Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 35 results for 'canceling whether reaction'.
Other Suggestions:
changeling whether relation
changeling whether reaction
canceling whether rejection
channeling whether relation
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
.
Spell Absorption. While holding the staff , you have Advantage on saving throws against spells. In addition, you can take a Reaction when another creature casts a spell that targets only you. If
you do, the staff absorbs the magic of the spell, canceling its effect and gaining a number of charges equal to the absorbed spell’s level. However, if doing so brings the staff’s total
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
weapon.A drow house captain leads the troops of an Underdark faction, whether defending a stronghold or leading forces against enemies. These officers make extensive study of strategy and tactics to become
subterranean world of that god’s malevolence.Battle Command. Choose one creature within 30 feet of the drow that the drow can see. If the chosen creature can see or hear the drow, that creature can use its reaction to make one melee attack or to take the Dodge or Hide action.
Spells
Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
reaction until the end of its next turn. Moreover, on its next turn, it must choose whether it gets a move, an action, or a bonus action; it gets only one of the three. On a successful save, the
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
Cavalry Training. When the duergar hits a target with a melee attack while mounted, the mount can use its reaction to make one melee attack against the same target.
Duergar Resilience. The duergar
if that passion rarely manifests as mirth. They bring an emotional intensity to their lives, whether they’re exploring neighboring tunnels, defending their homes, engaging with their families
Monsters
Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft
Intelligence saving throw or it can’t take a reaction until the end of its next turn. Moreover, on its next turn, the target must choose whether it gets a move, an action, or a bonus action; it gets only
Zuggtmoy
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Monsters
Out of the Abyss
Thrall. When Zuggtmoy is hit by an attack, one creature within 5 feet of Zuggtmoy that is charmed by her must use its reaction to be hit by the attack instead.Zuggtmoy can take 3 legendary actions
turn.
Attack. Zuggtmoy makes one pseudopod attack.
Exert Will. One creature charmed by Zuggtmoy that she can see must use its reaction to move up to its speed as she directs or to make a weapon
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
. The duergar targets one creature it can see within 60 feet of it. The target must succeed on a DC 12 Intelligence saving throw, or the duergar causes it to use its reaction, if available, either to
as joyless, duergar are in fact deeply passionate in all that they do—even if that passion rarely manifests as mirth. They bring an emotional intensity to their lives, whether they’re
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
use their reaction to make one weapon attack.
Invisibility (Recharge 4–6);{"diceNotation":"1d6", "rollType":"recharge", "rollAction":"Invisibility"}. The duergar magically turns invisible for up to 1
passion rarely manifests as mirth. They bring an emotional intensity to their lives, whether they’re exploring neighboring tunnels, defending their homes, engaging with their families, or crafting
Monsters
Planescape: Adventures in the Multiverse
can see within 30 feet of itself. The portal links to a precise location on any plane of existence at a point in time up to 8,000 years from the present, whether past or future. The portal lasts for 24
affected creature can move or take an action on its turn, not both. The creature also can’t take a reaction or a bonus action.
Timeline Divergence. The dragon chooses a space it can fit into
Monsters
Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse
. One creature charmed by Zuggtmoy that she can see must use its reaction, if available, to move up to its speed as she directs or to make one weapon attack against a target that she designates.The Demon
facets.
Zuggtmoy’s cultists often follow her unwittingly. Most are fungus-infected to some degree, whether through inhaling her mind-controlling spores or being transformed to the point where
Monsters
Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
creature within 30 feet of it that it can see. The target must succeed on a DC 16 Wisdom saving throw or use its reaction to make a melee weapon attack against a random creature within reach. If no
creatures are within reach, or the target can’t take a reaction, it takes 5 (1d10);{"diceNotation":"1d10", "rollType":"damage", "rollAction":"Commanding Spores", "rollDamageType":"psychic"} psychic
Monsters
Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
around a creature within 30 feet of it that it can see. The target must succeed on a DC 19 Wisdom saving throw or use its reaction to make a melee weapon attack against a random creature within reach. If
no creatures are within reach, or the target can’t take a reaction, it takes 11 (2d10);{"diceNotation":"2d10", "rollType":"damage", "rollAction":"Commanding Spores", "rollDamageType":"psychic
Staff of the Magi
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Magic Items
Basic Rules (2014)
holding the staff, you have advantage on saving throws against spells. In addition, you can use your reaction when another creature casts a spell that targets only you. If you do, the staff absorbs the
magic of the spell, canceling its effect and gaining a number of charges equal to the absorbed spell's level. However, if doing so brings the staff's total number of charges above 50, the staff
Feats
Dragonlance: Shadow of the Dragon Queen
. If that ally can see or hear you, they can immediately make one weapon attack as a reaction. If the attack hits, the ally can roll a d8 and add the number rolled as a bonus to the attack’s damage
. Whether a character follows this path or another, they retain what they learned as a member of an order even if they join another. Characters can change what knightly order they’re a part of, but they always have access to any Knight of Solamnia feats they’ve acquired.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Rise of Tiamat
specific good assets canceling out cult assets. Give the players free reign on matching assets, but weigh in on whether a specific plan has merit if you feel the need. For example, the players might
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Rise of Tiamat
specific good assets canceling out cult assets. Give the players free reign on matching assets, but weigh in on whether a specific plan has merit if you feel the need. For example, the players might
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
, you can take a Reaction when another creature casts a spell that targets only you. If you do, the staff absorbs the magic of the spell, canceling its effect and gaining a number of charges equal to
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
, you can take a Reaction when another creature casts a spell that targets only you. If you do, the staff absorbs the magic of the spell, canceling its effect and gaining a number of charges equal to
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monster Manual (2014)
Reactions If a monster can do something special with its reaction, that information is contained here. If a creature has no special reaction, this section is absent. GRAPPLE RULES FOR MONSTERS
Many
monsters have special attacks that allow them to quickly grapple prey. When a monster hits with such an attack, it doesn’t need to make an additional ability check to determine whether the grapple
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monster Manual (2014)
Reactions If a monster can do something special with its reaction, that information is contained here. If a creature has no special reaction, this section is absent. GRAPPLE RULES FOR MONSTERS
Many
monsters have special attacks that allow them to quickly grapple prey. When a monster hits with such an attack, it doesn’t need to make an additional ability check to determine whether the grapple
Yuan-ti Pureblood
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Species
Volo's Guide to Monsters
others can be exploited through bribes, favors, or threats.
