I don't have an opinion on wither RAW specifically allows this but I would absolutely allow it at my table as I don't see anything forbidding it and it seems very balanced. Readying the spell burns the spell slot and uses the wizards action. If the familiar is not able to close the distance or becomes out of range by doing so they loose the spell completely. So it seems very balanced. Also if the PC can do it so can an NYC. Under the rule of fun and not seeing any rule to the contrary I would go for it.
2024 Ready text: "When you Ready a spell, you cast it as normal (expending any resources used to cast it) but hold its energy, which you release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs."
2024 Find Familiar text: "Finally, when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the touch. Your familiar must be within 100 feet of you, and it must take a Reaction to deliver the touch when you cast the spell."
Would "Cast It as Normal" mean a straight-up Magic Action and not holding the spell like in a Ready Action?
In general, yes, you can Ready the casting of a spell to be used through your familiar. This uses both your reaction and the familiar's.
In your example, though, the familiar is going before the wizard in the initiative order, so that wouldn't happen until the owl's second turn.
Yes, this was the entire basis of the scenario, and needing to ready the spell was because the Owl came before the Wizard in the initiative order.
It seems like a simpler approach would be to just have the owl move close to the enemy on the owl's first turn, then have the wizard cast the spell through the familiar on the wizard's first turn. Unless I'm misunderstanding something, there doesn't seem to be a need to Ready anything, unless for some reason the owl can't get to the enemy on its first turn.
2024 Ready text: "When you Ready a spell, you cast it as normal (expending any resources used to cast it) but hold its energy, which you release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs."
2024 Find Familiar text: "Finally, when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the touch. Your familiar must be within 100 feet of you, and it must take a Reaction to deliver the touch when you cast the spell."
Would "Cast It as Normal" mean a straight-up Magic Action and not holding the spell like in a Ready Action?
Again, there's no reason to use the Ready action here. The wizard casts the spell on their turn using a Magic action; the familiar uses its Reaction to actually deliver the spell. This is not specific to the 2024 rules; it's the same in both 2014 and 2024 rules.
In general, yes, you can Ready the casting of a spell to be used through your familiar. This uses both your reaction and the familiar's.
In your example, though, the familiar is going before the wizard in the initiative order, so that wouldn't happen until the owl's second turn.
Yes, this was the entire basis of the scenario, and needing to ready the spell was because the Owl came before the Wizard in the initiative order.
It seems like a simpler approach would be to just have the owl move close to the enemy on the owl's first turn, then have the wizard cast the spell through the familiar on the wizard's first turn. Unless I'm misunderstanding something, there doesn't seem to be a need to Ready anything, unless for some reason the owl can't get to the enemy on its first turn.
I'd attribute it to the heat of combat, which was not thought out, and the Wizard wanted to do something and not waste a turn, seeing how he was lacking in resources for more meaningful spells to be cast. Still, you are correct in the order it could have happened.
2024 Ready text: "When you Ready a spell, you cast it as normal (expending any resources used to cast it) but hold its energy, which you release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs."
2024 Find Familiar text: "Finally, when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the touch. Your familiar must be within 100 feet of you, and it must take a Reaction to deliver the touch when you cast the spell."
Would "Cast It as Normal" mean a straight-up Magic Action and not holding the spell like in a Ready Action?
Again, there's no reason to use the Ready action here. The wizard casts the spell on their turn using a Magic action; the familiar uses its Reaction to actually deliver the spell. This is not specific to the 2024 rules; it's the same in both 2014 and 2024 rules.
Okay, I was trying to figure out if this was allowed RAW, and if not, I wanted the rules to point out why it couldn't be done in future games and explain my mistake.
2024 Ready text: "When you Ready a spell, you cast it as normal (expending any resources used to cast it) but hold its energy, which you release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs."
2024 Find Familiar text: "Finally, when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the touch. Your familiar must be within 100 feet of you, and it must take a Reaction to deliver the touch when you cast the spell."
Would "Cast It as Normal" mean a straight-up Magic Action and not holding the spell like in a Ready Action?
Again, there's no reason to use the Ready action here. The wizard casts the spell on their turn using a Magic action; the familiar uses its Reaction to actually deliver the spell. This is not specific to the 2024 rules; it's the same in both 2014 and 2024 rules.
Okay, I was trying to figure out if this was allowed RAW, and if not, I wanted the rules to point out why it couldn't be done in future games and explain my mistake.
In general, yes, you can Ready the casting of a spell to be used through your familiar. This uses both your reaction and the familiar's.
In your example, though, the familiar is going before the wizard in the initiative order, so that wouldn't happen until the owl's second turn.
Yes, this was the entire basis of the scenario, and needing to ready the spell was because the Owl came before the Wizard in the initiative order.
It seems like a simpler approach would be to just have the owl move close to the enemy on the owl's first turn, then have the wizard cast the spell through the familiar on the wizard's first turn. Unless I'm misunderstanding something, there doesn't seem to be a need to Ready anything, unless for some reason the owl can't get to the enemy on its first turn.
I can see a reason to Ready the Spell in that situation; potentially saving 60-70 minutes of casting time and 10 gp worth of incense. The Owl can typically only take advantage of its movement and Flyby feature during its turn.
Without Readying an Action:
Turn 1:
... (Potentially other creatures in the combat take their turns)
Owl flies into a square adjoining the Wight, uses its Action to Help (Assist an Attack Roll), or Dodge, or something else.
