So I'm looking through spells right now in an effort to decide which ones would be useful, and I stumbled upon "Plane Shift".
Here is the spell for those who want a refresher:
You and up to eight willing creatures who link hands in a circle are transported to a different plane of existence. You can specify a target destination in general terms, such as the City of Brass on the Elemental Plane of Fire or the palace of Dispater on the second level of the Nine Hells, and you appear in or near that destination. If you are trying to reach the City of Brass, for example, you might arrive in its Street of Steel, before its Gate of Ashes, or looking at the city from across the Sea of Fire, at the GM's discretion.
Alternatively, if you know the sigil sequence of a teleportation circle on another plane of existence, this spell can take you to that circle. If the teleportation circle is too small to hold all the creatures you transported, they appear in the closest unoccupied spaces next to the circle.
You can use this spell to banish an unwilling creature to another plane. Choose a creature within your reach and make a melee spell attack against it. On a hit, the creature must make a Charisma saving throw. If the creature fails this save, it is transported to a random location on the plane of existence you specify. A creature so transported must find its own way back to your current plane of existence.
Now, my questions:
1. Can this spell be cast alone, with just the caster and no other willing creatures? It notes that you and up to 8 willing creatures can use it, but it doesn't specify that there is a minimum amount. It also says that all creatures would be linking hands in a circle, which, I guess you could argue could be done alone with your own two hands. Does this mean I could use this spell to teleport myself only?
2. The third section says it can be used to banish a creature. It makes no specification of the size or type of creature, so I assume even something as big as a dragon could be affected? On top of that, it seems to read like you are not also being banished. So can this spell be used to banish an unwilling creature, but leave you on the plane you cast it?
I feel like this spell may mostly be up to the DM's discretion, but I wanted to know if maybe I was missing something! Thanks!
So I'm looking through spells right now in an effort to decide which ones would be useful, and I stumbled upon "Plane Shift".
Here is the spell for those who want a refresher:
You and up to eight willing creatures who link hands in a circle are transported to a different plane of existence. You can specify a target destination in general terms, such as the City of Brass on the Elemental Plane of Fire or the palace of Dispater on the second level of the Nine Hells, and you appear in or near that destination. If you are trying to reach the City of Brass, for example, you might arrive in its Street of Steel, before its Gate of Ashes, or looking at the city from across the Sea of Fire, at the GM's discretion.
Alternatively, if you know the sigil sequence of a teleportation circle on another plane of existence, this spell can take you to that circle. If the teleportation circle is too small to hold all the creatures you transported, they appear in the closest unoccupied spaces next to the circle.
You can use this spell to banish an unwilling creature to another plane. Choose a creature within your reach and make a melee spell attack against it. On a hit, the creature must make a Charisma saving throw. If the creature fails this save, it is transported to a random location on the plane of existence you specify. A creature so transported must find its own way back to your current plane of existence.
Now, my questions:
1. Can this spell be cast alone, with just the caster and no other willing creatures? It notes that you and up to 8 willing creatures can use it, but it doesn't specify that there is a minimum amount. It also says that all creatures would be linking hands in a circle, which, I guess you could argue could be done alone with your own two hands. Does this mean I could use this spell to teleport myself only?
2. The third section says it can be used to banish a creature. It makes no specification of the size or type of creature, so I assume even something as big as a dragon could be affected? On top of that, it seems to read like you are not also being banished. So can this spell be used to banish an unwilling creature, but leave you on the plane you cast it?
I feel like this spell may mostly be up to the DM's discretion, but I wanted to know if maybe I was missing something! Thanks!
1. Yes. It says “you and up to” so minimum is 1, you. So feel free to plane shift by yourself.
2. the target (creature) of your melee spell attack is the only thing that gets banished. If a spell doesn’t specify criteria for said creature then it can be any creature. They go bye bye (with failed save) and you stick around waving goodbye.
So I'm looking through spells right now in an effort to decide which ones would be useful, and I stumbled upon "Plane Shift".
Here is the spell for those who want a refresher:
You and up to eight willing creatures who link hands in a circle are transported to a different plane of existence. You can specify a target destination in general terms, such as the City of Brass on the Elemental Plane of Fire or the palace of Dispater on the second level of the Nine Hells, and you appear in or near that destination. If you are trying to reach the City of Brass, for example, you might arrive in its Street of Steel, before its Gate of Ashes, or looking at the city from across the Sea of Fire, at the GM's discretion.
Alternatively, if you know the sigil sequence of a teleportation circle on another plane of existence, this spell can take you to that circle. If the teleportation circle is too small to hold all the creatures you transported, they appear in the closest unoccupied spaces next to the circle.
You can use this spell to banish an unwilling creature to another plane. Choose a creature within your reach and make a melee spell attack against it. On a hit, the creature must make a Charisma saving throw. If the creature fails this save, it is transported to a random location on the plane of existence you specify. A creature so transported must find its own way back to your current plane of existence.
