I have some questions on how to implement Magic Jar and possibly combo it with either Sequester or Imprisonment.
First, it seems to me that if you are possessing a creature, the possession can end if you are targeted by a successful Dispel Magic or by wandering into an Anti Magic circle. Correct?
Regarding combos, it seems to me that Sequester could only work on the Jar, but not your body (since it's neither an object nor a willing creature). So if you wanted to secure your original body, you would have to opt for Imprisonment? But if you tried to cast Imprisonment on your body, would it still count as a 'creature'? How would the Wisdom Save for this work?
My idea for the Imprisonment spell would be to use the Minimus Containment so you could keep your body on hand. But based on having to make a Wisdom Save, I have the impression that it would require an 'inhabited' body to work?
I feel like this would all be really risky and inadvisable... But fun to think about.
I don't see why your (living) body wouldn't still be a creature and an eligible target for Imprisonment. I suppose it would be debatable whether the body's Wisdom saves are yours, or those of a creature with 0 Wisdom... but that's a relatively minor ruling to resolve.
An Unconscious creature can't do anything or act in any way either (until it wakes up), and yet remains a creature. Its a little unclear for me whether the living body left behind is a permanently Unconscious version of itself (like in Astral Projection), or instead something more like a corpse with a pulse.... but given the ambiguity, I'd be inclined to let the player have the benefit of the 9th-level spells they're slinging around.
Hi everyone,
I have some questions on how to implement Magic Jar and possibly combo it with either Sequester or Imprisonment.
First, it seems to me that if you are possessing a creature, the possession can end if you are targeted by a successful Dispel Magic or by wandering into an Anti Magic circle. Correct?
Regarding combos, it seems to me that Sequester could only work on the Jar, but not your body (since it's neither an object nor a willing creature). So if you wanted to secure your original body, you would have to opt for Imprisonment? But if you tried to cast Imprisonment on your body, would it still count as a 'creature'? How would the Wisdom Save for this work?
My idea for the Imprisonment spell would be to use the Minimus Containment so you could keep your body on hand. But based on having to make a Wisdom Save, I have the impression that it would require an 'inhabited' body to work?
I feel like this would all be really risky and inadvisable... But fun to think about.
I don't see why your (living) body wouldn't still be a creature and an eligible target for Imprisonment. I suppose it would be debatable whether the body's Wisdom saves are yours, or those of a creature with 0 Wisdom... but that's a relatively minor ruling to resolve.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
An Unconscious creature can't do anything or act in any way either (until it wakes up), and yet remains a creature. Its a little unclear for me whether the living body left behind is a permanently Unconscious version of itself (like in Astral Projection), or instead something more like a corpse with a pulse.... but given the ambiguity, I'd be inclined to let the player have the benefit of the 9th-level spells they're slinging around.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.