You can use an action to speak this staff's command word and throw the staff on the ground within 10 feet of you. The staff becomes a giant constrictor snake under your control and acts on its own initiative count. By using a bonus action to speak the command word again, you return the staff to its normal form in a space formerly occupied by the snake.
On your turn, you can mentally command the snake if it is within 60 feet of you and you aren't incapacitated. You decide what action the snake takes and where it moves during its next turn, or you can issue it a general command, such as to attack your enemies or guard a location.
If the snake is reduced to 0 hit points, it dies and reverts to its staff form. The staff then shatters and is destroyed. If the snake reverts to staff form before losing all its hit points, it regains all of them.
Notes: Cleric, Druid, or Warlock, Summoning, Control







-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jun 22, 2021Is the snake a familiar or something else.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 4, 2021I wonder… if you put barding on the snake, would it still be there the next time you summoned it?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 17, 2021I really wish these items had like a printable version of them... like right next to it
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 23, 2021Whenever anything in the game costs an action, bonus action or whatever else to do, then it specifically says so, as to prevent confusion such as this. So no, you don't use your action, it is a free interaction.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Aug 11, 2021What happens if there's no feasible space for the snake to be summoned into?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 13, 2022My staff shattered due to snek dying. I did collect the shards...any ideas on how to get my staff fixed?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 10, 2022yeah?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 13, 2022I’d just make it a normal roll unless there doing a spell or using a piercing weapon.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 21, 2023There are rules for squeezing, use those
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 13, 2023This is ridiculous
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 4, 2024nah you have to use it as a bonus action and you only get 1 bonus action per turn
so the staff would have to be just a staff for a turn. If its next to a smart enemy they'd just pick the staff up and break your attunement to it.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 6, 2024Breaking attunement either takes an hour or else requires them to be far away from you. Neither is very easy, unless you can teleport - in which case the staff is probably no longer a serious threat.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 7, 2024Oh wow really? I'll need to check the dmg again ahah , In mine/friends games of dnd we have usually played attunement as you need an hour to attune unless someone rolls a disgustingly high Arcana check then they usually either get it straight away or not for the combat in that current session but they can use it next week.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted May 27, 2025I believe there is a one hour cool down on that.