Yes. You only need both hands for a two handed weapon when you attack with it. You can hold it in one and leave your other hand open to do other things (like punch). Also, unarmed strikes do not need to be made with a hand. They can be kicks, headbutts, etc.
So, unarmed strikes don't generally require a free hand -- you can kick, headbutt, tail strike, etc.
However, the free bonus action attack requires you to be unarmed or wielding a monk weapon. (Interestingly, flurry of blows doesn't.)
But, if you're using the Tasha's optional class features, you have access to Dedicated Weapon, which lets you use a weapon as a monk weapon if it's:
simple or martial
you're proficient with it
doesn't have heavy or special
All the two-handed martial weapons are heavy. The simple ones are not. With the optional feature, you can do it with a greatclub, light crossbow, or shortbow.
(I only looked at the PH. There may be weapons elsewhere that also qualify.)
But, if you're using the Tasha's optional class features, you have access to Dedicated Weapon, which lets you use a weapon as a monk weapon if it's:
simple or martial
you're proficient with it
doesn't have heavy or special
All the two-handed martial weapons are heavy. The simple ones are not. With the optional feature, you can do it with a greatclub, light crossbow, or shortbow.
(I only looked at the PH. There may be weapons elsewhere that also qualify.)
This is correct, but it's worth mentioning that there's a few Versatile weapons that would qualify for the Dedicated Weapon feature, such as the Longsword. I believe the Quarterstaff is available as a Monk weapon by default, and it's also Versatile. Any of these would allow your extra Martial Arts attacks to function as normal, even when wielded in two hands.
Can monks use their bonus action for an unarmed strike if they're using a two-handed weapon? Thanks for comments.
No as monk you gain the following benefits while you are unarmed or wielding only monk weapons which are shortswords and any simple melee weapons that don’t have the two-handed or heavy property:
Martial Arts: When you use the Attack action with an unarmed strike or a monk weapon on your turn, you can make one unarmed strike as a bonus action
Can monks use their bonus action for an unarmed strike if they're using a two-handed weapon? Thanks for comments.
No as monk you gain the following benefits while you are unarmed or wielding only monk weapons which are shortswords and any simple melee weapons that don’t have the two-handed or heavy property:
Martial Arts: When you use the Attack action with an unarmed strike or a monk weapon on your turn, you can make one unarmed strike as a bonus action
This is correct unless you are using the optional rule, "Dedicated Weapon" If you are using that rule, then Ji8e's post is correct. Also, Two-Handed and Versatile are different properties. If you use a versatile weapon with two hands, that doesn't give it the Two-Handed property.
Dedicated Weapon
2nd-level monk feature You train yourself to use a variety of weapons as monk weapons, not just simple melee weapons and shortswords. Whenever you finish a short or long rest, you can touch one weapon, focus your ki on it, and then count that weapon as a monk weapon until you use this feature again.
But, if you're using the Tasha's optional class features, you have access to Dedicated Weapon, which lets you use a weapon as a monk weapon if it's:
simple or martial
you're proficient with it
doesn't have heavy or special
All the two-handed martial weapons are heavy. The simple ones are not. With the optional feature, you can do it with a greatclub, light crossbow, or shortbow.
(I only looked at the PH. There may be weapons elsewhere that also qualify.)
This is correct, but it's worth mentioning that there's a few Versatile weapons that would qualify for the Dedicated Weapon feature, such as the Longsword. I believe the Quarterstaff is available as a Monk weapon by default, and it's also Versatile. Any of these would allow your extra Martial Arts attacks to function as normal, even when wielded in two hands.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I started playing D&D from the basic box set in 1979.
This is correct unless you are using the optional rule, "Dedicated Weapon" If you are using that rule, then Ji8e's post is correct. Also, Two-Handed and Versatile are different properties. If you use a versatile weapon with two hands, that doesn't give it the Two-Handed property.
