Wondrous Item, rare
This necklace has 1d6 + 3 beads hanging from it. You can use an action to detach a bead and throw it up to 60 feet away. When it reaches the end of its trajectory, the bead detonates as a 3rd-level fireball spell (save DC 15).
You can hurl multiple beads, or even the whole necklace, as one action. When you do so, increase the level of the fireball by 1 for each bead beyond the first.
Notes: Damage, Combat, Jewelry







-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 5, 2019Ah, yes... One of the most devastating items in the right hands. And the right hands are:
Why? Because:
Using this item isn't casting a spell. You can't cast 2 spells in one turn, regardless of metamagic or action surge, BUT the necklace doesn't make you cast a spell - it just reproduces a spell (as opposed to, say, Wand of Fireballs, which indeed makes you actually cast a spell).
Therefore:
And last, but certainly not least, a pinnacle of action economy:
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 14, 2019Cast 4 firballs in a turn. first action, throw a fireball, second action (from a haste spell) throw a fireball, third action (action surge) throw a fireball, bonus action (quickened spell) cast fireball.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 16, 2019Alas, Haste doesn't provide the option. You can use the action provided by Haste to "Use an Object", but this type of action can't be used to Activate Magical Object (those are two separate action types, precisely for balance purposes).
That's why I haven't included Rogue, Thief archetype in my post. Thieves get "Fast Hands" feature, which allows them to Use an Object as a Bonus Action, but they don't qualify to toss a necklace bead as a Bonus Action.
EDIT: That's why Action Surge is so powerful here. It just gives you an action of any type, without restrictions.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 27, 2020What would you say a fair trade price for this item would be?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 23, 2020A Pact of the Chain Warlock with Flock of Familiars spell could have up to 3 active familiars who each act on their own. If the warlock gives each of the familiars to take a bead from the necklace and orders them to attack the BBEG with it, that would mean 4 Fireballs in 1 turn/round.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted May 16, 2020You can totally cast two spells in one turn, especially with action surge.
Action-Cast fireball
Action surge action-Cast Fireball
Metal Magic will let you cast fireball as a bonus action and firebolt as an action also but I am going to guess that you weren't considering cantrips as "spells" when you wrote that which fair
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted May 20, 2020Depends on your party's murderhobo tendencies. More murderhobo = more expensive.
Since it doesn't recharge, you're fair to make it affordable if you just want them to have the option of disposable fireball. What would you charge for a scroll of fireball? Scale it off that.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jun 2, 2020I don't understand, mechanically, since this isn't spell casting....you're throwing an object like a dagger...if you have multiattack as action like fighters, bards, ect you should be able to throw two per action or if the DM wants to make more challenging...one as an action and one as bonus action. It's just throwing a bead, not reloading a crossbow or casting a spell.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jun 2, 2020I see your agrument with action surge, but like you said, this isn't casting a spell, so sorcerers metamagic or quicken "spell" don't apply. Anyone hasted should be throw two as the rule stands or three if you use action surge. I just still argue that if you have multiattack and can throw two daggers per action you should be able to throw two beads.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Aug 29, 2020So basically magic hand grenade. I can see this as useful for any elite military groups based off modern infantry the party encounters...
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 7, 2020Thief rogue can throw a bead as a bonus action and a normal action. Every turn. Until you run out of beads that is.
Edit: I noticed this was mentioned up top. But I'm curious what makes this using a magic item? You're literally throwing a rock.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 27, 2020That rock is a magic item... So raw it's using a magic item. Now I would use rule of cool and totally let someone just let lose and throw them.
Edit
Also the item itself states that detaching a bead and throwing it is an action. Tossing multiple beads at once increases the damage not the size or number of targets.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 19, 2020Yep. I’m a dm in a campaign of DoIP into RoT, and tief warlock decided to throw 7 of the beads (rolled a 6 on the number of beads) at the adult white dragon. 9th level fireball obliterated the dragon because it failed the save.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 26, 2020Incendiary grenade necklace! :D
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 20, 2020You can cast more than one spell. You can just not cast a level spell if you use a bonus action spell. You can totally cast 2 fireballs with action surge.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Feb 20, 2021One of my party shot a arrow with a Bead of Fireball attached at a white dragon. And got a critical hit, I recall.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 4, 2021No one seems to point out that this, by expanding 8 beads or more, is possibly the only way to cast any spell above 9th level.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 19, 20211d6+3 beads mean there is a maximum level of 9, nothing says beads from multiple necklaces work together... besides, it'd be more cost-effective to do it as individual necklaces as each additional bead is only 1 extra D6 of damage, where the first bead is effectively 8d6 worth of damage.
I've always thought fireball scaled poorly.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 20, 2021Fireball is 3rd level spell, so if you spend 8 or more beads, you will cast it at level higher than 9(3+7 upcast).
Inefficient? yes. But sometimes dealing high damage in short time is higher priority. Also I just find it interesting that this is one of the two ways to cast anything at 10th or more level.
(The other being a cleric casting a 9th level spell while benefitting from Book of Exalted Deeds, which counts as 10th level)
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 7, 2021My Wildfire Druid has this thing re-skined a string of pinecones that incinerate on impact ... a pine-grenade basically. It's a great item.