Now, my questions:
1. Can this spell be cast alone, with just the caster and no other willing creatures? It notes that you and up to 8 willing creatures can use it, but it doesn't specify that there is a minimum amount. It also says that all creatures would be linking hands in a circle, which, I guess you could argue could be done alone with your own two hands. Does this mean I could use this spell to teleport myself only?
2. The third section says it can be used to banish a creature. It makes no specification of the size or type of creature, so I assume even something as big as a dragon could be affected? On top of that, it seems to read like you are not also being banished. So can this spell be used to banish an unwilling creature, but leave you on the plane you cast it?
I feel like this spell may mostly be up to the DM's discretion, but I wanted to know if maybe I was missing something! Thanks!
1. Yes. It says “you and up to” so minimum is 1, you. So feel free to plane shift by yourself.
2. the target (creature) of your melee spell attack is the only thing that gets banished. If a spell doesn’t specify criteria for said creature then it can be any creature. They go bye bye (with failed save) and you stick around waving goodbye.
Though if trying to cast this on something like a dragon you will run into legendary resistances.
(1) "Up to [amount]" means "any number from zero to [amount]". There is no minimum additional creatures for "willing" travel, but you must accompany any "group" that you teleport.
(2) If used on a single unwilling target, you do not travel with them.
It is worth noting that this appears to exclude the possibility of sending a single willing target unaccompanied, but I suspect that most DMs would handwave this and allow a single target to choose to fail the saving throw.
(1) "Up to [amount]" means "any number from zero to [amount]". There is no minimum additional creatures for "willing" travel, but you must accompany any "group" that you teleport.
(2) If used on a single unwilling target, you do not travel with them.
It is worth noting that this appears to exclude the possibility of sending a single willing target unaccompanied, but I suspect that most DMs would handwave this and allow a single target to choose to fail the saving throw.
If I was the DM that allowed that to happen, since it is up to the DM in this instance to allow the fail, I would make it very random on just where they end up if they are using it to teleport. I would also remind the players that Plane Shift isn't Teleport and shouldn't be used as such for just that reason. You are not targeting a specific place like you would if you were shifting from one Plane to another.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So I'm looking through spells right now in an effort to decide which ones would be useful, and I stumbled upon "Plane Shift".
Here is the spell for those who want a refresher:
You and up to eight willing creatures who link hands in a circle are transported to a different plane of existence. You can specify a target destination in general terms, such as the City of Brass on the Elemental Plane of Fire or the palace of Dispater on the second level of the Nine Hells, and you appear in or near that destination. If you are trying to reach the City of Brass, for example, you might arrive in its Street of Steel, before its Gate of Ashes, or looking at the city from across the Sea of Fire, at the GM's discretion.
Alternatively, if you know the sigil sequence of a teleportation circle on another plane of existence, this spell can take you to that circle. If the teleportation circle is too small to hold all the creatures you transported, they appear in the closest unoccupied spaces next to the circle.
You can use this spell to banish an unwilling creature to another plane. Choose a creature within your reach and make a melee spell attack against it. On a hit, the creature must make a Charisma saving throw. If the creature fails this save, it is transported to a random location on the plane of existence you specify. A creature so transported must find its own way back to your current plane of existence.
Now, my questions:
1. Can this spell be cast alone, with just the caster and no other willing creatures? It notes that you and up to 8 willing creatures can use it, but it doesn't specify that there is a minimum amount. It also says that all creatures would be linking hands in a circle, which, I guess you could argue could be done alone with your own two hands. Does this mean I could use this spell to teleport myself only?
2. The third section says it can be used to banish a creature. It makes no specification of the size or type of creature, so I assume even something as big as a dragon could be affected? On top of that, it seems to read like you are not also being banished. So can this spell be used to banish an unwilling creature, but leave you on the plane you cast it?
I feel like this spell may mostly be up to the DM's discretion, but I wanted to know if maybe I was missing something! Thanks!
1. Yes. It says “you and up to” so minimum is 1, you. So feel free to plane shift by yourself.
2. the target (creature) of your melee spell attack is the only thing that gets banished. If a spell doesn’t specify criteria for said creature then it can be any creature. They go bye bye (with failed save) and you stick around waving goodbye.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Though if trying to cast this on something like a dragon you will run into legendary resistances.
As previous mentioned:
(1) "Up to [amount]" means "any number from zero to [amount]". There is no minimum additional creatures for "willing" travel, but you must accompany any "group" that you teleport.
(2) If used on a single unwilling target, you do not travel with them.
It is worth noting that this appears to exclude the possibility of sending a single willing target unaccompanied, but I suspect that most DMs would handwave this and allow a single target to choose to fail the saving throw.
If I was the DM that allowed that to happen, since it is up to the DM in this instance to allow the fail, I would make it very random on just where they end up if they are using it to teleport. I would also remind the players that Plane Shift isn't Teleport and shouldn't be used as such for just that reason. You are not targeting a specific place like you would if you were shifting from one Plane to another.