Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 35 results for 'back being devourer caster recluse'.
Other Suggestions:
back being devoured cast refuse
back being devours cast refuse
back being devourer career reclusive
back being devourer career refuse
back being devours cast recluse
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
you and didn’t create an area of effect, you can take a Reaction to deflect the spell back at the spell’s caster; the caster must make a saving throw against the spell using their own spell save DC.
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell.
Resist Enchantment. If you fail a saving throw against an Enchantment spell that targets only you, you can turn your failed save
Spells
Forgotten Realms: Heroes of Faerûn
of level 7 or lower that targeted only you and didn't create an area of effect, you can take a Reaction to deflect that spell back at the spell's caster; the caster makes a saving throw against that spell using that caster's own spell save DC.
Staff of Charming
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Magic Items
Basic Rules (2014)
expend 1 charge from the staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell.
The staff regains 1d8 + 2 expended charges daily at dawn. If you expend the last charge, roll a d20. On a 1, the staff becomes a nonmagical quarterstaff.
Flail Snail
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Monsters
Volo's Guide to Monsters
–2. If the spell affects an area or has multiple targets, it fails and has no effect. If the spell targets only the snail, it has no effect on the snail and is reflected back at the caster, using the
spell slot level, spell save DC, attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the caster.
3–4. No additional effect.
5–6. The snail’s shell converts some of the spell’s energy
Tarrasque
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Monsters
Basic Rules (2014)
":"roll","rollAction":"Reflective Carapace"}. On a 1 to 5, the tarrasque is unaffected. On a 6, the tarrasque is unaffected, and the effect is reflected back at the caster as though it originated from the
tarrasque, turning the caster into the target.
Siege Monster. The tarrasque deals double damage to objects and structures.Multiattack. The tarrasque can use its Frightful Presence. It then makes five
Ranger
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Classes
Basic Rules (2014)
of steel, cutting down one enemy after another. After tumbling away from a cone of freezing air, an elf finds her feet and draws back her bow to loose an arrow at the white dragon. Shrugging off the
whistles to the hawk that circles high above him, calling the bird back to his side. Whispering instructions in Elvish, he points to the owlbear he’s been tracking and sends the hawk to distract
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
, the spell has no effect on you. If that spell targeted only you and didn’t create an area of effect, you can take a Reaction to deflect the spell back at the spell’s caster; the caster must make a saving throw against the spell using their own spell save DC.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Waterdeep: Dragon Heist
humanoid it encounters, using its victim as a puppet to spy on the city and relay information back to Nihiloor. Occasionally, an intellect devourer is instructed to seek out a particular kind of target, such
Nihiloor The illithid Nihiloor works for Xanathar, spending its days creating intellect devourers and setting them loose in the sewers of Waterdeep. Each intellect devourer attacks the first
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
, the spell has no effect on you. If that spell targeted only you and didn’t create an area of effect, you can take a Reaction to deflect the spell back at the spell’s caster; the caster must make a saving throw against the spell using their own spell save DC.
Magic Items
Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
at a time. If a third creature tries to attune to it, nothing happens.
The servant’s controls are accessed by a hatch in its upper back, which is easily opened while there are no creatures
hatch also opens it until the start of the caster’s next turn.
A creature can enter or exit through the hatch by spending 10 feet of movement. Those inside the servant have total cover from
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Out of the Abyss
back to the time when the dark elves were first exiled from the world above. The drow and other Underdark creatures use the properties of areas suffused with faerzress to protect their settlements
. A creature in an area suffused with faerzress has advantage on saving throws against any divination spells. If a divination spell doesn’t allow a saving throw, the caster must succeed on a DC 15
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Waterdeep: Dungeon of the Mad Mage
to kidnap one of the leaders of the Undertakers and take that person back to Skullport to have an intellect devourer implanted in their skull, so that Xanathar can take control of the bandit gang. The
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
Enchantment spell that targets only you, you can take a Reaction to expend 1 charge from the staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell. Resist Enchantment. If you fail
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
Attack Rolls Some spells require the caster to make an attack roll to determine whether the spell effect hits the intended target. Your attack bonus with a spell attack equals your spellcasting
summon creatures or objects to the caster's side, whereas others allow the caster to teleport to another location. Some conjurations create objects or effects out of nothing.
Divination spells
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
Enchantment spell that targets only you, you can take a Reaction to expend 1 charge from the staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell. Resist Enchantment. If you fail
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
spell that targets only you, with or without the staff’s intervention, you can use your reaction to expend 1 charge from the staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
requires a somatic component, the caster must have free use of at least one hand to perform these gestures. Material (M) Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the
component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell. If a spell states that a material component is consumed by the spell, the caster must provide this component
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
enchantment spell that targets only you, with or without the staff’s intervention, you can use your reaction to expend 1 charge from the staff and turn the spell back on its caster as if you had cast the spell
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Rise of Tiamat
15. Elemental Checkpoint Blood streaks the floor here, including the smeared trail leading back to the teleport chamber and a second trail of bloody boot prints heading up the corridor to the north
enters the room, the elementals attack. They fight until destroyed, or until the party flees back to area 14 or moves further into the dungeon. The elementals do not pursue outside this area unless
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tomb of Annihilation
rolling a d6:
1–2. If the spell affects an area or has multiple targets, it fails and has no effect. If the spell targets only the snail, it has no effect on the snail and is reflected back at the caster
, using the spell slot level, spell save DC, attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the caster.
