You can use an action to speak this staff's command word and throw the staff on the ground within 10 feet of you. The staff becomes a giant constrictor snake under your control and acts on its own initiative count. By using a bonus action to speak the command word again, you return the staff to its normal form in a space formerly occupied by the snake.
On your turn, you can mentally command the snake if it is within 60 feet of you and you aren't incapacitated. You decide what action the snake takes and where it moves during its next turn, or you can issue it a general command, such as to attack your enemies or guard a location.
If the snake is reduced to 0 hit points, it dies and reverts to its staff form. The staff then shatters and is destroyed. If the snake reverts to staff form before losing all its hit points, it regains all of them.
Notes: Cleric, Druid, or Warlock, Summoning, Control







-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 22, 2019Neat.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 4, 2019I throw big snek on ground
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 17, 2019Wait, so could you throw the staff down, wait until the snake is nearly dead, turn it back into a staff, and then immediately throw it down again? You don't have to wait to use the staff again? That's powerful...
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 3, 2019I think that's how it works, yeah. And it's listed as uncommon...
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 17, 2019Yeah, a player in my group has done that. This is my first time dming and I think its a little op for the current level of the group. Especially since there are no limits on the amount of times it can be done per day or time limit it stays in snake form.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 20, 2019I'm not so sure the item overall is OP. The instant point regeneration is really really good - this is absolutely true.
However, the staff has a built-in weakness as well. If the giant constrictor dies before you revert it (very possible when you start getting up there in level since it only has AC12), then the staff is destroyed. Not many items this kind of weakness.
So, very powerful, but it also has a critical weakness... so if you are having an issue with a player abusing the staff, there are certainly ways to deal 60 damage in a round or two as a DM. Also keep in mind that the attuned player has to be conscious and within 60 feet to recall the staff, and they need to be holding the staff to turn it into a snake. These are all pressure points you can exploit to prevent abuse.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 7, 2019These are really interesting points. Thanks for the ideas.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 8, 2019I have since lost my staff to the giant constrictor dying :p
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 1, 2020I have this but have never had to use it, mostly because I’m paranoid about getting the snake killed☹️
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 16, 2020So since the item has the summoning item tag does that mean as a druid of the Shepard subclass it would get certain benefits of that class like other summoned creatures would?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 23, 2020You would need to use both your action and bonus action
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 27, 2020OK, here's a question. What happens to snake if Staff's user is killed - appears to read as it would just be a snake under its own control.
There are two situations I think of:
1. NPC using staff - if players kill snake, staff destroyed. If players kill NPC - does snake revert to Staff form or just stay a giant snake??
2. If player dies is situation same as above?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Aug 21, 2020It requires attunement. Once you die, your attunement ends. This means the staff’s features are locked again.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 10, 2020My group had summoned the Giant Constrictor Snake with the staff, grappled and restrained a target, and I'm trying to come up with a reasonable rule for the rest of the group who want to attack the restrained target.
Restrained says "Attack rolls against the creature have advantage" which absolutely makes sense for the snake, but does that make sense for the others, with a snake coiled around the target? For now, I've decided on two rules:
Does this sound appropriate?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Feb 19, 2021snake stick,,,,,,
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 6, 2021Even if the snake is wrapped around someone it's a unsaid and understood rule that it's holding the person in a way that your player would automatically aim for the correct spot so as not to hit the ally the only way you'd really have to worry is if they rolled a Nat 1
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 22, 2021thats pretty neat
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 22, 2021i must obtain the sneke staff
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 22, 2021IT WILL BE MINE
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted May 14, 2021So would this follow the lower level ranger ruleset when:
"On your turn, you can mentally command the snake if it is within 60 feet of you and you aren't incapacitated. You decide what action the snake takes and where it moves during its next turn, or you can issue it a general command, such as to attack your enemies or guard a location."
Meaning, you would have to use your action to command the snake to take an action? Or is it thought due to the verbiage, it does not take the user's action to command the snake?