So our DM has a question about Dissonant Whispers. If the target fails the save and has to use its reaction to run does it have to have movement left over from its previous turn to be able to move? Another interpretation is does it magically gain extra move from the effects of the spell and use that to move if it already moved? I think its the latter because I think it would say it uses its leftover move from its turn if that was the case. Opinions appreciated.
We’ve always ruled it can move its full base walking speed. It’s not extra move, since it’s moving not on its own turn. Also, practically, it would be a real hassle if it had to use leftover move. The DM would need to track leftover movement for every enemy on the off chance one of them might be affected by the spell.
Side note, even though you didn’t ask, since it uses its reaction, it provokes opportunity attacks as it moves, so it would take that into consideration when choosing its “safest route.”
Off turn movement isn't related to the distance you can normally move on your turn. Dissonant Whispers target must immediately use its Reaction, if available, to move as far away from you as it can, which should be up to it's Speed or less if limited somehow. It essentially means it can't move this way if Stunnedor Restrainedfor example.
Thanks for the reply! Is the off-turn movement thing specifically mentioned anywhere? I would love to present that info so we can stop having this discussion every time I try to use whispers. I agree totally and if the spell functioned having to use remaining move I think it would say so. I am dealing with a bit of to much realism rules lawyering.
Is the off-turn movement thing specifically mentioned anywhere?
No, but all the movement rules and even the new Glossary definition of Speed specifically refer to how much you can move on your turn
The fact that there are no "off-turn movement" rules just means you can only do it when a specific thing allows you/requires you to do it, whether that's dissonant whispers, or something like Battle Master's Maneuvering Attack
I can't off the top of my head think of a good reason why Dissonant Whispers doesn't specifically refer to Speed, though
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Is the off-turn movement thing specifically mentioned anywhere?
No, but all the movement rules and even the new Glossary definition of Speed specifically refer to how much you can move on your turn
The fact that there are no "off-turn movement" rules just means you can only do it when a specific thing allows you/requires you to do it, whether that's dissonant whispers, or something like Battle Master's Maneuvering Attack
I can't off the top of my head think of a good reason why Dissonant Whispers doesn't specifically refer to Speed, though
Excellent, the Battle Master Maneuver is the kind of information I needed. I could not think of anything offhand like that. Much appreciated.
You can move up to your Speed on your turn and then Ready to move up to your Speed in response to a trigger as a Reaction on another creature's turn.
Likewise, you can take the Dash action and gain extra movement equals your Speed, this wether you have moved or not during your turn. With a Speed of 30 feet, for example, you can move up to 60 feet on your turn if you Dash. If did move 20 feet already when taking Dash, you would thus gain 30 feet extra movement and can still move up to 40 feet.(10 + 30)
Another example of Feature that effectively rely on your Speed score off-turn is Inspiring Movement which absolutely need to not be 0 for you and your ally to move.
Level 6: Inspiring Movement
When an enemy you can see ends its turn within 5 feet of you, you can take a Reaction and expend one use of your Bardic Inspiration to move up to half your Speed. Then one ally of your choice within 30 feet of you can also move up to half their Speed using their Reaction. None of this feature’s movement provokes Opportunity Attacks.
In fact, as he said in that reply, Ready a move is another way to move during another creature's turn.
Another Feature that effectively rely on your Speed score off-turn is Relentless Avenger which absolutely need to not be 0 for you to move.
Level 7: Relentless Avenger
Your supernatural focus helps you close off a foe's retreat. When you hit a creature with an Opportunity Attack, you can reduce the creature's Speed to 0 until the end of the current turn. You can then move up to half your Speed as part of the same Reaction. This movement doesn't provoke Opportunity Attacks.
So our DM has a question about Dissonant Whispers. If the target fails the save and has to use its reaction to run does it have to have movement left over from its previous turn to be able to move? Another interpretation is does it magically gain extra move from the effects of the spell and use that to move if it already moved? I think its the latter because I think it would say it uses its leftover move from its turn if that was the case. Opinions appreciated.
Thanks!
We’ve always ruled it can move its full base walking speed. It’s not extra move, since it’s moving not on its own turn. Also, practically, it would be a real hassle if it had to use leftover move. The DM would need to track leftover movement for every enemy on the off chance one of them might be affected by the spell.
Side note, even though you didn’t ask, since it uses its reaction, it provokes opportunity attacks as it moves, so it would take that into consideration when choosing its “safest route.”
Off turn movement isn't related to the distance you can normally move on your turn. Dissonant Whispers target must immediately use its Reaction, if available, to move as far away from you as it can, which should be up to it's Speed or less if limited somehow. It essentially means it can't move this way if Stunned or Restrained for example.
Thanks for the reply! Is the off-turn movement thing specifically mentioned anywhere? I would love to present that info so we can stop having this discussion every time I try to use whispers. I agree totally and if the spell functioned having to use remaining move I think it would say so. I am dealing with a bit of to much realism rules lawyering.
No, but all the movement rules and even the new Glossary definition of Speed specifically refer to how much you can move on your turn
The fact that there are no "off-turn movement" rules just means you can only do it when a specific thing allows you/requires you to do it, whether that's dissonant whispers, or something like Battle Master's Maneuvering Attack
I can't off the top of my head think of a good reason why Dissonant Whispers doesn't specifically refer to Speed, though
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Excellent, the Battle Master Maneuver is the kind of information I needed. I could not think of anything offhand like that. Much appreciated.
@Elder_Dice_Dragon If you need more examples like the one shared by @AntonSirius, @Plaguescarred left this reply in a different thread about Inspiring Movement:
In fact, as he said in that reply, Ready a move is another way to move during another creature's turn.
Also, this reply from the same thread: