If you didn't need to breath could you create a glyph of warding in a bag of holding? Would this get around " If the surface or object is moved more than 10 feet from where you cast this spell, the glyph is broken, and the spell ends without being triggered." AS LONG AS it remains in the bag the glyph should remain intact right? (Imo removing the glyph item from the bag would count as more than 10)
I think that's probably outside the spirit of the rules, but some DMs might allow it.
The description of the Bag of Holding isn't super clear about whether the space inside is actually on another plane or not. If it is, then I think it's reasonable to say that another plane of existence is more than 10 feet away; if it isn't, then the bag is just a container and moving the bag around moves the glyph around.
I'm not sure what not needing to breathe has to do with it.
Placing the haversack inside an extradimensional space created by a Bag of Holding, Portable Hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane. The gate originates where the one item was placed inside the other. Any creature within 10 feet of the gate and not behind Total Cover is sucked through it and deposited in a random location on the Astral Plane. The gate then closes. The gate is one-way only and can’t be reopened.
"The Biggest problem D&D player face is their own bad decisions." "What doesn't kill you makes you more likely to die."- Thauraeln_The_Bol "Well, hey, if it ain't broke, then break it!"Former_Queen_Yvonne See my homebrew spells, monsters, and this thread part of the cult of science, and the Cult of the Nothic, and plays on Tenbrae Sine Fine Please help us!!! (Link) Nickname is Colton. PM ME THE WORD TOMATO. The best name for the mad gibber
Okay, well, in that case the question just becomes: is another plane of existence considered to be more than 10 feet away? And I don't think there's an explicit answer to that in the rules, but it really feels like it should be to me.
Okay, well, in that case the question just becomes: is another plane of existence considered to be more than 10 feet away? And I don't think there's an explicit answer to that in the rules, but it really feels like it should be to me.
technically it's not a plane it's a extradimensional space but the question stays the same
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"The Biggest problem D&D player face is their own bad decisions." "What doesn't kill you makes you more likely to die."- Thauraeln_The_Bol "Well, hey, if it ain't broke, then break it!"Former_Queen_Yvonne See my homebrew spells, monsters, and this thread part of the cult of science, and the Cult of the Nothic, and plays on Tenbrae Sine Fine Please help us!!! (Link) Nickname is Colton. PM ME THE WORD TOMATO. The best name for the mad gibber
Okay, well, in that case the question just becomes: is another plane of existence considered to be more than 10 feet away? And I don't think there's an explicit answer to that in the rules, but it really feels like it should be to me.
technically it's not a plane it's a extradimensional space but the question stays the same
It really depends on the way you view it, the way I view it is that the extradimensional space is parallel to the material plane. The place in which you would access it would not be more than 10 feet away, so the way I view it is that it’s not 10 feet away.
If you don’t know where I am, I’m either sleeping or roleplaying. If I’m doing neither of those things, except the worst. (Do not actually expect the worst) If you need to talk then PM me. Head Acolyte of The Tree Cult.
Okay, well, in that case the question just becomes: is another plane of existence considered to be more than 10 feet away? And I don't think there's an explicit answer to that in the rules, but it really feels like it should be to me.
technically it's not a plane it's a extradimensional space but the question stays the same
It really depends on the way you view it, the way I view it is that the extradimensional space is parallel to the material plane. The place in which you would access it would not be more than 10 feet away, so the way I view it is that it’s not 10 feet away.
we could argue all day but it up to the DM
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"The Biggest problem D&D player face is their own bad decisions." "What doesn't kill you makes you more likely to die."- Thauraeln_The_Bol "Well, hey, if it ain't broke, then break it!"Former_Queen_Yvonne See my homebrew spells, monsters, and this thread part of the cult of science, and the Cult of the Nothic, and plays on Tenbrae Sine Fine Please help us!!! (Link) Nickname is Colton. PM ME THE WORD TOMATO. The best name for the mad gibber
Okay, well, in that case the question just becomes: is another plane of existence considered to be more than 10 feet away? And I don't think there's an explicit answer to that in the rules, but it really feels like it should be to me.
technically it's not a plane it's a extradimensional space but the question stays the same
It really depends on the way you view it, the way I view it is that the extradimensional space is parallel to the material plane. The place in which you would access it would not be more than 10 feet away, so the way I view it is that it’s not 10 feet away.
If you don’t know where I am, I’m either sleeping or roleplaying. If I’m doing neither of those things, except the worst. (Do not actually expect the worst) If you need to talk then PM me. Head Acolyte of The Tree Cult.
