Predatory Strikes. You can apply your Crimson Rite feature to your unarmed strikes as a single weapon. You can use Dexterity instead of Strength for the attack and damage rolIs of your unarmed strikes. When you use the Attack action with an unarmed strike, you can make one unarmed strike as a bonus action.
I have a quick question regarding the above. This is a feature that only works once you've transformed into your hybrid form. Does this mean that you cannot pre-emptively activate Crimson Rite on your unarmed strikes and have to wait until after you transform? I couldn't apply this to my normal form, ahead of a potential fight, right?
If that's correct, then you wouldn't be able to deal Crimson Rite damage until round 2, AND you wouldn't be able to do the 2nd attack until round 3, correct? Seems like a brutal ramp up?
1st round: Bonus action to transform 2nd round: Bonus action to apply Crimson Rite 3rd round: Bonus action to do a 2nd unarmed strike(with Crimson Rite activated)
I can see it both ways, but I would allow the crimson rite before transformation because a character is capable of delivering unarmed strikes whether in hybrid form or not--they are just a lot more powerful after transformation. Here's how combat usually plays out at my table:
Combat starts:
Round 1: BH transforms, move, attack action (2 hits with sword) Round 2: BH activates crimson rite, move if necessary, attacks action (2 hits with sword or unarmed strike) Round 3: BH uses attack action (1 hit with sword, 1 hit with unarmed strike), bonus action follow-up attack with unarmed strike
So yeah it takes until the third round to get everything up and running, but you still get two pretty effective rounds during the build-up. Actually, what usually happens is "I had already transformed before combat" and then I laugh and roll my eyes a little and carry on because it doesn't really matter in the end.
Your crimson rite lasts until you take a rest. Your DM might say you no longer have claws, so no crimson rite. Or they may say your claws are now your fists.
As a bonus action, you can activate a crimson rite on a single weapon with the elemental energy of a known rite of your choice that lasts until you finish a short or long rest, or if you aren’t holding the weapon at the end of your turn.
Wouldn't that mean the rites end every turn? At least that's the impression I get from the debates surrounding Path of the Beast claws. "You aren't holding or wielding your claws" seems to be the common refute for many interactions questions.
Not sure if this was the intention. Given that it is an unrefined class feature from "unofficial" content it likely just falls to the age old classic "it's up to your DM."
Your crimson rite lasts until you take a rest. Your DM might say you no longer have claws, so no crimson rite. Or they may say your claws are now your fists.
If the DM decided losing the claws did that, playing as a race with natural claws could fix it.
Your can apply your Crimson Rite feature to your unarmed strikes. You can use Dexterity instead of Strength for the attack and damage rolls of your unarmed strikes. When you use the Attack action with an unarmed strike, you can make one unarmed strike as a bonus action. Your unarmed strikes deal 1d6 slashing damage. The damage increases to 1d8 at 11th level.
Does that mean that if you had Crimson Rite feature activated before transformation you can apply extra damage to unarmed strikes or that you can apply new Crimson Rite to unarmed strikes?
I know this is 5 years old, but my question is, in 5E24 the Crimson Rite/Predatory Strikes combo specifically states that both of your hands are treated as one weapon... sooooo, that would mean after activating Crimson Rite, one could then apply Pact Weapon to their hands on their next turn since they are considered a weapon at the current moment, yes?
I know this is 5 years old, but my question is, in 5E24 the Crimson Rite/Predatory Strikes combo specifically states that both of your hands are treated as one weapon... sooooo, that would mean after activating Crimson Rite, one could then apply Pact Weapon to their hands on their next turn since they are considered a weapon at the current moment, yes?
It seems very obvious that that's not what's intended by the phrase "which you treat as one weapon", but either way, Pact of the Blade only allows bonding with a magic weapon.
No no, it says "which IS treated as one weapon", not "which YOU treat". Meaning the DM/GM, and the game itself, treats it as a weapon as well. So, while Crimson Rite is active, your hands ARE a weapon. and if you read Crimson Rite it says attacks with the weapon are magical, so simply by having Crimson Rite on your hands makes them not only a weapon, but a magical weapon as well, and that second line also reinforces the fact that while it's active that your hands are a weapon.
No no, it says "which IS treated as one weapon", not "which YOU treat". Meaning the DM/GM, and the game itself, treats it as a weapon as well. So, while Crimson Rite is active, your hands ARE a weapon. and if you read Crimson Rite it says attacks with the weapon are magical, so simply by having Crimson Rite on your hands makes them not only a weapon, but a magical weapon as well, and that second line also reinforces the fact that while it's active that your hands are a weapon.
