Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 35 results for 'creature with provokes'.
Other Suggestions:
creature with provoke
creature with provides
creature with provoked
Monsters
Out of the Abyss
","rollAction":"Bite","rollDamageType":"piercing"} piercing damage.Barbed Tail. When a creature provokes an opportunity attack from the ixitxachitl, the ixitxachitl can make the following attack instead of using
Monsters
Out of the Abyss
reduced to 0.Barbed Tail. When a creature provokes an opportunity attack from the ixitxachitl, the ixitxachitl can make the following attack instead of using its bite. Melee Weapon Attack: +6
Monsters
Out of the Abyss
points equal to that amount. The reduction lasts until the target finishes a long rest. The target dies if its hit point maximum is reduced to 0.Barbed Tail. When a creature provokes an opportunity
Spells
Xanathar's Guide to Everything
, spell, or other ability it’s using. If an enemy provokes an opportunity attack from the affected creature, the creature must make that attack if it is able to.
You reach into the mind of one creature you can see and force it to make an Intelligence saving throw. A creature automatically succeeds if it is immune to being frightened. On a failed save, the
Monsters
Baldur’s Gate: Descent into Avernus
damage, and Ulder pushes the target 5 feet away from him. Ulder then enters the space vacated by the target. If the target is pushed to within 5 feet of a creature friendly to Ulder, the target provokes
":"to hit","rollAction":"Shield"} to hit, reach 5 ft., one creature. Hit: 6 (1d6 + 3);{"diceNotation":"1d6+3","rollType":"damage","rollAction":"Shield","rollDamageType":"bludgeoning"} bludgeoning
Magic Items
Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
action, you can command the servant to take one of the actions in its stat block or some other action.
When a creature provokes an opportunity attack from the servant, you can use your reaction to command
at a time. If a third creature tries to attune to it, nothing happens.
The servant’s controls are accessed by a hatch in its upper back, which is easily opened while there are no creatures
War Caster
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Feats
Player’s Handbook (2014)
provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only that creature.
feats
Player’s Handbook (2024)
maximum of 20.
Concentration. You have Advantage on Constitution saving throws that you make to maintain Concentration.
Reactive Spell. When a creature provokes an Opportunity Attack from you by
leaving your reach, you can take a Reaction to cast a spell at the creature rather than making an Opportunity Attack. The spell must have a casting time of one action and must target only that creature
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Baldur's Gate: Descent into Avernus
Opportunity Attacks Infernal war machines provoke opportunity attacks as normal. When an infernal war machine provokes an opportunity attack, the attacker can target the vehicle or any creature riding on or inside it that doesn’t have total cover and is within reach.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Baldur's Gate: Descent into Avernus
Opportunity Attacks Infernal war machines provoke opportunity attacks as normal. When an infernal war machine provokes an opportunity attack, the attacker can target the vehicle or any creature riding on or inside it that doesn’t have total cover and is within reach.
Lizardfolk
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Species
Volo's Guide to Monsters
’t scared of a troll; instead, they understand that a troll is a fearsome, dangerous creature and react accordingly.
Lizardfolk never become angry in the way others do, but they act with
lizardfolk doesn’t share those feelings, but instead assesses them in the same clinical manner. Yes, the fallen dwarf might be most useful as a meal, but hacking the body into steaks provokes aggression
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
transportation doesn’t expend movement unless a rule tells you otherwise, and teleportation never provokes Opportunity Attacks. When you teleport, all the equipment you’re wearing and carrying teleports with
you. If you’re touching another creature when you teleport, that creature doesn’t teleport with you unless the teleportation effect says otherwise. If the destination space of your teleportation is
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
chooses another creature as a target, it must choose the target at random from among the creatures it can see within range of the attack, spell, or other ability it’s using. If an enemy provokes an opportunity attack from the affected creature, the creature must make that attack if it is able to.
Enemies Abound 3rd-level enchantment Casting Time: 1 action Range: 120 feet Components: V, S Duration: Concentration, up to 1 minute You reach into the mind of one creature you can see and force it
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
transportation doesn’t expend movement unless a rule tells you otherwise, and teleportation never provokes Opportunity Attacks. When you teleport, all the equipment you’re wearing and carrying teleports with
you. If you’re touching another creature when you teleport, that creature doesn’t teleport with you unless the teleportation effect says otherwise. If the destination space of your teleportation is
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Uni and the Hunt for the Lost Horn
transportation doesn’t expend movement unless a rule tells you otherwise, and teleportation never provokes Opportunity Attacks. When you teleport, all the equipment you’re wearing and carrying teleports with
you. If you’re touching another creature when you teleport, that creature doesn’t teleport with you unless the teleportation effect says otherwise. If the destination space of your teleportation is
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
1, to a maximum of 20. Concentration. You have Advantage on Constitution saving throws that you make to maintain Concentration. Reactive Spell. When a creature provokes an Opportunity Attack from you
by leaving your reach, you can take a Reaction to cast a spell at the creature rather than making an Opportunity Attack. The spell must have a casting time of one action and must target only that
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
transportation doesn’t expend movement unless a rule tells you otherwise, and teleportation never provokes Opportunity Attacks. When you teleport, all the equipment you’re wearing and carrying teleports with
you. If you’re touching another creature when you teleport, that creature doesn’t teleport with you unless the teleportation effect says otherwise. If the destination space of your teleportation is
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
one or both hands. When a hostile creature’s movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only that creature.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
chooses another creature as a target, it must choose the target at random from among the creatures it can see within range of the attack, spell, or other ability it’s using. If an enemy provokes an opportunity attack from the affected creature, the creature must make that attack if it is able to.
