You conjure a phantom watchdog in an unoccupied space that you can see within range, where it remains for the duration, until you dismiss it as an action, or until you move more than 100 feet away from it.
The hound is invisible to all creatures except you and can't be harmed. When a Small or larger creature comes within 30 feet of it without first speaking the password that you specify when you cast this spell, the hound starts barking loudly. The hound sees invisible creatures and can see into the Ethereal Plane. It ignores illusions.
At the start of each of your turns, the hound attempts to bite one creature within 5 feet of it that is hostile to you. The hound's attack bonus is equal to your spellcasting ability modifier + your proficiency bonus. On a hit, it deals 4d8 piercing damage.
* - (a tiny silver whistle, a piece of bone, and a thread)
This. So much this.
I scrolled through for a while to see if anyone else had this thought. All of a sudden you have a movable hound. For fun you could tie up an invisible muzzle and leash to the disc, like the kind you get at amusement parks, and let the hilarity ensue when it the invisible space takes a chunk out of someone.
The Player’s Handbook says on page 202 that if you can’t cast two spells during the same turn, not action unless you cast a 1 action cantrip and a bonus action levelled spell.
Those spell probably won't fit into most campaigns because it is designed mostly for defense. For the most part this spell is about area denial. Where this,no concentration spell, is cast enemies will be denied(unless they don't mind slashing damage). If there is no tactical advantage to occupying what is effectively 8 squares of space on a 2d map, then this spell does little except for bark for its 8 hour duration. Because there is no concentration requirement, it combo's well with lock-down abilities. And if the caster has the spell spell slots, it can be cast multiple times around a single enemy.
This spells biggest strength however is to protect the caster from ghosts, Hags, succubus, and other creatures that could sneak up from the ethereal plane.
If I understand correctly the hound deals damage to 1 target once a turn in a 5ft radius and barks at what ever it is sees in a 30 ft radius with what is essentially true sight.
Does the hound’s bite attack overcome magical resistances?
I assumed yes, since it is a magical creature with lots of magical abilities and is created by a spell, and uses your spell casting modifier to attack, but my DM argues otherwise. I would assume that a 4th level spell would allow you to summon a magic dog that has magical attacks since at level 7 you’re fighting werewolves, hags, devils, and such creatures with magic resistances. Is this just an oversight in the spell or does it not overcome resistance to piercing damage from nonmagical attacks?
flat piercing resistance as with barbarian rage still applies; from the sage advice compendium https://media.wizards.com/2020/dnd/downloads/SA-Compendium.pdf "[...] Determining whether a game feature is magical is straightforward. Ask yourself these questions about the feature:
• Is it a magic item?
• Is it a spell? Or does it let you create the effects of a spell that’s mentioned in its description?
• Is it a spell attack?
• Is it fueled by the use of spell slots?
• Does its description say it’s magical?
If your answer to any of those questions is yes, the feature is magical. [...]" https://dnd.wizards.com/news/archive?category=sage-advice
the dungeon master might say that being on a different plane of existence doesn't qualify for being within range of something located on a different reality/plane; since faithful hound only attacks at the start of caster's turn, it might be worthwhile to concentrate on readying it to get a better position ideally before otherwise during the fight if the caster can reasonably afford the concentration then follow up with thunderwave/telekinesis/arcane hand/etc to get the enemy in range for the next bite at the start of caster's next turn; by the way, because the hound is invisible and the condition doesn't require them to be unseen to benefit from its second effect, unless something removes that second benefit (as with faerie fire or branding smite spells), the hound has advantage on all their attacks even when they're seen or their location's known (as with see invisibility or true seeing spells, blindsight, truesight or perhaps tremorsense special senses, 1st level paladin divine sense, 14th level rogue blindsense, 18th level ranger feral senses although the first benefit of feral senses only works against creatures the ranger can't see who also aren't invisible)
It does not. And there are ways to cast two spells on the same turn - such as by being a multiclass caster/fighter and using action surge to perform to standard, non-bonus actions on a turn, or by ending up in a situation where you cast a spell on your turn using a reaction.
Under the Casting Time heading of the official rulings/errata in the Sage Advice compendium at https://media.wizards.com/2020/dnd/downloads/SA-Compendium.pdf it states:
"Casting Time
Is there a limit on the number of spells you can cast on your turn?
There’s no rule that says you can cast only X number of spells on your turn, but there are some practical limits. The main limiting factor is your action. Most spells require an action to cast, and unless you use a feature like the fighter’s Action Surge, you have only one action on your turn.
If you cast a spell, such as healing word, with a bonus action, you can cast another spell with your action, but that other spell must be a cantrip. Keep in mind that this particular limit is specific to spells that use a bonus action. For instance, if you cast a second spell using Action Surge, you aren’t limited to casting a cantrip with it.
...
Can you cast a reaction spell on your turn?
You sure can! Here’s a common way for it to happen: Cornelius the wizard is casting fireball on his turn, and his foe casts counterspell on him. Cornelius also has counterspell prepared, so he uses his reaction to cast it and break his foe’s counterspell before it can stop fireball.
"
What may be tripping you up is that it is true that if you use a bonus action to cast a spell, then (and only then) you prevented from casting any other spells that turn except for cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. See the excerpt from the PBH below for the exact wording.
The Player's Handbook states in Chapter 10: Spellcasting in the "Casting a Spell" Section: https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/phb/spellcasting#CastingaSpell
-----
Casting Time
Most spells require a single action to cast, but some spells require a bonus action, a reaction, or much more time to cast.
Bonus Action
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
Pretty good situational and combo spell.
Situational:
Combos:
Wrong if you cast a spell as a bonus action you can't cast anything but a cantrip. If you have action surge you can cast 2 fire balls if you wish.
You can't cast 2 level spells if one is a bonus action
here's the thing; we fought a fiend main boss, used magic circle and this the first time the party met him. was supposed to be scripted loss.