No no, it says "which IS treated as one weapon", not "which YOU treat". Meaning the DM/GM, and the game itself, treats it as a weapon as well. So, while Crimson Rite is active, your hands ARE a weapon. and if you read Crimson Rite it says attacks with the weapon are magical, so simply by having Crimson Rite on your hands makes them not only a weapon, but a magical weapon as well, and that second line also reinforces the fact that while it's active that your hands are a weapon.
Sounds like you've already got your answer, then.
(kind of dumb "reply" and "quote" are a separate thing)
I have a hunch based on how my brain understands the wording. I came here to confirm. I would totally accept if the DM/GM didn't agree, I'm just saying it makes sense to me.
and that's my bad, I should have made it clear in my first comment that I understand this isn't exactly kosher, which is why I came to ask people instead of just doing it.
Clearly the unarmed strikes "being treated as one weapon" is meant to be for the sake of applying Crimson Rite to both hands. As a DM, I'd definitely shut this down.
But also, if you really want to go there, using them as a weapon means you're no longer using them to make unarmed strikes, which means you don't get your Bonus Action attack.
Clearly the unarmed strikes "being treated as one weapon" is meant to be for the sake of applying Crimson Rite to both hands. As a DM, I'd definitely shut this down.
But also, if you really want to go there, using them as a weapon means you're no longer using them to make unarmed strikes, which means you don't get your Bonus Action attack.
Flurry of Blows
and no, the wording and the placement of the wording makes it sound like you apply Crimson Rite to your hands and that is what makes your hands become treated as a weapon. Otherwise why would it state that you can apply Crimson Rite to your unarmed strikes at all, let alone before the part about being treated as a weapon instead of after?
and no, the wording and the placement of the wording makes it sound like you apply Crimson Rite to your hands and that is what makes your hands become treated as a weapon. Otherwise why would it state that you can apply Crimson Rite to your unarmed strikes at all, let alone before the part about being treated as a weapon instead of after?
No the wording is very clear that it is the Predatory Strikes feature that lets you treat your unarmed strikes as a weapon. And the reason why is quite simple too, it does so because the Crimson Rite feature says that it needs to go on "one weapon". So without that line in Predatory Strikes making your unarmed strikes a "weapon" they wouldn't be a valid target for your Crimson Rite and you'd also have issues with deciding which, of all possible unarmed strikes you could do, would be the "one" attack that would benefit.
I know this is 5 years old, but my question is, in 5E24 the Crimson Rite/Predatory Strikes combo specifically states that both of your hands are treated as one weapon... sooooo, that would mean after activating Crimson Rite, one could then apply Pact Weapon to their hands on their next turn since they are considered a weapon at the current moment, yes?
Worth noting here that it isn't your hands that get the benefit of the Crimson Rite, it is your unarmed strikes that do. And yes that is a somewhat funny thing since it is a rules concept that the Rite is applied to, not an actual body part but that is because there is no need at all for you unarmed strikes to be required to be made with your hands.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Predatory Strikes. You can apply your Crimson Rite feature to your unarmed strikes as a single weapon. You can use Dexterity instead of Strength for the attack and damage rolIs of your unarmed strikes. When you use the Attack action with an unarmed strike, you can make one unarmed strike as a bonus action.
I have a quick question regarding the above. This is a feature that only works once you've transformed into your hybrid form.
Does this mean that you cannot pre-emptively activate Crimson Rite on your unarmed strikes and have to wait until after you transform?
I couldn't apply this to my normal form, ahead of a potential fight, right?
If that's correct, then you wouldn't be able to deal Crimson Rite damage until round 2, AND you wouldn't be able to do the 2nd attack until round 3, correct? Seems like a brutal ramp up?
1st round: Bonus action to transform
2nd round: Bonus action to apply Crimson Rite
3rd round: Bonus action to do a 2nd unarmed strike(with Crimson Rite activated)
I can see it both ways, but I would allow the crimson rite before transformation because a character is capable of delivering unarmed strikes whether in hybrid form or not--they are just a lot more powerful after transformation. Here's how combat usually plays out at my table:
Combat starts:
Round 1: BH transforms, move, attack action (2 hits with sword)
Round 2: BH activates crimson rite, move if necessary, attacks action (2 hits with sword or unarmed strike)
Round 3: BH uses attack action (1 hit with sword, 1 hit with unarmed strike), bonus action follow-up attack with unarmed strike
So yeah it takes until the third round to get everything up and running, but you still get two pretty effective rounds during the build-up. Actually, what usually happens is "I had already transformed before combat" and then I laugh and roll my eyes a little and carry on because it doesn't really matter in the end.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Bigger question, if you un-transform do you lose your crimson rite effect?
