Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 10 results for 'correct with rolls'.
Other Suggestions:
current with rolls
current with rules
connect with rules
connect with rolls
corrected with rules
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
set it (see the rule in the DMG , under “Spells”). Which is correct in the Dungeon Master’s Guide, the rule for scrolls or the rule for a spell scroll? They’re both correct. The rule for scrolls (DMG
protection, for instance, since you can’t attune to more than one copy of an item at a time. Do magic weapons give you a bonus to attack and damage rolls? A magic weapon gives you a bonus to attack rolls
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
one damage roll of a spell, not multiple rolls. So with Scorching Ray, I don’t add my Charisma modifier to each ray that hits? That’s correct. Elemental Affinity benefits one damage roll per casting
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
has an initiative score, which is a passive Dexterity check: 10 + Dexterity modifier. By cutting down on die rolls, math done on the fly, and the process of asking for and recording totals, you can
speed your game up considerably—at the cost of an initiative order that is often predictable. Side Initiative Recording initiative for each PC and monster, arranging everyone in the correct order, and
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
quadruple the duration of a spell by spending 2 sorcery points on Extended Spell. Elemental Affinity improves one damage roll of a spell, not multiple rolls? So with scorching ray, I don’t add my
Charisma modifier to each ray that hits? That’s correct. Elemental Affinity benefits one damage roll per casting of a spell, even if the spell allows more than one roll. So, for example, the feature
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->The Wild Beyond the Witchlight
characters succeed on the check. Dice Rolls Many DMs like to roll their dice in the open, for all the players to see, to maintain transparency. Other DMs prefer to roll dice behind a screen to maintain
suspense. Either approach is fine. Even DMs who conceal their dice rolls might divulge certain results. For example, when a creature scores a critical hit against a character, it’s customary to let the
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
attacks. Monsters sometimes have stat quirks like that. The Monster Manual says gnolls speak Gnoll, but the Player’s Handbook doesn’t mention that language. What is correct? The Player’s Handbook language
as all other kinds of creatures). If a shadow rolls a critical hit, does it reduce the target’s Strength by 2d4, as well dealing the extra necrotic damage? No. A critical hit lets you roll damage
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Phandelver and Below: The Shattered Obelisk
gemstone in various stages of completion, ranging from a handful of marks to a completed, emerald-cut stone. As with a combination lock, the dial must be rotated in the correct order. The correct
combination begins with the least finished gemstone carving and proceeds in order, ending with the most finished carving. After the characters rotate the dial to the correct combination, a gem must be
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tales from the Yawning Portal->a3
, and anyone who tries to pull the axe from the wall finds it impossible to do so. The weapon is a berserker axe that has a +2 bonus to attack and damage rolls instead of the normal +1. The axe can’t be
wind. When the attuned wielder uses an action to say the correct words of power, which are engraved in Olman on the axe blade, one of these spells can be cast. The axe has 12 charges and regains 1d6
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice Compendium
and damage rolls. Second, neither green-flame blade nor booming blade works with Extra Attack or any other feature that requires the Attack action. Like other spells, these cantrips require the Cast
. So can it still use a move or a bonus action or a reaction? Correct. The gas doesn’t immobilize a creature or prevent it from acting altogether, but the effect of the spell does limit what it can
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Acquisitions Incorporated
the vault. Flabbergast’s ritual ends after the caravan departs.
11:00 AM — Arrival The Dhargun Ironworks caravan rolls up the mountain and approaches the gates to Horn Enclave. Excitement runs
to the correct person. Both are pleased to have a wedding in their halls, and they engage in small talk to ask polite questions of their guests. Many of those questions involve the business operations