From the description of the bag and how it works when it is ruptured (overfilled) and when another extradimensional item is placed in it, it does seem reasonable that the inside of the bag exists on another plane, specifically the Astral Plane. That is how you can load it up with 500 lbs of material and the bag itself never weighs more than 5 lbs. The bag basically acts as an opening to that extradimensional space that exists on the Astral Plane.
The big question here is: does that extra-dimensional space move around in the Astral Plane while you move on the Material Plane? We know things can move around in the Astral Plane. That's where Astral Dreadnaughts and Gith fly around. So is the space created by the bag stationary, or does it move in concert with your movements on the Material Plane?
This, as far as I can tell, is never spelled out in the description of items or any rules I can find. As the bag never "randomly ruptures" from being dragged across floating islands in the Astral Sea, it might make sense that it occupies a singular space and does not move relative to your position on the Material Plane. But of course this would all be up to DM fiat.
At any rate, I wouldn't really have a problem with someone casting a Glyph of Warding in a Bag of Holding. The Glyph would be unable to be removed or effect things on the Material Plane, so I'm not entirely sure what the use might be. To trigger the Glyph I would rule that someone had to be in the Bag itself.
Up to DM, i would say inscribing a Glyph of Warding within a Bag of Holding is broken, and the spell ends without being triggered if the object is moved more than 10 feet from where it was cast. If instead the caster was inside the extradimensional space and inscribed the glyph on a surface within it, then it would never break, the surface never moving away from where it was cast.
I'm not sure what not needing to breathe has to do with it.
The casting time is 1 hour, so I guess the idea is the caster is inside the bag while they cast it. Although that wouldn't seem to be necessary if you're putting it in a book or box or whatever, and then putting that in the bag -- provided the bag isn't further than 10 feet away from you
Given the way the bag operates, I don't think the space inside would necessarily even have the same geometry or physics as the Material Plane, so I'd rule the glyph wouldn't trigger just from the bag being carried around. Once the item is pulled out and is back on a 'normal' plane of existence, the usual rules for the glyph would kick back in
I'd also rule that there are no surfaces within the bag to inscribe a glyph on, if for some reason you wanted to do that. It just contains the extradimensional space
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
From the description of the bag and how it works when it is ruptured (overfilled) and when another extradimensional item is placed in it, it does seem reasonable that the inside of the bag exists on another plane, specifically the Astral Plane. That is how you can load it up with 500 lbs of material and the bag itself never weighs more than 5 lbs. The bag basically acts as an opening to that extradimensional space that exists on the Astral Plane.
The big question here is: does that extra-dimensional space move around in the Astral Plane while you move on the Material Plane? We know things can move around in the Astral Plane. That's where Astral Dreadnaughts and Gith fly around. So is the space created by the bag stationary, or does it move in concert with your movements on the Material Plane?
This, as far as I can tell, is never spelled out in the description of items or any rules I can find. As the bag never "randomly ruptures" from being dragged across floating islands in the Astral Sea, it might make sense that it occupies a singular space and does not move relative to your position on the Material Plane. But of course this would all be up to DM fiat.
At any rate, I wouldn't really have a problem with someone casting a Glyph of Warding in a Bag of Holding. The Glyph would be unable to be removed or effect things on the Material Plane, so I'm not entirely sure what the use might be. To trigger the Glyph I would rule that someone had to be in the Bag itself.
That’s a lot of assumptions based on a flawed premise. The item doesn’t say it open into the astral plane, so the reasonable thing is to think it does not, Unlike something like secret chest, which specifies the location where it goes. Moreover, it does say it opens into an extra dimensional space, so that’s what it does. The astral plane is not extra dimensional, it’s part of the D&D multiverse, which is to say part of that dimension. Of course, your table is free to rule otherwise.
And to the actual debate, I’d agree with others that say putting it in the bag breaks the spell.
And to the actual debate, I’d agree with others that say putting it in the bag breaks the spell.
Here's my problem with that ruling -- let's say it's not the party casting the glyph, but instead they find a spellbook or whatever and figure out there's a glyph inside protecting it
Are you saying they get a free 9th-level dispel magic to get rid of the glyph, just by popping the spellbook into a bag of holding?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Here's my problem with that ruling -- let's say it's not the party casting the glyph, but instead they find a spellbook or whatever and figure out there's a glyph inside protecting it
Are you saying they get a free 9th-level dispel magic to get rid of the glyph, just by popping the spellbook into a bag of holding?
