You gain a +3 bonus to attack rolls and damage rolls made with this magic weapon. It has the Thrown property with a normal range of 20 feet and a long range of 60 feet. When you hit with a ranged attack using this weapon, it deals an extra 1d8 Force damage, or an extra 2d8 Force damage if the target is a Giant. Immediately after hitting or missing, the weapon flies back to your hand.
Proficiency with a Warhammer allows you to add your proficiency bonus to the attack roll for any attack you make with it.
This weapon has the following mastery property. To use this property, you must have a feature that lets you use it.
Push. If you hit a creature with this weapon, you can push the creature up to 10 feet straight away from yourself if it is Large or smaller.
Notes: Bonus: Magic, Damage: Additional, Damage: Additional, Dwarf or a Creature Attuned to a Belt of Dwarvenkind, Damage, Combat, Versatile, Push
awsome
Requires attunement by a dwarf it never says that the dwarf has to be the one using it so you could have a dwarf Monk or minister priests paladin whatever a tune it to you to your character of A different race rules of written says it has to be attuned by a dwarf never says that it has to be the one wearing it or using it
You have to have the thing equipped to attune to it. So no dice here, good try though.
Don't be afraid to remove the attunement by a dwarf requirement, this thing is so much fun and should be used by anyone that's willing to attune
This is a bizarre take, it's easier to just homebrew off the Dwarven recquirement.
I am unclear on what a giant is. Examples, 1) monster type = giant, 2) description contains giant (such as a giant elk), 3) monster name contains giant (such as storm giant), 4) empyrean (one of the true giants)
though the idea of it coming back only came from the marvel comics.
This is Mjölnir, Marvel has nothing to do with Norse Mythology.
I would, the belt gives you dwarven features as best it can- might aswell help it out right ;)?
Dwarven features doesn't make you a dwarf
Even if a dwarf attuned it and you used it, it would return to the dwarfs hand, and you would treat it as a normal weapon. Attunement only works for the actual attuned player, not for anyone else.
Here's a dirty trick: show your players this item's art when describing loot, and watch them get all excited and then confused when they realize they can barely lift the hammer as a DC 10 History check reveals that it's a purely ceremonial weapon
Thor and Mjolnir have been around a lot longer than D&D and Marvel
Now, the 2024 version allows it to attune to someone attuned to a Belt of Dwarvenkind!!
In the DMG (not DndBeyond) on page 256, the item says "(Requires Attunement by a Dwarf or a Creature Attuned to a Belt of Dwarvenkind)"
No idea why it's not on DndBeyond, but probably an oversight.
But not older than Nordic mythology
No, I think it'd actually be 4d8, because its 1d8 bludgeoning from the hammer, 1d8 force damage from throwing, and then the ADDITIONAL 2d8 force damage when throwing at a giant.
Notice that it says "OR 2d8 Force damage if the target is a Giant." So it would be indeed 2d8 when thrown, or 3d8 when thrown against a Giant.
It's example 1 monster type = giant