I have a question on the ruling for one card in particular. The Fool card. In the Legacy version, it stakes, “and draw from the deck again, counting both draws as one of your declared draws.” The new edition states, “Draw another card; this draw doesn’t count as one of your declared draws.” With this new ruling, does the effect of the second card not take place because it is not your declared draw? Or does it mean, if I declared two cards and pulled the Fool as my first card, I would pull a card for that Fool’s effect but still have to pull my original second declared card? To me it wouldn’t make sense for it to tell you to pull a card just for fun to see what could have been.
I have a question on the ruling for one card in particular. The Fool card. In the Legacy version, it stakes, “and draw from the deck again, counting both draws as one of your declared draws.” The new edition states, “Draw another card; this draw doesn’t count as one of your declared draws.” With this new ruling, does the effect of the second card not take place because it is not your declared draw? Or does it mean, if I declared two cards and pulled the Fool as my first card, I would pull a card for that Fool’s effect but still have to pull my original second declared card? To me it wouldn’t make sense for it to tell you to pull a card just for fun to see what could have been.
You draw another card, and it takes effect as normal, but doesn't count toward the number of declared draws.
It's generally safe to assume that if an interpretation of the rules would lead to something (a feature, an item, a spell, etc.) being pointless, then that's not the intended interpretation.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I have a question on the ruling for one card in particular. The Fool card. In the Legacy version, it stakes, “and draw from the deck again, counting both draws as one of your declared draws.” The new edition states, “Draw another card; this draw doesn’t count as one of your declared draws.”
With this new ruling, does the effect of the second card not take place because it is not your declared draw? Or does it mean, if I declared two cards and pulled the Fool as my first card, I would pull a card for that Fool’s effect but still have to pull my original second declared card?
To me it wouldn’t make sense for it to tell you to pull a card just for fun to see what could have been.
You draw another card, and it takes effect as normal, but doesn't count toward the number of declared draws.
It's generally safe to assume that if an interpretation of the rules would lead to something (a feature, an item, a spell, etc.) being pointless, then that's not the intended interpretation.
pronouns: he/she/they