I know that any spells inside this field are suppressed, but if for example a Druid is standing in the cone if he's holding Moonbeam does the spell get suppressed if he's in the cone but the Moonbeam itself is not?
A 10-foot-radius invisible sphere of antimagic surrounds you. This area is divorced from the magical energy that suffuses the multiverse. Within the sphere, spells can't be cast, summoned creatures disappear, and even magic items become mundane. Until the spell ends, the sphere moves with you, centered on you.
Spells and other magical effects, except those created by an artifact or a deity, are suppressed in the sphere and can't protrude into it. A slot expended to cast a suppressed spell is consumed. While an effect is suppressed, it doesn't function, but the time it spends suppressed counts against its duration.
Targeted Effects. Spells and other magical effects, such as magic missile and charm person, that target a creature or an object in the sphere have no effect on that target.
Areas of Magic. The area of another spell or magical effect, such as fireball, can't extend into the sphere. If the sphere overlaps an area of magic, the part of the area that is covered by the sphere is suppressed. For example, the flames created by a wall of fire are suppressed within the sphere, creating a gap in the wall if the overlap is large enough.
Spells. Any active spell or other magical effect on a creature or an object in the sphere is suppressed while the creature or object is in it.
Magic Items. The properties and powers of magic items are suppressed in the sphere. For example, a longsword, +1 in the sphere functions as a nonmagical longsword.
A magic weapon's properties and powers are suppressed if it is used against a target in the sphere or wielded by an attacker in the sphere. If a magic weapon or a piece of magic ammunition fully leaves the sphere (for example, if you fire a magic arrow or throw a magic spear at a target outside the sphere), the magic of the item ceases to be suppressed as soon as it exits.
Magical Travel. Teleportation and planar travel fail to work in the sphere, whether the sphere is the destination or the departure point for such magical travel. A portal to another location, world, or plane of existence, as well as an opening to an extradimensional space such as that created by the rope trick spell, temporarily closes while in the sphere.
Creatures and Objects. A creature or object summoned or created by magic temporarily winks out of existence in the sphere. Such a creature instantly reappears once the space the creature occupied is no longer within the sphere.
Dispel Magic. Spells and magical effects such as dispel magic have no effect on the sphere. Likewise, the spheres created by different antimagic field spells don't nullify each other.
It looks like it only applies to spell effects, not to the caster concentrating on the spell, so Moonbeam is not suppressed (except whatever part of it might be inside the cone.)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
Antimagic Field doesn't describe any interaction with a creature concentrating on a spell. So that leads me to think that a strict interpretation would rule that the Moonbeam would persist.
However, the flavor of an Antimagic Field tells us that the area has been severed from the magical energy that suffuses the universe. So I think it would also be fair to rule that the caster's connection to their spell is broken and the Moonbeam is suppressed while the caster is in the field.
Hmm. An interesting thought. The mechanics are pretty clear that you can concentrate in the antimagic, but to explain it narratively is more complicated.
Both mechanically and narratively, I never considered concentration to be "bearing magic" for the purposes of detect magic, so maybe that idea can be expanded on...
Well, that is an individual DM problem. Book answer: doesn't stop concentration. Hells, antimagic field is a concentration spell centered on the caster. It would be weird if it did.
If anyone needs a way to explain this interaction, treat it like radio jamming.
The caster is transmitting a control signal to some point in space, while the Antimagic cone is filling an area with radio noise. Since the jamming zone has hard boundaries, an RC car outside of the jamming area is still receiving the control signal, but not the noise. Jamming disrupts the receiver, not the transmission.
In the case of magic, the "reciever" is the weave at the target location.
Antimagic Field doesn't describe any interaction with a creature concentrating on a spell. So that leads me to think that a strict interpretation would rule that the Moonbeam would persist.
However, the flavor of an Antimagic Field tells us that the area has been severed from the magical energy that suffuses the universe. So I think it would also be fair to rule that the caster's connection to their spell is broken and the Moonbeam is suppressed while the caster is in the field.
What would be fair would be using the rules in the book that the players consented to be bound by when they agreed to join the game. Those rules say : within the field's area, spells can't be cast, creatures can't be summoned, and spell effects are suppressed. They do not mention anything at all about suppressing effects outside the field, so effects outside the field are not suppressed.
If anyone needs a way to explain this interaction, treat it like radio jamming.
The caster is transmitting a control signal to some point in space, while the Antimagic cone is filling an area with radio noise. Since the jamming zone has hard boundaries, an RC car outside of the jamming area is still receiving the control signal, but not the noise. Jamming disrupts the receiver, not the transmission.
In the case of magic, the "reciever" is the weave at the target location.
