When you burn a seal on an interdicted creature, you can use your reaction to flood the target with an otherworldly chill. Until the end of the target’s next turn, they can’t take reactions."
So are there any thoughts on the potential ruling of placing a seal in advance, waiting until a target is about to cast a counterspell (as in, is declaring the spell, doing the components etc) , and using your reaction to burn the seal and shut down that counterspell?
When you burn a seal on an interdicted creature, you can use your reaction to flood the target with an otherworldly chill. Until the end of the target’s next turn, they can’t take reactions."
So are there any thoughts on the potential ruling of placing a seal in advance, waiting until a target is about to cast a counterspell (as in, is declaring the spell, doing the components etc) , and using your reaction to burn the seal and shut down that counterspell?
I'd argue they have already taken the reaction. Basically spell is cast, in response other spell caster takes their reaction to cast counterspell. They have already started casting their spell. You see that spell being cast and react. But you reacting to a reaction that has happened already. Basically the creature using the counterspell doesn't have to take a reaction to finish the counterspell it was taken when they started the counterspell.
You would need to react before the creature started the counterspell.
When you burn a seal on an interdicted creature, you can use your reaction to flood the target with an otherworldly chill. Until the end of the target’s next turn, they can’t take reactions."
So are there any thoughts on the potential ruling of placing a seal in advance, waiting until a target is about to cast a counterspell (as in, is declaring the spell, doing the components etc) , and using your reaction to burn the seal and shut down that counterspell?
Does that feature have any more text than what's in your quote? Because it requires you to burn a seal to activate and AFAIK the normal activation can only be done when the creature takes damage. The fact that you need to take a reaction to add the extra "no reactions" clause doesn't allow you to just take that reaction when you want. At least not without any specific text allowing it.
Yeah Styx's Apathy is more about pre-emptively disabling an enemy's reaction
I think the Architect of Ruin's 13th level interdict boon Spellbreaker is closer to what you're after. You'd place your seal(s) in advance, then when the target casts Counterspell you'd use your reaction to burn the seal(s) and Counterspell the Counterspell.
When you burn a seal on an interdicted creature, you can use your reaction to flood the target with an otherworldly chill. Until the end of the target’s next turn, they can’t take reactions."
So are there any thoughts on the potential ruling of placing a seal in advance, waiting until a target is about to cast a counterspell (as in, is declaring the spell, doing the components etc) , and using your reaction to burn the seal and shut down that counterspell?
You can only burn a seal when the creature takes damage
This isn't "use your reaction to burn a seal and do the thing". This is "when a seal is burned, you can also use your reaction to do the thing"
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
"Styx’s Apathy
When you burn a seal on an interdicted creature, you can use your reaction to flood the target with an otherworldly chill. Until the end of the target’s next turn, they can’t take reactions."
So are there any thoughts on the potential ruling of placing a seal in advance, waiting until a target is about to cast a counterspell (as in, is declaring the spell, doing the components etc) , and using your reaction to burn the seal and shut down that counterspell?
I'd argue they have already taken the reaction. Basically spell is cast, in response other spell caster takes their reaction to cast counterspell. They have already started casting their spell. You see that spell being cast and react. But you reacting to a reaction that has happened already. Basically the creature using the counterspell doesn't have to take a reaction to finish the counterspell it was taken when they started the counterspell.
You would need to react before the creature started the counterspell.
Does that feature have any more text than what's in your quote? Because it requires you to burn a seal to activate and AFAIK the normal activation can only be done when the creature takes damage. The fact that you need to take a reaction to add the extra "no reactions" clause doesn't allow you to just take that reaction when you want. At least not without any specific text allowing it.
Yeah Styx's Apathy is more about pre-emptively disabling an enemy's reaction
I think the Architect of Ruin's 13th level interdict boon Spellbreaker is closer to what you're after. You'd place your seal(s) in advance, then when the target casts Counterspell you'd use your reaction to burn the seal(s) and Counterspell the Counterspell.
You can only burn a seal when the creature takes damage
This isn't "use your reaction to burn a seal and do the thing". This is "when a seal is burned, you can also use your reaction to do the thing"
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)