As creatures devoid of emotion, yuan-ti exhibit behavior and use tactics that exemplify that outlook (or lack of one). Whether in combat
they don’t believe they have a reasonable chance of success. This reaction isn’t out of cowardice, but practicality—yuan-ti value their own lives much too highly to risk them when the
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
whether the caster must use an action, a reaction, minutes, or even hours to cast the spell. Casting a spell is, therefore, not necessarily an action. Most spells do have a casting time of 1 action, so a spellcaster often uses his or her action in combat to cast such a spell.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
whether the caster must use an action, a reaction, minutes, or even hours to cast the spell. Casting a spell is, therefore, not necessarily an action. Most spells do have a casting time of 1 action, so a spellcaster often uses his or her action in combat to cast such a spell.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
whether the caster must use an action, a reaction, minutes, or even hours to cast the spell. Casting a spell is, therefore, not necessarily an action. Most spells do have a casting time of 1 action, so a
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
whether the caster must use an action, a reaction, minutes, or even hours to cast the spell. Casting a spell is, therefore, not necessarily an action. Most spells do have a casting time of 1 action, so a
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Flee, Mortals! Rule Primer
opportunities to act and move when it’s not their turn. Thus, each action-oriented creature has at least one special bonus action and reaction, as well as a special section with villain actions that let them
dominate the battlefield. These actions make the boss creatures dynamic and formidable. Whether fought as an exciting solo challenge or alongside a few easy-to-run underlings, action-oriented creatures challenge the characters with dramatic and powerful actions in combat.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
an Intelligence saving throw. On a failed save, the target takes 3d6 psychic damage, and it can’t take a reaction until the end of its next turn. Moreover, on its next turn, it must choose whether it
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
charge, roll a d20. On a 20, the staff regains 1d12 + 1 charges. Spell Absorption. While holding the staff, you have advantage on saving throws against spells. In addition, you can use your reaction when
another creature casts a spell that targets only you. If you do, the staff absorbs the magic of the spell, canceling its effect and gaining a number of charges equal to the absorbed spell’s level
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
. While you hold it, you gain a +2 bonus to spell attack rolls.
Spell Absorption. While holding the staff, you have Advantage on saving throws against spells. In addition, you can take a Reaction when
another creature casts a spell that targets only you. If you do, the staff absorbs the magic of the spell, canceling its effect and gaining a number of charges equal to the absorbed spell’s level
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
charge, roll a d20. On a 20, the staff regains 1d12 + 1 charges. Spell Absorption. While holding the staff, you have advantage on saving throws against spells. In addition, you can use your reaction when
another creature casts a spell that targets only you. If you do, the staff absorbs the magic of the spell, canceling its effect and gaining a number of charges equal to the absorbed spell’s level
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
an Intelligence saving throw. On a failed save, the target takes 3d6 psychic damage, and it can’t take a reaction until the end of its next turn. Moreover, on its next turn, it must choose whether it
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Flee, Mortals! Rule Primer
opportunities to act and move when it’s not their turn. Thus, each action-oriented creature has at least one special bonus action and reaction, as well as a special section with villain actions that let them
dominate the battlefield. These actions make the boss creatures dynamic and formidable. Whether fought as an exciting solo challenge or alongside a few easy-to-run underlings, action-oriented creatures challenge the characters with dramatic and powerful actions in combat.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
Your Turn On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed and take one action. You decide whether to move first or take your action first. Your speed--sometimes called your walking speed--is
abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a reaction. A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your turn or on someone else's
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
charge, roll a d20. On a 20, the staff regains 1d12 + 1 charges. Spell Absorption. While holding the staff, you have advantage on saving throws against spells. In addition, you can use your reaction when
another creature casts a spell that targets only you. If you do, the staff absorbs the magic of the spell, canceling its effect and gaining a number of charges equal to the absorbed spell’s level
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
. While you hold it, you gain a +2 bonus to spell attack rolls.
Spell Absorption. While holding the staff, you have Advantage on saving throws against spells. In addition, you can take a Reaction when
another creature casts a spell that targets only you. If you do, the staff absorbs the magic of the spell, canceling its effect and gaining a number of charges equal to the absorbed spell’s level