Enemies Abound 3rd-level enchantment Casting Time: 1 action Range: 120 feet Components: V, S Duration: Concentration, up to 1 minute You reach into the mind of one creature you can see and force it
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
one or both hands. When a hostile creature’s movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only that creature.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
1, to a maximum of 20. Concentration. You have Advantage on Constitution saving throws that you make to maintain Concentration. Reactive Spell. When a creature provokes an Opportunity Attack from you
by leaving your reach, you can take a Reaction to cast a spell at the creature rather than making an Opportunity Attack. The spell must have a casting time of one action and must target only that
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Uni and the Hunt for the Lost Horn
transportation doesn’t expend movement unless a rule tells you otherwise, and teleportation never provokes Opportunity Attacks. When you teleport, all the equipment you’re wearing and carrying teleports with
you. If you’re touching another creature when you teleport, that creature doesn’t teleport with you unless the teleportation effect says otherwise. If the destination space of your teleportation is
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
transportation doesn’t expend movement unless a rule tells you otherwise, and teleportation never provokes Opportunity Attacks. When you teleport, all the equipment you’re wearing and carrying teleports with
you. If you’re touching another creature when you teleport, that creature doesn’t teleport with you unless the teleportation effect says otherwise. If the destination space of your teleportation is
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Out of the Abyss
creature provokes an opportunity attack from the ixitxachitl, the ixitxachitl can make the following attack instead of using its bite. Melee Weapon Attack: +5 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 7 (1d8
amount. The reduction lasts until the target finishes a long rest. The target dies if its hit point maximum is reduced to 0.
Reactions
Barbed Tail. When a creature provokes an opportunity attack
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft
here: Don’t dictate a character’s actions in response to what they see. But you can touch on the feelings that the creature provokes, leaving it up to the players to describe how they respond to those
: Emphasize Wrongness. Focus on the features that make the creature alien, inhuman, and out of place. The Whistling Fiend looks like a humanoid skeleton dripping its own gelatinous musculature. Its skull
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Out of the Abyss
creature provokes an opportunity attack from the ixitxachitl, the ixitxachitl can make the following attack instead of using its bite. Melee Weapon Attack: +5 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 7 (1d8
amount. The reduction lasts until the target finishes a long rest. The target dies if its hit point maximum is reduced to 0.
Reactions
Barbed Tail. When a creature provokes an opportunity attack
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monster Manual
and merrow, but it also provokes misunderstandings with surface dwellers who blame merfolk for merrow attacks. Sages trace merrows’ origins to aquatic ogres, depraved merfolk, and worse. Such broad
20/60 ft. Hit: 11 (2d6 + 4) Piercing damage. If the target is a Large or smaller creature, the merrow pulls the target up to 15 feet straight toward itself.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft
here: Don’t dictate a character’s actions in response to what they see. But you can touch on the feelings that the creature provokes, leaving it up to the players to describe how they respond to those
: Emphasize Wrongness. Focus on the features that make the creature alien, inhuman, and out of place. The Whistling Fiend looks like a humanoid skeleton dripping its own gelatinous musculature. Its skull
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monster Manual
and merrow, but it also provokes misunderstandings with surface dwellers who blame merfolk for merrow attacks. Sages trace merrows’ origins to aquatic ogres, depraved merfolk, and worse. Such broad
20/60 ft. Hit: 11 (2d6 + 4) Piercing damage. If the target is a Large or smaller creature, the merrow pulls the target up to 15 feet straight toward itself.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Waterdeep: Dungeon of the Mad Mage
. An unusually large xorn, 10 feet tall and 10 feet wide, sleeps soundly in the middle of the room. While asleep, the creature remains standing, its mouth and eyes closed, its arms hanging limply with
provides. A successful DC 16 Dexterity (Stealth) check allows a creature to cross the room quietly without waking the xorn, but the check is made with disadvantage if the creature is carrying coins or
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Waterdeep: Dungeon of the Mad Mage
. An unusually large xorn, 10 feet tall and 10 feet wide, sleeps soundly in the middle of the room. While asleep, the creature remains standing, its mouth and eyes closed, its arms hanging limply with
provides. A successful DC 16 Dexterity (Stealth) check allows a creature to cross the room quietly without waking the xorn, but the check is made with disadvantage if the creature is carrying coins or
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
(no action required) As an action, you can command the servant to take one of the actions in its stat block or some other action. When a creature provokes an opportunity attack from the servant, you
. Dangerous Attunement. Two creatures can be attuned to the servant at a time. If a third creature tries to attune to it, nothing happens. The servant’s controls are accessed by a hatch in its upper back
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
(no action required) As an action, you can command the servant to take one of the actions in its stat block or some other action. When a creature provokes an opportunity attack from the servant, you
. Dangerous Attunement. Two creatures can be attuned to the servant at a time. If a third creature tries to attune to it, nothing happens. The servant’s controls are accessed by a hatch in its upper back
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
one ally of your choice within 30 feet of you can also move up to half their Speed using their Reaction. None of this feature’s movement provokes Opportunity Attacks. Level 6: Tandem Footwork When you
using a spell slot, you can cause a creature you can see within 60 feet of yourself to make a Wisdom saving throw against your spell save DC. On a failed save, the target has the Charmed or Frightened
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
one ally of your choice within 30 feet of you can also move up to half their Speed using their Reaction. None of this feature’s movement provokes Opportunity Attacks. Level 6: Tandem Footwork When you
using a spell slot, you can cause a creature you can see within 60 feet of yourself to make a Wisdom saving throw against your spell save DC. On a failed save, the target has the Charmed or Frightened