That isn't how spells work in dungeons and dragons.
Hmm. An interesting thought. The mechanics are pretty clear that you can concentrate in the antimagic, but to explain it narratively is more complicated.
Both mechanically and narratively, I never considered concentration to be "bearing magic" for the purposes of detect magic, so maybe that idea can be expanded on...
Well, that is an individual DM problem. Book answer: doesn't stop concentration. Hells, antimagic field is a concentration spell centered on the caster. It would be weird if it did.
The explanation is that the text of Antimagic Field doesn't say you can't concentrate on spells, so it doesn't affect your ability to concentrate on spells. There is no need to explain how magic works, since we don't have any intuition from experience that would apply to it.
It looks like it only applies to spell effects, not to the caster concentrating on the spell, so Moonbeam is not suppressed (except whatever part of it might be inside the cone.)
This is the only intelligent response in this thread.
I know that any spells inside this field are suppressed, but if for example a Druid is standing in the cone if he's holding Moonbeam does the spell get suppressed if he's in the cone but the Moonbeam itself is not?
might not help but found this in the basic rules section in the targets section "THE WEAVE OF MAGIC" which might be apply to your situation
"Spells such as antimagic field rearrange the Weave so that magic flows around, rather than through, the area affected by the spell."
also from the beholder page "Antimagic Cone. The beholder’s central eye creates an area of antimagic, as in the antimagic field spell, in a 150-foot-cone. At the start of each of its turns, the beholder decides which way the cone faces and whether the cone is active. The area works against the beholder’s own eye rays."
personally think you have to be outside the cone to initiate the spell or to move it around after that you might be able to just think of it as a the antimagic cone is just blocking the path of light
I know that any spells inside this field are suppressed, but if for example a Druid is standing in the cone if he's holding Moonbeam does the spell get suppressed if he's in the cone but the Moonbeam itself is not?
might not help but found this in the basic rules section in the targets section "THE WEAVE OF MAGIC" which might be apply to your situation
"Spells such as antimagic field rearrange the Weave so that magic flows around, rather than through, the area affected by the spell."
also from the beholder page "Antimagic Cone. The beholder’s central eye creates an area of antimagic, as in the antimagic field spell, in a 150-foot-cone. At the start of each of its turns, the beholder decides which way the cone faces and whether the cone is active. The area works against the beholder’s own eye rays."
personally think you have to be outside the cone to initiate the spell or to move it around after that you might be able to just think of it as a the antimagic cone is just blocking the path of light
Can you cite the rule that says that antimagic field suppresses effects that aren't in its area of effect?
I know that any spells inside this field are suppressed, but if for example a Druid is standing in the cone if he's holding Moonbeam does the spell get suppressed if he's in the cone but the Moonbeam itself is not?
might not help but found this in the basic rules section in the targets section "THE WEAVE OF MAGIC" which might be apply to your situation
"Spells such as antimagic field rearrange the Weave so that magic flows around, rather than through, the area affected by the spell."
also from the beholder page "Antimagic Cone. The beholder’s central eye creates an area of antimagic, as in the antimagic field spell, in a 150-foot-cone. At the start of each of its turns, the beholder decides which way the cone faces and whether the cone is active. The area works against the beholder’s own eye rays."
personally think you have to be outside the cone to initiate the spell or to move it around after that you might be able to just think of it as a the antimagic cone is just blocking the path of light
Can you cite the rule that says that antimagic field suppresses effects that aren't in its area of effect?
unsure how to cite a rule so here goes..... page 204-206 of the players handbook - The Weave of Magic, last paragraph can also be found in Basic Rules, Chapter 10 - Targeting Yourself - The Weave of Magic, last paragraph
THE WEAVE OF MAGIC
The worlds within the D&D multiverse are magical places. All existence is suffused with magical power, and potential energy lies untapped in every rock, stream, and living creature, and even in the air itself. Raw magic is the stuff of creation, the mute and mindless will of existence, permeating every bit of matter and present in every manifestation of energy throughout the multiverse.
Mortals can’t directly shape this raw magic. Instead, they make use of a fabric of magic, a kind of interface between the will of a spellcaster and the stuff of raw magic. The spellcasters of the Forgotten Realms call it the Weave and recognize its essence as the goddess Mystra, but casters have varied ways of naming and visualizing this interface. By any name, without the Weave, raw magic is locked away and inaccessible; the most powerful archmage can’t light a candle with magic in an area where the Weave has been torn. But surrounded by the Weave, a spellcaster can shape lightning to blast foes, transport hundreds of miles in the blink of an eye, or even reverse death itself.