If they have been able to handle the book enough to figure out there is a Glyph inside it without triggering it already then just toss the damn book 11 ft and you get that dispelling effect anyway. If you could safely move the book into a BoH then you should be able to move it safely without a BoH, I don't see the issue tbh.
Here's my problem with that ruling -- let's say it's not the party casting the glyph, but instead they find a spellbook or whatever and figure out there's a glyph inside protecting it
Are you saying they get a free 9th-level dispel magic to get rid of the glyph, just by popping the spellbook into a bag of holding?
If they have been able to handle the book enough to figure out there is a Glyph inside it without triggering it already then just toss the damn book 11 ft and you get that dispelling effect anyway. If you could safely move the book into a BoH then you should be able to move it safely without a BoH, I don't see the issue tbh.
I'll just mea culpa this -- for some reason I thought moving the object triggered the glyph
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Moving the glyph 10 feet or more ends the spell without triggering the glyph. If you can manage to handle it well enough to get it in a bag without triggering it, you can presumably also move it 10 feet without triggering it.
Wait, why would we want to put a glyph of warding in a bag of holding? Just trying to understand what advantage that gives.
Usually the idea is to be able to pre-cast a buff spell that you can then trigger to get its positive effect when you need it without spending a spell slot, needing to concentrate or any other of those pesky limitations that normally exist.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If you didn't need to breath could you create a glyph of warding in a bag of holding? Would this get around " If the surface or object is moved more than 10 feet from where you cast this spell, the glyph is broken, and the spell ends without being triggered." AS LONG AS it remains in the bag the glyph should remain intact right? (Imo removing the glyph item from the bag would count as more than 10)
I think that's probably outside the spirit of the rules, but some DMs might allow it.
The description of the Bag of Holding isn't super clear about whether the space inside is actually on another plane or not. If it is, then I think it's reasonable to say that another plane of existence is more than 10 feet away; if it isn't, then the bag is just a container and moving the bag around moves the glyph around.
I'm not sure what not needing to breathe has to do with it.
pronouns: he/she/they
from the Heward's Handy Haversack
Placing the haversack inside an extradimensional space created by a Bag of Holding, Portable Hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane. The gate originates where the one item was placed inside the other. Any creature within 10 feet of the gate and not behind Total Cover is sucked through it and deposited in a random location on the Astral Plane. The gate then closes. The gate is one-way only and can’t be reopened.
"The Biggest problem D&D player face is their own bad decisions." "What doesn't kill you makes you more likely to die."- Thauraeln_The_Bol "Well, hey, if it ain't broke, then break it!"Former_Queen_Yvonne
See my homebrew spells, monsters, and this thread
part of the cult of science, and the Cult of the Nothic, and plays on Tenbrae Sine Fine
Please help us!!! (Link) Nickname is Colton. PM ME THE WORD TOMATO.
The best name for the mad gibber
Okay, well, in that case the question just becomes: is another plane of existence considered to be more than 10 feet away? And I don't think there's an explicit answer to that in the rules, but it really feels like it should be to me.
pronouns: he/she/they
I'd say this would work, as long as the object is in the bag when you cast the Glyph. Very clever way to get around the spell's limitations.
technically it's not a plane it's a extradimensional space but the question stays the same
"The Biggest problem D&D player face is their own bad decisions." "What doesn't kill you makes you more likely to die."- Thauraeln_The_Bol "Well, hey, if it ain't broke, then break it!"Former_Queen_Yvonne
See my homebrew spells, monsters, and this thread
part of the cult of science, and the Cult of the Nothic, and plays on Tenbrae Sine Fine
Please help us!!! (Link) Nickname is Colton. PM ME THE WORD TOMATO.
The best name for the mad gibber
It really depends on the way you view it, the way I view it is that the extradimensional space is parallel to the material plane. The place in which you would access it would not be more than 10 feet away, so the way I view it is that it’s not 10 feet away.
Lightning flashes, it creates ash. The ash forms a human.
If you don’t know where I am, I’m either sleeping or roleplaying. If I’m doing neither of those things, except the worst. (Do not actually expect the worst) If you need to talk then PM me. Head Acolyte of The Tree Cult.
we could argue all day but it up to the DM
"The Biggest problem D&D player face is their own bad decisions." "What doesn't kill you makes you more likely to die."- Thauraeln_The_Bol "Well, hey, if it ain't broke, then break it!"Former_Queen_Yvonne
See my homebrew spells, monsters, and this thread
part of the cult of science, and the Cult of the Nothic, and plays on Tenbrae Sine Fine
Please help us!!! (Link) Nickname is Colton. PM ME THE WORD TOMATO.