The OP specifically mentioned two-handed weapon, which isn't permitted with Matrial Arts in the Core Rules. Now wether optional rules are used or not we don't know but if so the character indeed can use a two-handed Dedicated Weapon that isn't special or heavy which he is proficient with. I don't think the question was about this feature though.
This does essentially the same thing as the Dedicated Weapon optional Monk feature, but it also adds Longbow specifically as an exception to not allowing Heavy weapons more generally.
Ok in this case a quarterstaff is not a two-handed weapon, it lacks the so-called property, it's instead a versatile weapon with which you can use with two hands.
Ok in this case a quarterstaff is not a two-handed weapon, it lacks the so-called property, it's instead a versatile weapon with which you can use with two hands.
It's absolutely a two-handed weapon in the way the OP clearly meant it, i.e. a weapon wielded in two hands. It's certainly helpful to point out the relevance of the Two-Handed property, but correcting them is not necessary.
Ok in this case a quarterstaff is not a two-handed weapon, it lacks the so-called property, it's instead a versatile weapon with which you can use with two hands.
It's absolutely a two-handed weapon in the way the OP clearly meant it, i.e. a weapon wielded in two hands. It's certainly helpful to point out the relevance of the Two-Handed property, but correcting them is not necessary.
Froms a rule perspective wielding a weapon in two hands, such as a quarterstaff doesn't make it a two-handed weapon and on Rules Q&A forum discussion it's important to point it out to avoid confusion if the contrary is implied.
Yarrow_Cirdan If you or your player is interested in official ruling on the subject you can find Sage Advice Compendium Q&A on this subject;
If a monk uses a staff or another versatile weapon two-handed, does it still count as a monk weapon?
Yes. A monk weapon must lack the two-handed property, but nothing prevents a monk from wielding such a weapon with two hands. Fundamentally, a monk weapon counts as such no matter how a monk uses it.
I'm not contradicting dnd rules stating it's Versatile, but I can't see how you could use it one handed when it's 6 -9 feet long? It would take a ton of arm strength.
I'm not contradicting dnd rules stating it's Versatile, but I can't see how you could use it one handed when it's 6 -9 feet long? It would take a ton of arm strength.
Well, the D&D quarterstaff is not the same as a European quarterstaff; that would be a greatclub, while the quarterstaff listed in the PHB is more like a bo staff. Something like 5-6 ft of wood and slender. Not the best 1-handed weapon, but wielding it that way is certainly possible.
I'm not contradicting dnd rules stating it's Versatile, but I can't see how you could use it one handed when it's 6 -9 feet long? It would take a ton of arm strength.
That's why it does less damage when used with only one hand. hence versatile. Out of curiosity, can you see how magic missile would be cast? It makes no sense to me because magic doesn't really exist. However, dems da rules.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I started playing D&D from the basic box set in 1979.
I'm not contradicting dnd rules stating it's Versatile, but I can't see how you could use it one handed when it's 6 -9 feet long? It would take a ton of arm strength.
Staves are a fairly common weapon in martial arts. They are 100% wielded in one hand for many techniques. Martial artists develop a ton of arm strength.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Can monks use their bonus action for an unarmed strike if they're using a two-handed weapon? Thanks for comments.
Yes. You only need both hands for a two handed weapon when you attack with it. You can hold it in one and leave your other hand open to do other things (like punch). Also, unarmed strikes do not need to be made with a hand. They can be kicks, headbutts, etc.
So, unarmed strikes don't generally require a free hand -- you can kick, headbutt, tail strike, etc.
However, the free bonus action attack requires you to be unarmed or wielding a monk weapon. (Interestingly, flurry of blows doesn't.)
But, if you're using the Tasha's optional class features, you have access to Dedicated Weapon, which lets you use a weapon as a monk weapon if it's:
All the two-handed martial weapons are heavy. The simple ones are not. With the optional feature, you can do it with a greatclub, light crossbow, or shortbow.
(I only looked at the PH. There may be weapons elsewhere that also qualify.)
