will the mount also get the effect? If so that would be a awesome
Not unless you have a special rule letting you share the spell with them.
I don't think we have any rules preventing Ashardalon's Stride from firing on forced movement, though, so it should work when your mount forces you to move. I think.
"When you move within 5 feet of a creature or an object that isn't being worn or carried[...]"
Strictly speaking you're within 5 feet of your mount every turn that you're riding it, so seems like a DM could rule that the mount takes the damage every turn that you move.
Depends on if the DM reads that as "when you move [while] within 5 feet" or "when you [approach] within 5 feet."
"When you move within 5 feet of a creature or an object that isn't being worn or carried[...]"
Strictly speaking you're within 5 feet of your mount every turn that you're riding it, so seems like a DM could rule that the mount takes the damage every turn that you move.
Depends on if the DM reads that as "when you move [while] within 5 feet" or "when you [approach] within 5 feet."
Yeah, I think it's genuinely new wording with no precedent in the existing ruleset, so we're going to have to guess at the meaning for now. I seriously doubt it's approach, but it's reasonably likely to be "when you move to a space within" - that is, I think it's clear they want to enable dancing around inside a target's reach to trigger the effect, without requiring you to get closer. That would still imply your mount incinerates, just like your grappler does if you're dragged.
Based on the wording of the spell, no the mount does not get the effect, but they are only damaged by the spell when you move separate from the mount, as they only take damage when you move next to a creature, not when you are already within 5ft of a creature.
With Find Steed, however, your mount can benefit from the spell and you/your mount will only deal damage to each other when you separate. This combo would require some investment since neither Find Steed spells are available to a class that gets Ashardalon’s Stride.
Based on the wording of the spell, no the mount does not get the effect, but they are only damaged by the spell when you move separate from the mount, as they only take damage when you move next to a creature, not when you are already within 5ft of a creature.
With Find Steed, however, your mount can benefit from the spell and you/your mount will only deal damage to each other when you separate. This combo would require some investment since neither Find Steed spells are available to a class that gets Ashardalon’s Stride.
The billowing flames of a dragon blast from your feet, granting you explosive speed. For the duration, your speed increases by 20 feet and moving doesn't provoke opportunity attacks. When you move within 5 feet of a creature or an object that isn't being worn or carried, it takes 1d6 fire damage from your trail of heat. A creature or object can take this damage only once during a turn. At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 4th level or higher, increase your speed by 5 feet for each spell slot level above 3rd. The spell deals an additional 1d6 fire damage for each slot level above 3rd.”
The highlighted/underlined portion dictates when the damage is taken. It states when you move whitson 5ft if a creature. though a creature continues to stay next to another creature it’s mounted on, this does not Change the fact that the spaces they move into count as “within 5ft of a creature”. The damage would indeed continually damage a mount, unless that mount is immune to the damage.
I would personally rule that it doesn't damage your mount, based on the wording of the spell.
The spells specifies when you *move within* 5ft of a creature. However, when mounted you move concurrently with the mount (as long as we work under the assumption that the mount and not you is moving). Since you're moving concurrently, you can never actually be 5ft or more away from the mount so you cannot move to within 5ft of the mount so therefore it wouldn't take the damage.
Of course, this is based on my interpretation that it means when you move into a space within five of a creature as opposed to the other plausible reading that when you make any movement within 5ft of a creature it takes the damage. The phrasing of the spell technically means it could be read both ways - as I said, my personal interpretation would be the mount doesn't take the damage, but it really is a matter of personal interpretation as the meaning of words is not explicit.
I would personally rule that it doesn't damage your mount, based on the wording of the spell.
The spells specifies when you *move within* 5ft of a creature. However, when mounted you move concurrently with the mount (as long as we work under the assumption that the mount and not you is moving). Since you're moving concurrently, you can never actually be 5ft or more away from the mount so you cannot move to within 5ft of the mount so therefore it wouldn't take the damage.
Of course, this is based on my interpretation that it means when you move into a space within five of a creature as opposed to the other plausible reading that when you make any movement within 5ft of a creature it takes the damage. The phrasing of the spell technically means it could be read both ways - as I said, my personal interpretation would be the mount doesn't take the damage, but it really is a matter of personal interpretation as the meaning of words is not explicit.
