Why is it that a Wizards intelligence modifier doesn't affect the amount of spells or spell slots that he can cast? In AD&D a wizards intelligence affected the amount of spells he could learn and scribe into his spell book, it also affected how many spells he could cast and the saving throw against his spell. Doesn't it make sense that a wizard with 18 intelligence would have a few more spells in his spell book, be able to cast a few more spells and those spells would be a little harder to resist, than a wizard with a 16 intelligence? Why does 5E say that your intelligence modifier affects the amount of spells you can memorize, but not the amount of spells you can cast? The way I read the players handbook an eighth level wizard with intelligence of 20 is restricted to casting the same amount of spells as an eighth level wizard with an intelligence of 16.
They wanted to make balancing easier and so spellcasting is turned into a distinct streamlined system that works similar for most classes. There's less dependency on the skill attribute to make it easier for multiclassing, better for introducing future subclasses or builds less reliant on it, and makes the structure more compatible for working into different classes. Everyone gets to cast the same if they're full spellcasters, and similar such things.
The point was to be different than previous editions, because if you're just going to be doing the same thing, why bother with a new edition? 5e is very different than previous editions, as was 4th, 3rd, 2nd AD&D and so on. They're all different, so it's a fruitless endeavour to ponder why things in this edition work differently to previous ones.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Why is it that a Wizards intelligence modifier doesn't affect the amount of spells or spell slots that he can cast? In AD&D a wizards intelligence affected the amount of spells he could learn and scribe into his spell book, it also affected how many spells he could cast and the saving throw against his spell. Doesn't it make sense that a wizard with 18 intelligence would have a few more spells in his spell book, be able to cast a few more spells and those spells would be a little harder to resist, than a wizard with a 16 intelligence? Why does 5E say that your intelligence modifier affects the amount of spells you can memorize, but not the amount of spells you can cast? The way I read the players handbook an eighth level wizard with intelligence of 20 is restricted to casting the same amount of spells as an eighth level wizard with an intelligence of 16.
Thanks
Because the designers chose it.
They wanted to make balancing easier and so spellcasting is turned into a distinct streamlined system that works similar for most classes. There's less dependency on the skill attribute to make it easier for multiclassing, better for introducing future subclasses or builds less reliant on it, and makes the structure more compatible for working into different classes. Everyone gets to cast the same if they're full spellcasters, and similar such things.
The point was to be different than previous editions, because if you're just going to be doing the same thing, why bother with a new edition? 5e is very different than previous editions, as was 4th, 3rd, 2nd AD&D and so on. They're all different, so it's a fruitless endeavour to ponder why things in this edition work differently to previous ones.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Because it makes no sense that a more intelligent person can write more things in a book?
Remembering them as prepared spells however, that does make sense...just like indeed how hard they are to resist.
Total spells cast/day was indeed streamlined for class balance, which I completely understand.
It does make a difference in how many spells you can have prepared.