There used to be (3rd edition and previous) a rule that a spell could not effect something unless it was entirely in range. That rule no longer exists in 5e.
The spell Enlarge/Reduce lets you change the size of one object, but it does not mention any limits. So theoretically, could someone reduce or enlarge a ship?
A mountain?
The entire world? That one would be nasty as it reduces weight by 1/8, so gravity all screwed up. Could crush creatures living in caves, and the entire world would be flooded by the oceans.
For the purpose of these rules, an object is a discrete, inanimate item like a window, door, sword, book, table, chair, or stone, not a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects.
So I would say enlarge/reduce cannot target a ship, mountain, or a planet, but can target a plank of wood, one of the sails, or a boulder.
I find it hard to claim that a ship is not a discrete, inanimate item, at least not any more so than a book. A mountain is not. But there is a good argument for planet. It is not composed of many other objects, any more than a boulder is.
A canoe, carved from a single tree is definite a discrete inanimate item. If you can take a book and use glue and sew it together, then you should be able to glue and nail a bunch of wood.
I find it hard to claim that a ship is not a discrete, inanimate item, at least not any more so than a book. A mountain is not. But there is a good argument for planet. It is not composed of many other objects, any more than a boulder is.
A canoe, carved from a single tree is definite a discrete inanimate item. If you can take a book and use glue and sew it together, then you should be able to glue and nail a bunch of wood.
Ok, but the book specifically says vehicles are not a single object. You asked about rules. This is the rule.
Yeah, I get it. RAW seems to be self-contradictory. As a DM I think I would just set a limit of no object larger than 30 ft in any direction, and treat small sleds and boats that do not have sails as legal. Not carts as they have wheels.
Yeah, I get it. RAW seems to be self-contradictory. As a DM I think I would just set a limit of no object larger than 30 ft in any direction, and treat small boats that do not have sails and sleds as legal. Not carts as they have wheels.
Saying vehicles can't be changed in size avoids a lot of cases of then asking about what happens to the contents.
If it is cast on a box containing stuff, it doesn't say what happens to the stuff inside the box.
Yeah, I get it. RAW seems to be self-contradictory. As a DM I think I would just set a limit of no object larger than 30 ft in any direction, and treat small boats that do not have sails and sleds as legal. Not carts as they have wheels.
Saying vehicles can't be changed in size avoids a lot of cases of then asking about what happens to the contents.
If it is cast on a box containing stuff, it doesn't say what happens to the stuff inside the box.
I'd say that the box is the object, not the contents. I'd also apply the same logic that is used when enlarging objects to shrinking objects, that is, you can't enlarge something more than the space allows, and so I would rule that you can't shrink a closed container more than its contents would allow. An open container could shrink in such a way as to spill its contents, so long as the contents can fit through the opening relatively easily.
i'd like to imagine it would be like an airlock bag you suck all the air out and the contents are compressed as much as possible for the bag to allow and deforming in some way.
There used to be (3rd edition and previous) a rule that a spell could not effect something unless it was entirely in range. That rule no longer exists in 5e.
The spell Enlarge/Reduce lets you change the size of one object, but it does not mention any limits. So theoretically, could someone reduce or enlarge a ship?
A mountain?
The entire world? That one would be nasty as it reduces weight by 1/8, so gravity all screwed up. Could crush creatures living in caves, and the entire world would be flooded by the oceans.
What are the limits of this spell?
As you might have come to expect of 5e, the rules aren't explicitly clear, but...
In the DMG chapter 8, under objects: https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dmg/running-the-game#Objects it says:
So I would say enlarge/reduce cannot target a ship, mountain, or a planet, but can target a plank of wood, one of the sails, or a boulder.
I find it hard to claim that a ship is not a discrete, inanimate item, at least not any more so than a book. A mountain is not. But there is a good argument for planet. It is not composed of many other objects, any more than a boulder is.
A canoe, carved from a single tree is definite a discrete inanimate item. If you can take a book and use glue and sew it together, then you should be able to glue and nail a bunch of wood.
Ok, but the book specifically says vehicles are not a single object. You asked about rules. This is the rule.
Yeah, I get it. RAW seems to be self-contradictory. As a DM I think I would just set a limit of no object larger than 30 ft in any direction, and treat small sleds and boats that do not have sails as legal. Not carts as they have wheels.
Saying vehicles can't be changed in size avoids a lot of cases of then asking about what happens to the contents.
If it is cast on a box containing stuff, it doesn't say what happens to the stuff inside the box.
I'd say that the box is the object, not the contents. I'd also apply the same logic that is used when enlarging objects to shrinking objects, that is, you can't enlarge something more than the space allows, and so I would rule that you can't shrink a closed container more than its contents would allow. An open container could shrink in such a way as to spill its contents, so long as the contents can fit through the opening relatively easily.
I do like the idea of using shrink object on sack causing it to empty itself. Cool, if nothing else.
i'd like to imagine it would be like an airlock bag you suck all the air out and the contents are compressed as much as possible for the bag to allow and deforming in some way.