Though remember your transformation lasts an hour, you can have that going for a long time before a fight as long as you are not surprised.
Your crimson rite lasts until you take a rest. Your DM might say you no longer have claws, so no crimson rite. Or they may say your claws are now your fists.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
As a bonus action, you can activate a crimson rite on a single weapon with the elemental energy of a known rite of your choice that lasts until you finish a short or long rest, or if you aren’t holding the weapon at the end of your turn.
Wouldn't that mean the rites end every turn?
At least that's the impression I get from the debates surrounding Path of the Beast claws.
"You aren't holding or wielding your claws" seems to be the common refute for many interactions questions.
Not sure if this was the intention.
Given that it is an unrefined class feature from "unofficial" content it likely just falls to the age old classic "it's up to your DM."
That was changed, it now lasts till you take a short or long rest. But only works when you use it not if an ally uses it.
Good to see.
At the time of my post I cut and pasted that from DnD Beyond, hence my questioning it.
If the DM decided losing the claws did that, playing as a race with natural claws could fix it.
Predatory Strikes.
Your can apply your Crimson Rite feature to your unarmed strikes. You can use Dexterity instead of Strength for the attack and damage rolls of your unarmed strikes. When you use the Attack action with an unarmed strike, you can make one unarmed strike as a bonus action. Your unarmed strikes deal 1d6 slashing damage. The damage increases to 1d8 at 11th level.
Does that mean that if you had Crimson Rite feature activated before transformation you can apply extra damage to unarmed strikes or that you can apply new Crimson Rite to unarmed strikes?
I know this is 5 years old, but my question is, in 5E24 the Crimson Rite/Predatory Strikes combo specifically states that both of your hands are treated as one weapon... sooooo, that would mean after activating Crimson Rite, one could then apply Pact Weapon to their hands on their next turn since they are considered a weapon at the current moment, yes?
It seems very obvious that that's not what's intended by the phrase "which you treat as one weapon", but either way, Pact of the Blade only allows bonding with a magic weapon.
pronouns: he/she/they
No no, it says "which IS treated as one weapon", not "which YOU treat". Meaning the DM/GM, and the game itself, treats it as a weapon as well. So, while Crimson Rite is active, your hands ARE a weapon. and if you read Crimson Rite it says attacks with the weapon are magical, so simply by having Crimson Rite on your hands makes them not only a weapon, but a magical weapon as well, and that second line also reinforces the fact that while it's active that your hands are a weapon.
Sounds like you've already got your answer, then.
pronouns: he/she/they
(kind of dumb "reply" and "quote" are a separate thing)
I have a hunch based on how my brain understands the wording. I came here to confirm. I would totally accept if the DM/GM didn't agree, I'm just saying it makes sense to me.
and that's my bad, I should have made it clear in my first comment that I understand this isn't exactly kosher, which is why I came to ask people instead of just doing it.
Clearly the unarmed strikes "being treated as one weapon" is meant to be for the sake of applying Crimson Rite to both hands. As a DM, I'd definitely shut this down.
But also, if you really want to go there, using them as a weapon means you're no longer using them to make unarmed strikes, which means you don't get your Bonus Action attack.
Flurry of Blows
and no, the wording and the placement of the wording makes it sound like you apply Crimson Rite to your hands and that is what makes your hands become treated as a weapon. Otherwise why would it state that you can apply Crimson Rite to your unarmed strikes at all, let alone before the part about being treated as a weapon instead of after?
No the wording is very clear that it is the Predatory Strikes feature that lets you treat your unarmed strikes as a weapon. And the reason why is quite simple too, it does so because the Crimson Rite feature says that it needs to go on "one weapon". So without that line in Predatory Strikes making your unarmed strikes a "weapon" they wouldn't be a valid target for your Crimson Rite and you'd also have issues with deciding which, of all possible unarmed strikes you could do, would be the "one" attack that would benefit.
Worth noting here that it isn't your hands that get the benefit of the Crimson Rite, it is your unarmed strikes that do. And yes that is a somewhat funny thing since it is a rules concept that the Rite is applied to, not an actual body part but that is because there is no need at all for you unarmed strikes to be required to be made with your hands.