that you retrieve from your belt with your action is fine.
Drawing a sword is part of an attack with it. Sheathing it isn't, it's an object interaction by itself. Similarly, pulling out a potion is part of drinking it but that drinking is an action.
You can only do one free-interaction (such as draw with attack). Subsequent ones also require an action (so you can't draw two weapons, unless you have the Dual Wielder feat).
That's why it's tricky to sheathe a sword and drink a potion. You can drop a sword (which is free) and drink a potion (including taking it out from your belt or whatever).
The single free interaction you get can be almost anything simple enough, and need not be in any way related to either the moving or the action that accompanies it, but if you have lost both your action and all movement then you have also lost the free interaction. The Use An Object action can be a slightly more significant interaction, like the use any object which specifically requires an action such as a potion.
Aah, you're right about the sheathing part.
Still, though, you only get one of those for free (Player's Handbook, page 190, or here), so sheathing a sword (as part of your movement) and taking out a potion (as part of your action to drink it) is still a complicated process (if you're not a 3rd level Thief >.> ). I'd allow it if the potion is on your belt or something without thinking twice, though. Backpacks make things more complicated (and Bag of Holding kind of items even more so :p ).
Yeah agree that getting things from backpacks is too hard to do as part of anything else. But if I've learnt anything from inventory screens in adventure games it's that belts is where a good adventurer stores their healing potions.