I went through several (but not all) of the threads and couldn't find an answer, so maybe someone can point me to an official answer or offer advice.
With my Hexblade, with the Hex Warrior feature, I can imbue one weapon as a Hexblade weapon. At 3rd level, I can also summon a weapon as my Pact of the Blade weapon. I took Improved Pact of the Blade to be able to have a longbow (I'm going Gloom Stalker after this). So, can I have my longsword as my Hexblade weapon and summon a longbow as my Pact weapon, therefore having two weapons Hexed weapons? It looks possible, and it isn't like I'm dual-wielding rapiers or anything (but why wouldn't it do it for that, too?) and trying just to get overpowered. Just want a melee and a distance weapon. (Yes, I know Eldritch Blast is a great distance damage dealer...this is thematic).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Been doing this DND stuff since the late 70's...yeah, from the original DnD. Not even the Advanced DnD stuff. Been there, done that...failed that "I only fail on a 1" saving throw.
Technically, yes. Both use charisma modifier for attacks, as hex warrior says: 'If you later take the pact of the blade, then this extends to every weapon you summon'. It may seem strong, but that is the idea.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
'The Cleverness of mushrooms always surprises me!' - Ivern Bramblefoot.
Technically, yes. Both use charisma modifier for attacks, as hex warrior says: 'If you later take the pact of the blade, then this extends to every weapon you summon'. It may seem strong, but that is the idea.
This. Hex Warrior works with your pact weapon and one other weapon, but invocations like Eldritch Smite, Improved Pact Weapon or Thirsting Blade will only work with your pact weapon.
Hex Warrior is deliberately designed to enable two-weapon fighting, but most of the work is still going to be done by your pact weapon.
What's key to remember is that your hex weapon is /not/ your pact weapon. So you can have your hex weapon as a longsword as you suggest, and a longbow as your pact weapon and use charisma for both; however you cannot use anything that requires your PACT weapon...with your longsword.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Yes, however wouldn't the dual weapon rules still apply to the off hand attack with the second weapon not having bonuses since the class doesn't have two weapon fighting feature?
Yes, however wouldn't the dual weapon rules still apply to the off hand attack with the second weapon not having bonuses since the class doesn't have two weapon fighting feature?
Correct. The rules surrounding two weapon fighting still applies when it comes to adding a modifier to the damage roll. The overall design for Hexblade more just is meant to ensure that your casting modifier also can be your weapon modifier and be applied beyond a single weapon once you hit 3rd level.
As a DM, I'd say no. You only get one active Pact Weapon at a time.
But, it's up to your DM in the end.
he isn't talking about multiple pact weapons, he is talking about one pact weapon and one hexblade weapon, which is perfectly fine and within the rules.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I went through several (but not all) of the threads and couldn't find an answer, so maybe someone can point me to an official answer or offer advice.
With my Hexblade, with the Hex Warrior feature, I can imbue one weapon as a Hexblade weapon. At 3rd level, I can also summon a weapon as my Pact of the Blade weapon. I took Improved Pact of the Blade to be able to have a longbow (I'm going Gloom Stalker after this). So, can I have my longsword as my Hexblade weapon and summon a longbow as my Pact weapon, therefore having two weapons Hexed weapons? It looks possible, and it isn't like I'm dual-wielding rapiers or anything (but why wouldn't it do it for that, too?) and trying just to get overpowered. Just want a melee and a distance weapon. (Yes, I know Eldritch Blast is a great distance damage dealer...this is thematic).
Been doing this DND stuff since the late 70's...yeah, from the original DnD. Not even the Advanced DnD stuff. Been there, done that...failed that "I only fail on a 1" saving throw.
As a DM, I'd say no. You only get one active Pact Weapon at a time.
But, it's up to your DM in the end.
Technically, yes. Both use charisma modifier for attacks, as hex warrior says: 'If you later take the pact of the blade, then this extends to every weapon you summon'. It may seem strong, but that is the idea.
'The Cleverness of mushrooms always surprises me!' - Ivern Bramblefoot.
I'll worldbuild for your DnD games!
Just a D&D enjoyer, check out my fiverr page if you need any worldbuilding done for ya!
This. Hex Warrior works with your pact weapon and one other weapon, but invocations like Eldritch Smite, Improved Pact Weapon or Thirsting Blade will only work with your pact weapon.
Hex Warrior is deliberately designed to enable two-weapon fighting, but most of the work is still going to be done by your pact weapon.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Technically, no you can't have two Pact Weapons.
But technically, yes you can have one weapon as your Hexblade Weapon and a different weapon as your Pact Weapon.
DICE FALL, EVERYONE ROCKS!
What's key to remember is that your hex weapon is /not/ your pact weapon. So you can have your hex weapon as a longsword as you suggest, and a longbow as your pact weapon and use charisma for both; however you cannot use anything that requires your PACT weapon...with your longsword.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
Yes, however wouldn't the dual weapon rules still apply to the off hand attack with the second weapon not having bonuses since the class doesn't have two weapon fighting feature?
Correct. The rules surrounding two weapon fighting still applies when it comes to adding a modifier to the damage roll. The overall design for Hexblade more just is meant to ensure that your casting modifier also can be your weapon modifier and be applied beyond a single weapon once you hit 3rd level.
he isn't talking about multiple pact weapons, he is talking about one pact weapon and one hexblade weapon, which is perfectly fine and within the rules.