Is there an official ruling somewhere that on if the resistance removal aspect from the Elemental Adept feat is applied when your familiar uses the breath attack while under the effects of the Dragon's Breath spell?
To quote the given info from the PHB on Dragon's Breath:
"You touch one willing creature and imbue it with the power to spew magical energy from its mouth, provided it has one. Choose acid, cold, fire, lightning, or poison. Until the spell ends, the creature can use an action to exhale energy of the chosen type in a 15-foot cone. Each creature in that area must make a Dexterity saving throw, taking 3d6 damage of the chosen type on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one."
And from info on the Elemental Adept feat from the PHB:
"Spells you cast ignore resistance to damage of the chosen type. In addition, when you roll damage for a spell you cast that deals damage of that type, you can treat any 1 on a damage die as a 2."
The highlighted text makes me think otherwise. But I am unsure, as you DO cast the spell initially, but it is the target of the spell that activates the damage.
Would like to hear thought from others on this one.
I don't feel like it would benefit from the elemental adept feat. "You touch one willing creature and imbue it with the power to spew magical energy from its mouth" After you cast the spell it is the other creature using the spell. I wouldn't as a player expect it to work, and as a DM I would allow it.
After you cast the spell it is the other creature using the spell.
The part of the feat that causes spells to ignore resistance doesn't care who's using the spell's effects. The part about rerolling 1s and 2s can only be done by the caster.
After you cast the spell it is the other creature using the spell.
The part of the feat that causes spells to ignore resistance doesn't care who's using the spell's effects. The part about rerolling 1s and 2s can only be done by the caster.
Spells you Cast is the key here. If you cast the spell the adept feature is grandfathered in to whomever you cast it on as they aren't casting the spell just activating it. Its like Call Lightning you cast the spell and concentrate on it but past the initial casting the spell is simply maintained and activated at will. So if the elemental adapt is concentrating on the spell whoever is enjoying the effect gets the bonus.
is the spell you cast doing the damage, or the magical energy (a thing) that the creature is imbued with doing the damage? When a druid summons a bear and the bear attacks, does the bear do the damage or the druid?
is the spell you cast doing the damage, or the magical energy (a thing) that the creature is imbued with doing the damage? When a druid summons a bear and the bear attacks, does the bear do the damage or the druid?
Think of it like this. A wizard with elemental adept casts a unique version of dragons breath that has this quirk along with all other spells they cast with that element. The wizard is still the one maintaining concentration on the spell and the DC for the Dex save is the wizards INT mod. It is still the spell they cast so the benefit should transfer to the one he is actively buffing.
To use your example, if a 6th level shepherd druid summons a bear and the bear attacks the attack is magical thanks to the unique quirk shepherd druids have that enhance all spells that summon fey or beast creatures.
Is there an official ruling somewhere that on if the resistance removal aspect from the Elemental Adept feat is applied when your familiar uses the breath attack while under the effects of the Dragon's Breath spell?
To quote the given info from the PHB on Dragon's Breath:
"You touch one willing creature and imbue it with the power to spew magical energy from its mouth, provided it has one. Choose acid, cold, fire, lightning, or poison. Until the spell ends, the creature can use an action to exhale energy of the chosen type in a 15-foot cone. Each creature in that area must make a Dexterity saving throw, taking 3d6 damage of the chosen type on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one."
And from info on the Elemental Adept feat from the PHB:
"Spells you cast ignore resistance to damage of the chosen type. In addition, when you roll damage for a spell you cast that deals damage of that type, you can treat any 1 on a damage die as a 2."
The highlighted text makes me think otherwise. But I am unsure, as you DO cast the spell initially, but it is the target of the spell that activates the damage.
Would like to hear thought from others on this one.
I don't feel like it would benefit from the elemental adept feat. "You touch one willing creature and imbue it with the power to spew magical energy from its mouth" After you cast the spell it is the other creature using the spell. I wouldn't as a player expect it to work, and as a DM I would allow it.
The part of the feat that causes spells to ignore resistance doesn't care who's using the spell's effects. The part about rerolling 1s and 2s can only be done by the caster.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
This is what I was thinking.
Spells you Cast is the key here. If you cast the spell the adept feature is grandfathered in to whomever you cast it on as they aren't casting the spell just activating it. Its like Call Lightning you cast the spell and concentrate on it but past the initial casting the spell is simply maintained and activated at will. So if the elemental adapt is concentrating on the spell whoever is enjoying the effect gets the bonus.
Thanks for the replies. Rolling an evocation wizard for the first time and this will help with some ideas I have.
I believe the only part that won’t work is the part of treating the 1s on Dies as 2s.
they would not get that but otherwise it works as you thought.
Blank
is the spell you cast doing the damage, or the magical energy (a thing) that the creature is imbued with doing the damage? When a druid summons a bear and the bear attacks, does the bear do the damage or the druid?
Guide to the Five Factions (PWYW)
Deck of Decks
Think of it like this. A wizard with elemental adept casts a unique version of dragons breath that has this quirk along with all other spells they cast with that element. The wizard is still the one maintaining concentration on the spell and the DC for the Dex save is the wizards INT mod. It is still the spell they cast so the benefit should transfer to the one he is actively buffing.
To use your example, if a 6th level shepherd druid summons a bear and the bear attacks the attack is magical thanks to the unique quirk shepherd druids have that enhance all spells that summon fey or beast creatures.
It's the wizard's spell, but the familiar's action after it's cast. Elemental Adept applies.