You cause a creature or an object you can see within range to grow larger or smaller for the duration. Choose either a creature or an object that is neither worn nor carried. If the target is unwilling, it can make a Constitution saving throw. On a success, the spell has no effect.
If the target is a creature, everything it is wearing and carrying changes size with it. Any item dropped by an affected creature returns to normal size at once.
Enlarge. The target's size doubles in all dimensions, and its weight is multiplied by eight. This growth increases its size by one category-- from Medium to Large, for example. If there isn't enough room for the target to double its size, the creature or object attains the maximum possible size in the space available. Until the spell ends, the target also has advantage on Strength checks and Strength saving throws. The target's weapons also grow to match its new size. While these weapons are enlarged, the target's attacks with them deal 1d4 extra damage.
Reduce. The target's size is halved in all dimensions, and its weight is reduced to one-eighth of normal. This reduction decreases its size by one category--from Medium to Small, for example. Until the spell ends, the target also has disadvantage on Strength checks and Strength saving throws. The target's weapons also shrink to match its new size. While these weapons are reduced, the target's attacks with them deal 1d4 less damage (this can't reduce the damage below 1).
* - (a pinch of powdered iron)
what if you enlarge a creature that has been swallowed
This keeps saying "target" and "creatures" does this mean humanoids? Humans, dwarves, elves, etc? Or is it literally just creatures
Bit late, but had this issue when looking into this. It got added in Tasha's but it isn't on the Bard spell list in the PHB. If you want to add it in DndBeyond you can copy the spell as Homebrew and add it to the Dard and Druid lists.
So let’s say I have a pretty little duergar rune knight, who happens to use giant's might right before they want to use enlarge. Which should be possible I believe. That means the character should go from medium to large and from large to gargantuan right? Since the spell specifically tells us that the target's size doubles in all dimensions. So the target (my pc) should double from a 2 x 2 size to a 4 x 4 size? But then it says it grows only one category? I assume the latter thing is what’s intended, but what’s the first sentence for then?
To stomp on them, crush them, throw them against a wall.
So, uh-
A ring wouldn't work, but I think a bracelet might
ever since they added Fairies, i have a homebrew that the effect can be permanent when used on an object (and only objects, if cast on a person at higher levels then the effect lasts longer up to 9hrs, 1hr per level cast) if cast at higher levels....so that Fairy (and other small/tiny) PCs can buy stuff then shrink it to their size or shrink loot they find so they can use it.
Okay, so does the target doubles its size or just enlarges to the next size category?
Would Large horse 2x2 squares become Huge 3x3 or 4x4?
Roll20 uses not PHB or Basic Rules, but SRD 5.1 document, so that spell was basically bards' and is not anymore, except you use SRD as a main source of rules.
Put an enlarged ring around the neck of a dragon as a gift of goodwill
A sneaky wizard has the dispel magic spell at the ready
You see where this is going
This is what I call the Ring of Righteousness tm.
Enjoy
This spell has been added to bards via Tasha's Cauldron of Everything.
Someone please update this.
The number of spaces taken up (or "controlled") is not what doubles. (Or halves) The number of spaces taken up is determined by the creature's size category. The size category is roughly related to the creature's dimensional size, but this relationship is not clearly delineated in the rules. It can be roughly extrapolated based on information given about creatures of various size categories in various sources. (i.e. Hill Giants are noted to be around 16-17 ft. tall and are considered Huge)
The creature's actual dimensions are what double. Consider a human who is 6 ft. tall. They would also be somewhere around 16" wide (at the shoulders), and maybe 8" deep (chest/head). I am kind of extrapolating here, but you get the gist. Those are the dimensions that get doubled. The Enlarged human would then be 12 ft. tall, with 23" shoulders and a 16" deep chest/head. That size range generally equates to a Large creature, which takes up a 2x2 area.
A 10 ft. tall ogre, on the other hand, would double in size to 20 ft., which is firmly in Huge territory, so it goes from a 2x2 area to a 3x3 area. It's height doubles, but not its area of control on the battlefield.
Well now there is the path of the giant barbarian and at level 14 with enlarge he can become gargantuan
Can it be cast on the caster or does "any creature you can see" negate that?
Enlarging only doubles the size.
Can you cast this on yourself?
In theory a rune knight fighter could become huge with the combination of Giant's Might (which makes medium or smaller creatures large) then using enlarge to grow an extra size, additionally as a goliath the Powerful build could help with grappling the Tarrasque.
Unless it's a Mount through Find Steed/Find Greater Steed! Then casting Enlarge on yourself will also enlarge your mount!
If a Circle of the Moon Druid wild shapes into a Giant Constrictor Snake, then is Enlarged by some friendly Wizard, Sorcerer, or Artificer, then its size category would graduate from Huge to Gargantuan. Under homebrew, wouldn't the Gargantuan Constrictor Snake gain the Purple Worm's "Swallow" ability?