So, recently I played a session where a player cast a spell. I forget which one, so let's say Ice Knife. They hit the attack, used quickened spell and twinned spell to cast it twice as a bonus action. The enemy used shield, and the player used counterspell. But wait! This is all on the player's turn. You cant cast more than 1 non cantrip spell on your turn. So, does this work? Can he use counterspell?
(Note: Probably wasn't Ice Knife. Just was a spell over 1st level and needed an attack roll.)
The short answer is "no" because of the reasons you have already stated. While Counterspell only requires an reaction to cast, the casting rules will still prevent the casting because of the "no more than 1 non-cantrip spell on your turn" rule.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"The mongoose blew out its candle and was asleep in bed before the room went dark." —Llanowar fable
The so called "only 1 non-cantrip" ONLY applies when having cast a bonus action spell, and only affect what you can do with your action.
Counterspell is cast with your reaction and as such is not prevented by having cast any other spell, unles it was a bonus action spell. regardless of ifif t other spell was a bonus action or not.
Edit: I could swear I had this right, but bonus action spells are weird.
Spells cast with a Bonus Action specifically states you can’t cast another spell during the same turn unless it is a cantrip.
Twinned Spell doesn’t say it casts as a bonus action. Instead it says it targets a second creature. Spending sorcery points is an ability that uses a bonus action but is not a casting time for a spell.
I’d say RAW the player can do it this way because the twinned spell was not cast as a bonus action but rather an ability was used to spend sorcery points to enhance an existing spell.
If the meta magic was Quickened Spell then I’d rule against the player because that meta magic changes the spell casting time to bonus action, which triggers the clause that no more spells but a cantrip.
Without even looking at the spells the sorcerer shouldn't of been able to put two metamagics on the same spell casting. There's only one exception, and the option states as such.
For the spells, counterspell is usable on the casters turn regardless of what else he might have cast. But! Yes. He shouldn't of been able to cast ice knife twice as he did.
Without even looking at the spells the sorcerer shouldn't of been able to put two metamagics on the same spell casting. There's only one exception, and the option states as such.
For the spells, counterspell is usable on the casters turn regardless of what else he might have cast. But! Yes. He shouldn't of been able to cast ice knife twice as he did.
I just reread the post, was thinking he meant used either one or the other. To your point he can only have one meta magic. If it was Twinned I would’ve allowed it and if it was quickened I wouldn’t. I wouldn’t let both since it says clearly you can only have one.
Well it works like this as per Jeremy Crawford Wizard "A" is casting Fireball, Sorcerer "B" see's this and casts Counterspell, Wizard "A" see's that and while casting Fireball is allowed to cast Counterspell to interrupt Sorcerer "B" so he cannot complete his casting of Counterspell. So Wizard "A" has his Fireball go boom on Sorcerer "B", I know its confusing but Counterspell can be cast while casting another spell. I believe it is the only exception 2 the rule of 1 leveled spell in a round but it could be due to the fact it is a reaction spell. This is also why that a rogue with the Sentinel Feat or otherwise gets an attack of opportunity if he hits can apply Surprise damage even if he already used it, as a reaction is not on your turn but their turn. But in rereading the opening post the enemy can cast shield or counterspell not both as both are reaction spells and you only get 1 reaction a round.
I just reread the post, was thinking he meant used either one or the other. To your point he can only have one meta magic. If it was Twinned I would’ve allowed it and if it was quickened I wouldn’t. I wouldn’t let both since it says clearly you can only have one.
Something else worth pointing out is that Ice Knife can't be twinned anyways.
I believe it is the only exception 2 the rule of 1 leveled spell in a round but it could be due to the fact it is a reaction spell.
Like Twooshort and BySavras said, there's no such rule. There's a rule for bonus action spells, which doesn't apply if you're not casting one. Using Quickened Spell would've locked the player out of casting reaction spells for the rest of their turn, but if they didn't cast bonus action spells there's no problem.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
The Forum Infestation (TM)
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So, recently I played a session where a player cast a spell. I forget which one, so let's say Ice Knife. They hit the attack, used quickened spell and twinned spell to cast it twice as a bonus action. The enemy used shield, and the player used counterspell. But wait! This is all on the player's turn. You cant cast more than 1 non cantrip spell on your turn. So, does this work? Can he use counterspell?
(Note: Probably wasn't Ice Knife. Just was a spell over 1st level and needed an attack roll.)
The short answer is "no" because of the reasons you have already stated. While Counterspell only requires an reaction to cast, the casting rules will still prevent the casting because of the "no more than 1 non-cantrip spell on your turn" rule.
The so called "only 1 non-cantrip" ONLY applies when having cast a bonus action spell,
and only affect what you can do with your action.Counterspell is cast with your reaction and as such is not prevented by having cast any other spell, unles it was a bonus action spell.
regardless of ifif t other spell was a bonus action or not.Edit: I could swear I had this right, but bonus action spells are weird.
I am one with the Force. The Force is with me.
It’s condusing, but you can use your reaction to cast a spell and also use your action to cast a spell in the same round
Casting Time
Professional computer geek
Spells cast with a Bonus Action specifically states you can’t cast another spell during the same turn unless it is a cantrip.
Twinned Spell doesn’t say it casts as a bonus action. Instead it says it targets a second creature. Spending sorcery points is an ability that uses a bonus action but is not a casting time for a spell.
I’d say RAW the player can do it this way because the twinned spell was not cast as a bonus action but rather an ability was used to spend sorcery points to enhance an existing spell.
If the meta magic was Quickened Spell then I’d rule against the player because that meta magic changes the spell casting time to bonus action, which triggers the clause that no more spells but a cantrip.
Without even looking at the spells the sorcerer shouldn't of been able to put two metamagics on the same spell casting. There's only one exception, and the option states as such.
For the spells, counterspell is usable on the casters turn regardless of what else he might have cast. But! Yes. He shouldn't of been able to cast ice knife twice as he did.
I just reread the post, was thinking he meant used either one or the other. To your point he can only have one meta magic. If it was Twinned I would’ve allowed it and if it was quickened I wouldn’t. I wouldn’t let both since it says clearly you can only have one.
I'm still confused on how quickened spell let the caster cast two bonus action attack spells in the same round.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Well it works like this as per Jeremy Crawford Wizard "A" is casting Fireball, Sorcerer "B" see's this and casts Counterspell, Wizard "A" see's that and while casting Fireball is allowed to cast Counterspell to interrupt Sorcerer "B" so he cannot complete his casting of Counterspell. So Wizard "A" has his Fireball go boom on Sorcerer "B", I know its confusing but Counterspell can be cast while casting another spell. I believe it is the only exception 2 the rule of 1 leveled spell in a round but it could be due to the fact it is a reaction spell. This is also why that a rogue with the Sentinel Feat or otherwise gets an attack of opportunity if he hits can apply Surprise damage even if he already used it, as a reaction is not on your turn but their turn. But in rereading the opening post the enemy can cast shield or counterspell not both as both are reaction spells and you only get 1 reaction a round.
There are two casters, Counterspell is for Shield, not the same caster.
(sorry not sure what’s up with the quote text)
Something else worth pointing out is that Ice Knife can't be twinned anyways.
Like Twooshort and BySavras said, there's no such rule. There's a rule for bonus action spells, which doesn't apply if you're not casting one. Using Quickened Spell would've locked the player out of casting reaction spells for the rest of their turn, but if they didn't cast bonus action spells there's no problem.
The Forum Infestation (TM)