That’s definitely interpretation vs raw. Moving into an area is not the same as within a distance. Nothing wrong with the ruling in my opinion. I think the indiscriminate damaging of allies and enemies is the worst part of the spell. I can’t imagine myself choosing or using the spell as written.
Another poorly worded spell, yay! I lean towards "move while within 5 feet", since they've limited the damage to once per turn anyway. To also restrict the trigger would be too much of a nerf.
The other thing to note is that the damage triggers when you move, so if you're mounted it won't trigger at all because your mount is the one moving. So no you won't incinerate your own mount while riding, only when you hop on or off.
Another poorly worded spell, yay! I lean towards "move while within 5 feet", since they've limited the damage to once per turn anyway. To also restrict the trigger would be too much of a nerf.
The other thing to note is that the damage triggers when you move, so if you're mounted it won't trigger at all because your mount is the one moving. So no you won't incinerate your own mount while riding, only when you hop on or off.
You can move and be moved without using your movement. the spell dictates that you damage creatures and objects when you move within 5ft of them. A mount is an easy way to move without actually using your own movement. teleportation, shoving, falling, and pulling are other ways to move or be moved that don’t use movement. I’m sure there are more.
To me the big issue is let's say you are a bard. At level 10 you get Magical Secrets. Let's say I pick up Find Greater Steed and Stride. I cast the spell on me and that says the mount also gets it.
So this has a lot of possibilities.
Do we damage each other every turn.
But even more important is...
The spell says a creature can't be damaged by this more than once each turn.
Does this mean once from me and once from my mount? Or does it mean Ashardalon's Stride can only damage this creature once each turn? Like if I'm on a griffin and we swoop down it's in range of both of us. So how does that work?
As I read it it’s self only and all about you running around doing damage so I would rule that you couldn’t use it when mounted - you caste the spell, it fizzles and you lost the slot for trying excess shenanigans.
Of course you are free to research a new spell that is touch and affects a mount granting it the equivalent fact while not damaging the rider - but that would be a separate spell that would cost a fair amount of in game down time and effort to develop. Generally hen you start trying to bend rules and descriptions into pretzels it’s time to creat3 a new spell not turn the old ne not a contortionist.
The english is clear. As you highlighted When you move within 5 feet of a creature. The creature/mount was already within 5 feet when you cast it and will still be within 5 feet when it moves since you move with it. The mount won't take damage, nor will the creature that you ended the last turn next to. Your space/distance doesn't change. That said the tables DM is the law!
Your space does change. Matching speeds with a mount because you’re mounted seems to just ensure you’re moving within 5ft the entire movement, and on any movement. Being forced to move away from the mount does a similar thing, though I would imagine teleportation avoids this. Being pushed 20ft away from the mount you’re on would seem to count as moving within 5ft of the mount for the initial distance. The creature that’s probably next to you pushing you would take damage too.
will the mount also get the effect? If so that would be a awesome
Not unless you have a special rule letting you share the spell with them.
I don't think we have any rules preventing Ashardalon's Stride from firing on forced movement, though, so it should work when your mount forces you to move. I think.
"When you move within 5 feet of a creature or an object that isn't being worn or carried[...]"
Strictly speaking you're within 5 feet of your mount every turn that you're riding it, so seems like a DM could rule that the mount takes the damage every turn that you move.
Depends on if the DM reads that as "when you move [while] within 5 feet" or "when you [approach] within 5 feet."
Yeah, I think it's genuinely new wording with no precedent in the existing ruleset, so we're going to have to guess at the meaning for now. I seriously doubt it's approach, but it's reasonably likely to be "when you move to a space within" - that is, I think it's clear they want to enable dancing around inside a target's reach to trigger the effect, without requiring you to get closer. That would still imply your mount incinerates, just like your grappler does if you're dragged.
The spell would work while on a mount.
the spell would also continually damage the mount once per turn if you move or are moved within 5ft of the mount.
the drakewardens drake can have immunity to fire damage if you wanna ride the mount.
phantom steed can be used, it has low hitpoints but it takes a full minute for the horse to actually dissipate in a combat.
High level beast master would be able to share the spell, but the beast and ranger could damage each other or allies with reckless movement.
Based on the wording of the spell, no the mount does not get the effect, but they are only damaged by the spell when you move separate from the mount, as they only take damage when you move next to a creature, not when you are already within 5ft of a creature.
