So I had PC that started with a ring of protection. He then found another during the adventure. If the Character wears both, does he get +2 AC, +2 to saves?
An item can be attuned to only one creature at a time, and a creature can be attuned to no more than three magic items at a time. Any attempt to attune to a fourth item fails; the creature must end its attunement to an item first. Additionally, a creature can’t attune to more than one copy of an item. For example, a creature can’t attune to more than one ring of protection at a time.
Even if they could attune to two Rings of Protection, the effects of two magic items with the same name don't stack. From the DMG errata:
Combining Game Effects
Different game features can affect a target at the same time. But when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. For example, if a target is ignited by a fire elemental’s Fire Form trait, the ongoing fire damage doesn’t increase if the burning target is subjected to that trait again. Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items. See the related rule in the “Combining Magical Effects” section of chapter 10 in the Player’s Handbook.
So using this description, that would mean that someone could NOT benefit from a Ring of Protection and a Cloak of Protection? (Same effect and both are magic items) ?
So I had PC that started with a ring of protection. He then found another during the adventure. If the Character wears both, does he get +2 AC, +2 to saves?
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
Hi there Wysperra,
this isn't allowed, in fact the ring of protection is used as the example in the Dungeon Master's Guide.
https://www.dndbeyond.com/compendium/rules/dmg/treasure#Attunement
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
Even if they could attune to two Rings of Protection, the effects of two magic items with the same name don't stack. From the DMG errata:
The Forum Infestation (TM)
With all that said, if the DM wanted to allow it, he/she can. Then it would be up the DM how that would work.
Thanks Guys!
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
So using this description, that would mean that someone could NOT benefit from a Ring of Protection and a Cloak of Protection? (Same effect and both are magic items) ?
No different items are fine even if they happens to give a bonus to the same thing (stat, skill, save, whatever), multiples of the same item is not.