Whirlwind (Recharge 4–6).Strength Saving Throw: DC 13, one Medium or smaller creature in the elemental’s space. Failure: 24 (4d10 + 2) Thunder damage, and the target is pushed up to 20 feet straight away from the elemental and has the Prone condition. Success: Half damage only.
So, my question is: Can the monster do its Multiattack (of 2 x Thunderous Slams) and the Whirlwind? Or is it either the 2 Thunderous Slams or the Whirlwind?
More generally, if there were many different actions in the Actions part of the stat block, is it a choice between each one or can they do all?
Monsters, like PCs, are only allowed to make one Action per round unless they have a specific ability that lets them make more than one. Multiattack always allows a monster to use all of the actions listed in it whenever they use it (assuming they're not blocked from making more than one attack per round somehow, such as by the Slow spell). Any abilities in the Actions stat block not covered by Multiattack or a similar ability cost their entire action to perform, making it an either/or.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Multiattack Some creatures can make more than one attack when they take the Attack action. Such creatures have the Multiattack entry in the “Actions” section of their stat block. This entry details the attacks a creature can make, as well as any additional abilities it can use, as part of the Attack action.
The creature takes the Attack action to use Multiattack.
Am a new DM and haven't found clarification on how to read the stat bliocks for this issue.
This is an example from the 2024 Monster Manual (woohoo!):
So, my question is: Can the monster do its Multiattack (of 2 x Thunderous Slams) and the Whirlwind? Or is it either the 2 Thunderous Slams or the Whirlwind?
More generally, if there were many different actions in the Actions part of the stat block, is it a choice between each one or can they do all?
Any advice appreciated! Thanks in advance.
It's either or. The actions in the stat block are just actions the monster is able to take.
Monsters, like PCs, are only allowed to make one Action per round unless they have a specific ability that lets them make more than one. Multiattack always allows a monster to use all of the actions listed in it whenever they use it (assuming they're not blocked from making more than one attack per round somehow, such as by the Slow spell). Any abilities in the Actions stat block not covered by Multiattack or a similar ability cost their entire action to perform, making it an either/or.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
If it helps, some relevant rules from the 2025 MM:
So the advice is to take Multiattack is you're not using a different ability on its turn.
And, as debated here:
The creature takes the Attack action to use Multiattack.
Hey @TarodNet, @6thLyranGuard and @Jurmondur,
Thanks.
Great stuff. Appreciated!
Not at all! Quite the opposite, thanks for your great question!