With Find Steed, however, your mount can benefit from the spell and you/your mount will only deal damage to each other when you separate. This combo would require some investment since neither Find Steed spells are available to a class that gets Ashardalon’s Stride.
The billowing flames of a dragon blast from your feet, granting you explosive speed. For the duration, your speed increases by 20 feet and moving doesn't provoke opportunity attacks.
When you move within 5 feet of a creature or an object that isn't being worn or carried, it takes 1d6 fire damage from your trail of heat. A creature or object can take this damage only once during a turn.
At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 4th level or higher, increase your speed by 5 feet for each spell slot level above 3rd. The spell deals an additional 1d6 fire damage for each slot level above 3rd.”
The highlighted/underlined portion dictates when the damage is taken. It states when you move whitson 5ft if a creature. though a creature continues to stay next to another creature it’s mounted on, this does not Change the fact that the spaces they move into count as “within 5ft of a creature”. The damage would indeed continually damage a mount, unless that mount is immune to the damage.
I would personally rule that it doesn't damage your mount, based on the wording of the spell.
The spells specifies when you *move within* 5ft of a creature. However, when mounted you move concurrently with the mount (as long as we work under the assumption that the mount and not you is moving). Since you're moving concurrently, you can never actually be 5ft or more away from the mount so you cannot move to within 5ft of the mount so therefore it wouldn't take the damage.
Of course, this is based on my interpretation that it means when you move into a space within five of a creature as opposed to the other plausible reading that when you make any movement within 5ft of a creature it takes the damage. The phrasing of the spell technically means it could be read both ways - as I said, my personal interpretation would be the mount doesn't take the damage, but it really is a matter of personal interpretation as the meaning of words is not explicit.
That’s definitely interpretation vs raw. Moving into an area is not the same as within a distance. Nothing wrong with the ruling in my opinion. I think the indiscriminate damaging of allies and enemies is the worst part of the spell. I can’t imagine myself choosing or using the spell as written.
Another poorly worded spell, yay! I lean towards "move while within 5 feet", since they've limited the damage to once per turn anyway. To also restrict the trigger would be too much of a nerf.
The other thing to note is that the damage triggers when you move, so if you're mounted it won't trigger at all because your mount is the one moving. So no you won't incinerate your own mount while riding, only when you hop on or off.
You can move and be moved without using your movement. the spell dictates that you damage creatures and objects when you move within 5ft of them. A mount is an easy way to move without actually using your own movement. teleportation, shoving, falling, and pulling are other ways to move or be moved that don’t use movement. I’m sure there are more.
To me the big issue is let's say you are a bard. At level 10 you get Magical Secrets. Let's say I pick up Find Greater Steed and Stride. I cast the spell on me and that says the mount also gets it.
So this has a lot of possibilities.
Do we damage each other every turn.
But even more important is...
The spell says a creature can't be damaged by this more than once each turn.
Does this mean once from me and once from my mount? Or does it mean Ashardalon's Stride can only damage this creature once each turn? Like if I'm on a griffin and we swoop down it's in range of both of us. So how does that work?
And thank you.
As I read it it’s self only and all about you running around doing damage so I would rule that you couldn’t use it when mounted - you caste the spell, it fizzles and you lost the slot for trying excess shenanigans.
Wisea$$ DM and Player since 1979.
Of course you are free to research a new spell that is touch and affects a mount granting it the equivalent fact while not damaging the rider - but that would be a separate spell that would cost a fair amount of in game down time and effort to develop. Generally hen you start trying to bend rules and descriptions into pretzels it’s time to creat3 a new spell not turn the old ne not a contortionist.
Wisea$$ DM and Player since 1979.
The english is clear. As you highlighted When you move within 5 feet of a creature. The creature/mount was already within 5 feet when you cast it and will still be within 5 feet when it moves since you move with it. The mount won't take damage, nor will the creature that you ended the last turn next to. Your space/distance doesn't change. That said the tables DM is the law!
Your space does change. Matching speeds with a mount because you’re mounted seems to just ensure you’re moving within 5ft the entire movement, and on any movement. Being forced to move away from the mount does a similar thing, though I would imagine teleportation avoids this. Being pushed 20ft away from the mount you’re on would seem to count as moving within 5ft of the mount for the initial distance. The creature that’s probably next to you pushing you would take damage too.