All magic depends on the Weave, though different kinds of magic access it in a variety of ways. The spells of wizards, warlocks, sorcerers, and bards are commonly called arcane magic. These spells rely on an understanding—learned or intuitive—of the workings of the Weave. The caster plucks directly at the strands of the Weave to create the desired effect. Eldritch knights and arcane tricksters also use arcane magic. The spells of clerics, druids, paladins, and rangers are called divine magic. These spellcasters’ access to the Weave is mediated by divine power—gods, the divine forces of nature, or the sacred weight of a paladin’s oath.
Whenever a magic effect is created, the threads of the Weave intertwine, twist, and fold to make the effect possible. When characters use divination spells such as detect magic or identify, they glimpse the Weave. A spell such as dispel magic smooths the Weave. Spells such as antimagic field rearrange the Weave so that magic flows around, rather than through, the area affected by the spell. And in places where the Weave is damaged or torn, magic works in unpredictable ways—or not at all.
also keep in mind the shape of the antimagic field is a cone (in the beholders version) rather then a sphere (as it is in the spell version)
I know that any spells inside this field are suppressed, but if for example a Druid is standing in the cone if he's holding Moonbeam does the spell get suppressed if he's in the cone but the Moonbeam itself is not?
Let's have a look at the Antimagic Field spell:
It looks like it only applies to spell effects, not to the caster concentrating on the spell, so Moonbeam is not suppressed (except whatever part of it might be inside the cone.)
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
Hmm, this is a good question.
Antimagic Field doesn't describe any interaction with a creature concentrating on a spell. So that leads me to think that a strict interpretation would rule that the Moonbeam would persist.
However, the flavor of an Antimagic Field tells us that the area has been severed from the magical energy that suffuses the universe. So I think it would also be fair to rule that the caster's connection to their spell is broken and the Moonbeam is suppressed while the caster is in the field.
Hmm. An interesting thought. The mechanics are pretty clear that you can concentrate in the antimagic, but to explain it narratively is more complicated.
Both mechanically and narratively, I never considered concentration to be "bearing magic" for the purposes of detect magic, so maybe that idea can be expanded on...
Well, that is an individual DM problem. Book answer: doesn't stop concentration. Hells, antimagic field is a concentration spell centered on the caster. It would be weird if it did.
Antimagic is powerful enough, it does not need a boost. Caster concentrating does not get affected antimagic.
Note, quite a few other things are not as well. Dragon breath for example can be fired at people in anatimagic.
I would suggest that the Moonbeam can't be controlled/moved while the caster is inside the antimagic cone.
If anyone needs a way to explain this interaction, treat it like radio jamming.
The caster is transmitting a control signal to some point in space, while the Antimagic cone is filling an area with radio noise. Since the jamming zone has hard boundaries, an RC car outside of the jamming area is still receiving the control signal, but not the noise. Jamming disrupts the receiver, not the transmission.
In the case of magic, the "reciever" is the weave at the target location.
What would be fair would be using the rules in the book that the players consented to be bound by when they agreed to join the game. Those rules say : within the field's area, spells can't be cast, creatures can't be summoned, and spell effects are suppressed. They do not mention anything at all about suppressing effects outside the field, so effects outside the field are not suppressed.
That isn't how spells work in dungeons and dragons.
Why even buy a rulebook in the first place?
The explanation is that the text of Antimagic Field doesn't say you can't concentrate on spells, so it doesn't affect your ability to concentrate on spells. There is no need to explain how magic works, since we don't have any intuition from experience that would apply to it.
This is the only intelligent response in this thread.
might not help but found this in the basic rules section in the targets section "THE WEAVE OF MAGIC"
which might be apply to your situation
"Spells such as antimagic field rearrange the Weave so that magic flows around, rather than through, the area affected by the spell."
also from the beholder page
"Antimagic Cone. The beholder’s central eye creates an area of antimagic, as in the antimagic field spell, in a 150-foot-cone. At the start of each of its turns, the beholder decides which way the cone faces and whether the cone is active. The area works against the beholder’s own eye rays."
personally think you have to be outside the cone to initiate the spell or to move it around
after that you might be able to just think of it as a the antimagic cone is just blocking the path of light
Can you cite the rule that says that antimagic field suppresses effects that aren't in its area of effect?
unsure how to cite a rule so here goes.....
page 204-206 of the players handbook - The Weave of Magic, last paragraph
can also be found in Basic Rules, Chapter 10 - Targeting Yourself - The Weave of Magic, last paragraph
also keep in mind the shape of the antimagic field is a cone (in the beholders version)
rather then a sphere (as it is in the spell version)
RAW it doesn't affect concentration on things outside of the field. If it did, it would say so.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale