The familiar can’t “hold” the spell for any length of time. You cast a touch spell, and the familiar immediately uses its reaction to target something IT can touch with that spell.
There are magic items that can do what you're asking like Pearl of Power which basically gives you a free spell slot of level 3 or lower (once expended, use pearl, get back a 3rd level spell slot, or your highest slot if you don't yet have 3rd or higher level slots). There's a Ring of Spell Storing which lets you store up to 5 levels worth of spells, or, my favourites, Spell Gems. Spell Gems come in a variety of types and rarities to hold spells of up to a certain level. The wonderful thing about Spell Gems is that they let you cast the stored spell as an action instead of the normal casting time and you can give them to other people so they can cast the stored spell, even if not a spellcaster, even if it's your own familiar - thereby adding 100 ft to any spell range or a mile if using Flock of Familiars spell. And since it's a gem, you can put it into all sorts of jewellery that can be worn by a familiar (unlike Ring of Spell Storing).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
A familar allows you to cast a touch spell THROUGH the familiar. Whatever the familiar touches, it is as if your character were touching it and you can cast a touch spell with your character this way that affects the target the familiar is touching. However, the familiar doesn't store the spell, doesn't hold onto it or do anything except be a conduit for the casting of the spell. So there is no way for the familiar to "store up" a spell while you take a long rest.
As mentioned, the ring of spell storing does exactly that. You can store up to 5 total spell levels of spells into the ring and they remain there until the user of the ring chooses to cast them.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If I could do that, it would basically mean a pre-prepped spell without using a spell slot.
The familiar can’t “hold” the spell for any length of time. You cast a touch spell, and the familiar immediately uses its reaction to target something IT can touch with that spell.
As Saga said.
There are magic items that can do what you're asking like Pearl of Power which basically gives you a free spell slot of level 3 or lower (once expended, use pearl, get back a 3rd level spell slot, or your highest slot if you don't yet have 3rd or higher level slots). There's a Ring of Spell Storing which lets you store up to 5 levels worth of spells, or, my favourites, Spell Gems. Spell Gems come in a variety of types and rarities to hold spells of up to a certain level. The wonderful thing about Spell Gems is that they let you cast the stored spell as an action instead of the normal casting time and you can give them to other people so they can cast the stored spell, even if not a spellcaster, even if it's your own familiar - thereby adding 100 ft to any spell range or a mile if using Flock of Familiars spell. And since it's a gem, you can put it into all sorts of jewellery that can be worn by a familiar (unlike Ring of Spell Storing).
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
A familar allows you to cast a touch spell THROUGH the familiar. Whatever the familiar touches, it is as if your character were touching it and you can cast a touch spell with your character this way that affects the target the familiar is touching. However, the familiar doesn't store the spell, doesn't hold onto it or do anything except be a conduit for the casting of the spell. So there is no way for the familiar to "store up" a spell while you take a long rest.
As mentioned, the ring of spell storing does exactly that. You can store up to 5 total spell levels of spells into the ring and they remain there until the user of the ring chooses to cast them.