The best name for the mad gibber
Yep, that was just my opinion on it.
Lightning flashes, it creates ash. The ash forms a human.
If you don’t know where I am, I’m either sleeping or roleplaying. If I’m doing neither of those things, except the worst. (Do not actually expect the worst) If you need to talk then PM me. Head Acolyte of The Tree Cult.
From the description of the bag and how it works when it is ruptured (overfilled) and when another extradimensional item is placed in it, it does seem reasonable that the inside of the bag exists on another plane, specifically the Astral Plane. That is how you can load it up with 500 lbs of material and the bag itself never weighs more than 5 lbs. The bag basically acts as an opening to that extradimensional space that exists on the Astral Plane.
The big question here is: does that extra-dimensional space move around in the Astral Plane while you move on the Material Plane? We know things can move around in the Astral Plane. That's where Astral Dreadnaughts and Gith fly around. So is the space created by the bag stationary, or does it move in concert with your movements on the Material Plane?
This, as far as I can tell, is never spelled out in the description of items or any rules I can find. As the bag never "randomly ruptures" from being dragged across floating islands in the Astral Sea, it might make sense that it occupies a singular space and does not move relative to your position on the Material Plane. But of course this would all be up to DM fiat.
At any rate, I wouldn't really have a problem with someone casting a Glyph of Warding in a Bag of Holding. The Glyph would be unable to be removed or effect things on the Material Plane, so I'm not entirely sure what the use might be. To trigger the Glyph I would rule that someone had to be in the Bag itself.
Up to DM, i would say inscribing a Glyph of Warding within a Bag of Holding is broken, and the spell ends without being triggered if the object is moved more than 10 feet from where it was cast. If instead the caster was inside the extradimensional space and inscribed the glyph on a surface within it, then it would never break, the surface never moving away from where it was cast.
The casting time is 1 hour, so I guess the idea is the caster is inside the bag while they cast it. Although that wouldn't seem to be necessary if you're putting it in a book or box or whatever, and then putting that in the bag -- provided the bag isn't further than 10 feet away from you
Given the way the bag operates, I don't think the space inside would necessarily even have the same geometry or physics as the Material Plane, so I'd rule the glyph wouldn't trigger just from the bag being carried around. Once the item is pulled out and is back on a 'normal' plane of existence, the usual rules for the glyph would kick back in
I'd also rule that there are no surfaces within the bag to inscribe a glyph on, if for some reason you wanted to do that. It just contains the extradimensional space
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
That’s a lot of assumptions based on a flawed premise. The item doesn’t say it open into the astral plane, so the reasonable thing is to think it does not, Unlike something like secret chest, which specifies the location where it goes. Moreover, it does say it opens into an extra dimensional space, so that’s what it does. The astral plane is not extra dimensional, it’s part of the D&D multiverse, which is to say part of that dimension. Of course, your table is free to rule otherwise.
And to the actual debate, I’d agree with others that say putting it in the bag breaks the spell.
Here's my problem with that ruling -- let's say it's not the party casting the glyph, but instead they find a spellbook or whatever and figure out there's a glyph inside protecting it
Are you saying they get a free 9th-level dispel magic to get rid of the glyph, just by popping the spellbook into a bag of holding?
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
If they have been able to handle the book enough to figure out there is a Glyph inside it without triggering it already then just toss the damn book 11 ft and you get that dispelling effect anyway. If you could safely move the book into a BoH then you should be able to move it safely without a BoH, I don't see the issue tbh.
I'll just mea culpa this -- for some reason I thought moving the object triggered the glyph
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Moving the glyph 10 feet or more ends the spell without triggering the glyph. If you can manage to handle it well enough to get it in a bag without triggering it, you can presumably also move it 10 feet without triggering it.
pronouns: he/she/they
Wait, why would we want to put a glyph of warding in a bag of holding? Just trying to understand what advantage that gives.
"Uh, I have Illusory Script. I think I can read that."
To be able to carry it more than 10 feet without ending the spell, I'm assuming.
pronouns: he/she/they
Usually the idea is to be able to pre-cast a buff spell that you can then trigger to get its positive effect when you need it without spending a spell slot, needing to concentrate or any other of those pesky limitations that normally exist.