3–4. No additional effect.
5–6. The snail’s shell converts some of the spell’s energy into a burst
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Out of the Abyss
banishment spell on the cloud sends it back to the Elemental Plane of Air if it fails its Charisma saving throw (it has a +4 modifier to the roll). A dispel evil and good spell is equally effective
and doesn’t require a successful attack roll; however, the caster must be in contact with the cloud. Creatures native to the Elemental Plane of Earth (including earth elementals, galeb duhr, gargoyles
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
Recluse Though most giants are social creatures, some live alone by choice or circumstance. They establish lairs in remote places, or they tend ancient ruins or enclaves that were more recently
. Recluses d6 Adventure Hook 1 Adventurers stumble upon a giants’ enclave where a deadly plague wiped out most of the inhabitants. One survivor remains, tending the site and trying to hold back the
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Storm Lord’s Wrath
fails and has no effect. If the spell targets only the snail, it has no effect on the snail and is reflected back at the caster, using the spell slot level, spell save DC, attack bonus, and
spellcasting ability of the caster.
3–4. No additional effect.
5–6. The snail’s shell converts some of the spell’s energy into a burst of destructive force. Each creature within 30 feet of the snail must
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
Intelligence back, such as after an intellect devourer zeroes it? The greater restoration spell can remove the reduction to an ability score. What happens after 20th level? Is there a cap to character
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->The Wild Beyond the Witchlight
D8. Holding Cells Rising from the soggy earth is a sturdy wooden hut with an open doorway on one side of it. At the back of the hut are two holding cells. Thick mangrove roots serve as bars, with a
small round door closing off each cell. The floor of one cell is covered with several inches of stinking water. The other cell holds a figure in rags slumped against the back wall.
This hut is round
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Waterdeep: Dungeon of the Mad Mage
has an intellect devourer in its skull, which is controlling it like a puppeteer. Because of the intellect devourer’s Detect Sentience trait, the bugbears can’t be surprised by the adventurers. When
the intellect devourer’s host drops to 0 hit points, the intellect devourer teleports away to seek a new host. 39c. Goblin Hall Goblins. Nineteen loud, mean, starving goblins bicker and fight over
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Eberron: Rising from the Last War
plagues upon the rebellious elves. He made assassins of elven shadows and turned them back against their owners. Still the rebels persisted. In his anger, Cul’sir prepared to pull down the rest of
knowledge of law, and Boldrei proclaimed that no city would stand. The Traveler distorted the land so that no path followed twice. The Devourer unleashed fire and storm. And so Xen’drik remains a land of
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Infernal Machine Rebuild
the effect is reflected back at the caster as though it originated from the tarrasque, turning the caster into the target.
Siege Monster. The tarrasque deals double damage to objects and structures
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monster Manual (2014)
unaffected. On a 6, the tarrasque is unaffected, and the effect is reflected back at the caster as though it originated from the tarrasque, turning the caster into the target.
Siege Monster. The
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Volo's Guide to Monsters
by rolling a d6:
1–2. If the spell affects an area or has multiple targets, it fails and has no effect. If the spell targets only the snail, it has no effect on the snail and is reflected back at the
caster, using the spell slot level, spell save DC, attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the caster.
3–4. No additional effect.
5–6. The snail’s shell converts some of the spell’s energy into
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monster Manual
table to inspire what marks the monster’s rampages. Tarrasque Evidence 1d4 Amid Destruction, the Tarrasque Leaves... 1 Evidence of a magic spell reflected back on its caster, like Ice Knife or Melf’s
ranged attack roll, roll 1d6. On a 1–5, the tarrasque is unaffected. On a 6, the tarrasque is unaffected and reflects the spell, turning the caster into the target.
Siege Monster. The tarrasque deals
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Strixhaven: A Curriculum of Chaos
chapter). The front counter of the barista station is a whirl of chaos while Ellina and the other employees deal with the orders of dozens of students and faculty members. The back of the station is
, stickers, and other decorative and leisure items. The subjects of the magazines are all magic themed, with titles ranging from Mages Monthly to Potions! Potions! Potions! to Spells and Caster. Staff
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Waterdeep: Dragon Heist
soured. He’s been hanging around the Yawning Portal more than usual. Observe him for a tenday, then report back to me.” Characters can befriend Meloon Wardragon (see appendix B) or watch him from afar
. If the characters rid Meloon of the intellect devourer in his skull, Vajra gives the party a wand of secrets. 5th “Xanathar is using intellect devourers to take control of Waterdavians in key
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Acquisitions Incorporated
Stage 2: Little Inn of Horrors The Test Market warps reality the moment any character opens a door within the Dran & Courtier. The first time this happens, all the characters find themselves back in
mouths the words, “Be careful.” She then goes back to absentmindedly cleaning the bar.
This is a version of the Test Market where everything has gone wrong. Not What They Seem The figure swinging from






