This question came to me when I was looking over trying to make the drakewarden very powerful before 11th level and I realized with the beastmaster 7th lvl ability it makes the beast's atk count as magical for the purpose of overcoming magical resistance, yet idk if this means that it actually makes their atk magical. Now normally this isnt a big concern but I was curious on it for the aspect of combining your beasty atks with say the spell elemental weapon or magical weapon. If it isnt actually magical then I can do this, BUT if it is fully magical then I cant. Can anyone help clarify this for me? Thank you in advance.
Beast master: "In addition, the beast's attacks now count as magical for the purpose of overcoming resistance and immunity to nonmagical attacks and damage."
Elemental weapon: "A nonmagical weapon you touch becomes a magic weapon."
(And Sage Advise, just in case: Are natural weapons considered weapons? Things designated as weapons by the rules, including natural weapons, are indeed weapons.)
Class ability modifies the *attacks* per its own wording. Spell literally affects the weapon itself. Seems like it should work, though it's still a little bit of a grey area. Plus it's cool, right?!
This question came to me when I was looking over trying to make the drakewarden very powerful before 11th level and I realized with the beastmaster 7th lvl ability it makes the beast's atk count as magical for the purpose of overcoming magical resistance, yet idk if this means that it actually makes their atk magical. Now normally this isnt a big concern but I was curious on it for the aspect of combining your beasty atks with say the spell elemental weapon or magical weapon. If it isnt actually magical then I can do this, BUT if it is fully magical then I cant. Can anyone help clarify this for me? Thank you in advance.
My initial searching shows you're probably good.
Beast master: "In addition, the beast's attacks now count as magical for the purpose of overcoming resistance and immunity to nonmagical attacks and damage."
Elemental weapon: "A nonmagical weapon you touch becomes a magic weapon."
(And Sage Advise, just in case: Are natural weapons considered weapons? Things designated as weapons by the rules, including natural weapons, are indeed weapons.)
Class ability modifies the *attacks* per its own wording. Spell literally affects the weapon itself. Seems like it should work, though it's still a little bit of a grey area. Plus it's cool, right?!
See https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/dungeons-dragons-discussion/rules-game-mechanics/133823-what-makes-a-weapon-count-as-magic?comment=5 for continuation.
Thank you both! This does make sense and seems to fit well with the rules. Cheers!