This is correct, but it's worth mentioning that there's a few Versatile weapons that would qualify for the Dedicated Weapon feature, such as the Longsword. I believe the Quarterstaff is available as a Monk weapon by default, and it's also Versatile. Any of these would allow your extra Martial Arts attacks to function as normal, even when wielded in two hands.
No as monk you gain the following benefits while you are unarmed or wielding only monk weapons which are shortswords and any simple melee weapons that don’t have the two-handed or heavy property:
This is correct unless you are using the optional rule, "Dedicated Weapon" If you are using that rule, then Ji8e's post is correct. Also, Two-Handed and Versatile are different properties. If you use a versatile weapon with two hands, that doesn't give it the Two-Handed property.
Dedicated Weapon
2nd-level monk feature
You train yourself to use a variety of weapons as monk weapons, not just simple melee weapons and shortswords. Whenever you finish a short or long rest, you can touch one weapon, focus your ki on it, and then count that weapon as a monk weapon until you use this feature again.
The chosen weapon must meet these criteria:
I started playing D&D from the basic box set in 1979.
The OP specifically mentioned two-handed weapon, which isn't permitted with Matrial Arts in the Core Rules. Now wether optional rules are used or not we don't know but if so the character indeed can use a two-handed Dedicated Weapon that isn't special or heavy which he is proficient with. I don't think the question was about this feature though.
One of the distinction about Dedicated Weapon is that it's not solely limited to melee weapon and can thus be a ranged weapon as well. IIRC these are;
Monk Weapons: club, dagger, handaxe, javelin, light hammer, mace, quarterstaff, sickle, spear, shortsword
Dedicated Weapons: greatclub, light crossbow, dart, shortbow, sling, battleaxe, flail, longsword, rapier, scimitar, trident, war pick, warhammer, whip, blowgun, hand crossbow, yklwa
To add to the complications of determining whether or not a given weapon is a Monk Weapon are Kensei Weapons from the Way of the Kensei subclass. https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/xgte/subclasses#PathoftheKensei
This does essentially the same thing as the Dedicated Weapon optional Monk feature, but it also adds Longbow specifically as an exception to not allowing Heavy weapons more generally.
The player in question (level 1) was using a quarterstaff. Dedicated weapons and Tasha's features aren't being used. Using standard 5e rules.
Thanks everyone for the answers. Many interesting things I hadn't considered or didn't know about.
Ok in this case a quarterstaff is not a two-handed weapon, it lacks the so-called property, it's instead a versatile weapon with which you can use with two hands.
It's absolutely a two-handed weapon in the way the OP clearly meant it, i.e. a weapon wielded in two hands. It's certainly helpful to point out the relevance of the Two-Handed property, but correcting them is not necessary.
The distinction is relevant to the mechanics at play here, so it’s worth touching on.
Froms a rule perspective wielding a weapon in two hands, such as a quarterstaff doesn't make it a two-handed weapon and on Rules Q&A forum discussion it's important to point it out to avoid confusion if the contrary is implied.
Yarrow_Cirdan If you or your player is interested in official ruling on the subject you can find Sage Advice Compendium Q&A on this subject;
I'm not contradicting dnd rules stating it's Versatile, but I can't see how you could use it one handed when it's 6 -9 feet long? It would take a ton of arm strength.
Well, the D&D quarterstaff is not the same as a European quarterstaff; that would be a greatclub, while the quarterstaff listed in the PHB is more like a bo staff. Something like 5-6 ft of wood and slender. Not the best 1-handed weapon, but wielding it that way is certainly possible.
Weapons in 5E have no defined length but rule-wise a quarterstaff can be used with one or two hands and has no strength or size limitations.
That's why it does less damage when used with only one hand. hence versatile. Out of curiosity, can you see how magic missile would be cast? It makes no sense to me because magic doesn't really exist. However, dems da rules.
I started playing D&D from the basic box set in 1979.
Staves are a fairly common weapon in martial arts. They are 100% wielded in one hand for many techniques. Martial artists develop a ton of arm strength.