Wizard Casts Shocking Grasp through Owl, on the Wight, using the Owl's Reaction.
...
Wight, sufficiently miffed, takes out at least part of its frustrations on the Owl, who is still in an adjoining square. This, if successful, likely kills the Owl.
...
With the Wizard Readying an Action:
Turn 1:
...
Owl does something else, such as taking the Help Action to Assist an Attack Roll against the Wight, and uses its Flyby ability to retreat out of range without provoking opportunity attacks. Hopefully, to someplace where it can get Full Cover.
Wizard Readies the spell Shocking Grasp to be cast when the Owl gets within range of an enemy or harries an enemy.
...
Wight Does something else, hopefully something that doesn't wind up breaking the Wizard's Concentration.
...
Turn 2:
...
Owl flies at Wight. When in range, the Owl uses its action to Help again (Assist an Attack Roll) if useful,, harrying the foe. Otherwise, it just gets into range while taking the Dodge action. The Wizard burns his Reaction to cast the Readied Shocking Grasp, through the Owl, at Advantage from the Help Action, consuming the Owl's Reaction. The Owl then uses its flyby feature to retreat out of melee range again, back to its hopeful place of safety.
Wizard decides on what he's going to do this turn and does it.
The interaction is interesting, and I must acknowledge that it is true the wording of the quoted rules could be read as meaning that the Familiar's Reaction is triggered as soon as you take the Ready action, since that is the moment you are casting the spell and expending a slot.
The interaction is interesting, and I must acknowledge that it is true the wording of the quoted rules could be read as meaning that the Familiar's Reaction is triggered as soon as you take the Ready action, since that is the moment you are casting the spell and expending a slot.
This is problematic, Tarod. If you apply the same closed-minded ruling to Ready Action for other features with the wording "when you cast a spell...", it’s a mess. A few examples:
Initiative Order:
Owl Familiar (19)
Wizard (14)
Wight
Can the Wizard READY the spell to cast it when the Owl Familiar moves into range of the Wight as the trigger?
In general, yes, you can Ready the casting of a spell to be used through your familiar. This uses both your reaction and the familiar's.
In your example, though, the familiar is going before the wizard in the initiative order, so that wouldn't happen until the owl's second turn.
pronouns: he/she/they
I don't have an opinion on wither RAW specifically allows this but I would absolutely allow it at my table as I don't see anything forbidding it and it seems very balanced. Readying the spell burns the spell slot and uses the wizards action. If the familiar is not able to close the distance or becomes out of range by doing so they loose the spell completely. So it seems very balanced. Also if the PC can do it so can an NYC. Under the rule of fun and not seeing any rule to the contrary I would go for it.
Yes, this was the entire basis of the scenario, and needing to ready the spell was because the Owl came before the Wizard in the initiative order.
Elsewhere, someone brought up this question
2024 Ready text: "When you Ready a spell, you cast it as normal (expending any resources used to cast it) but hold its energy, which you release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs."
2024 Find Familiar text: "Finally, when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the touch. Your familiar must be within 100 feet of you, and it must take a Reaction to deliver the touch when you cast the spell."
Would "Cast It as Normal" mean a straight-up Magic Action and not holding the spell like in a Ready Action?
It seems like a simpler approach would be to just have the owl move close to the enemy on the owl's first turn, then have the wizard cast the spell through the familiar on the wizard's first turn. Unless I'm misunderstanding something, there doesn't seem to be a need to Ready anything, unless for some reason the owl can't get to the enemy on its first turn.
pronouns: he/she/they
Again, there's no reason to use the Ready action here. The wizard casts the spell on their turn using a Magic action; the familiar uses its Reaction to actually deliver the spell. This is not specific to the 2024 rules; it's the same in both 2014 and 2024 rules.
pronouns: he/she/they
I'd attribute it to the heat of combat, which was not thought out, and the Wizard wanted to do something and not waste a turn, seeing how he was lacking in resources for more meaningful spells to be cast. Still, you are correct in the order it could have happened.
Okay, I was trying to figure out if this was allowed RAW, and if not, I wanted the rules to point out why it couldn't be done in future games and explain my mistake.
It is allowed, yes.
pronouns: he/she/they
I can see a reason to Ready the Spell in that situation; potentially saving 60-70 minutes of casting time and 10 gp worth of incense. The Owl can typically only take advantage of its movement and Flyby feature during its turn.
Without Readying an Action:
Turn 1:
With the Wizard Readying an Action:
Turn 1:
Turn 2:
🎵I'm on top of the world, looking down on creation, wreaking death and devastation with my mind.
As the power that I've found erupts freely from the ground, I will cackle from the top of the world.🎵
Charisma Saving Throw: DC 18, Failure: 20d6 Psychic Damage, Success: Half damage
The interaction is interesting, and I must acknowledge that it is true the wording of the quoted rules could be read as meaning that the Familiar's Reaction is triggered as soon as you take the Ready action, since that is the moment you are casting the spell and expending a slot.
This is problematic, Tarod. If you apply the same closed-minded ruling to Ready Action for other features with the wording "when you cast a spell...", it’s a mess. A few examples:
- Metamagic Options (e.g. Careful Spell, Spell Sniper, Subtle Spell...)
- Potent Spellcasting
- Elemental Affinity