You gain the service of a familiar, a spirit that takes an animal form you choose: bat, cat, crab, frog (toad), hawk, lizard, octopus, owl, poisonous snake, fish (quipper), rat, raven, sea horse, spider, or weasel. Appearing in an unoccupied space within range, the familiar has the statistics of the chosen form, though it is a celestial, fey, or fiend (your choice) instead of a beast.
Your familiar acts independently of you, but it always obeys your commands. In combat, it rolls its own initiative and acts on its own turn. A familiar can't attack, but it can take other actions as normal.
When the familiar drops to 0 hit points, it disappears, leaving behind no physical form. It reappears after you cast this spell again. As an action, you can temporarily dismiss the familiar to a pocket dimension. Alternatively, you can dismiss it forever. As an action while it is temporarily dismissed, you can cause it to reappear in any unoccupied space within 30 feet of you. Whenever the familiar drops to 0 hit points or disappears into the pocket dimension, it leaves behind in its space anything it was wearing or carrying.
While your familiar is within 100 feet of you, you can communicate with it telepathically. Additionally, as an action, you can see through your familiar's eyes and hear what it hears until the start of your next turn, gaining the benefits of any special senses that the familiar has. During this time, you are deaf and blind with regard to your own senses.
You can't have more than one familiar at a time. If you cast this spell while you already have a familiar, you instead cause it to adopt a new form. Choose one of the forms from the above list. Your familiar transforms into the chosen creature.
Finally, when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the spell as if it had cast the spell. Your familiar must be within 100 feet of you, and it must use its reaction to deliver the spell when you cast it. If the spell requires an attack roll, you use your attack modifier for the roll.
* - (10 gp worth of charcoal, incense, and herbs that must be consumed by fire in a brass brazier)
We use the Strength description in the PHB. Obviously the familiar would also be limited by which appendages it has and whether it requires using them to move.
Lifting and Carrying
Your Strength score determines the amount of weight you can bear. The following terms define what you can lift or carry.
Carrying Capacity. Your carrying capacity is your Strength score multiplied by 15. This is the weight (in pounds) that you can carry, which is high enough that most characters don't usually have to worry about it.
Push, Drag, or Lift. You can push, drag, or lift a weight in pounds up to twice your carrying capacity (or 30 times your Strength score). While pushing or dragging weight in excess of your carrying capacity, your speed drops to 5 feet.
Size and Strength. Larger creatures can bear more weight, whereas Tiny creatures can carry less. For each size category above Medium, double the creature's carrying capacity and the amount it can push, drag, or lift. For a Tiny creature, halve these weights.
From Jeremy Crawford, in the Sage Advice Compendium:
If you use the Help action to distract a foe, do you have to stay within 5 feet of it for the action to work?
No, you can take the action and then move away. The action itself is what grants advantage to your ally, not your staying next to the foe.
It is a celestial, fey, or fiend, so technically it is a creature. Once summoned, it is corporeal, not magical.
I was thinking that too. It says it can use an action just not attack. So the way it's stated, you can. As always, it is up to your DM
Is there any reason this couldn't be combined with ritual casting? The number of ritual spells with a range of Touch is not huge, but there are some.
Can a familiar such as the owl use its action of talons against an opponent?
i believe it can - and an arcane trickster can then use it for sneak attack
Why is this only showing "Wizard"? Aren't we stil using 5e and isn't this an integral part of Warlock spells? WTF
Why is this only showing as "Wizard"? Why did they take "Warlock" off of it? I can't make a Pact of the Chain Warlock without the spell. WTF?
According to an optional feat in TCoE the druid may cast it (see source for further limitations on Wild Companion (Druid optional feats, TCoE)
They kind of have (see Wild Companion optional feat, TCoE)
Ruling Question:
If I TRUE POLYMORPH'ed my familliar into let's say a Tribal Warrior, would it
-become humanoid? (Like Diaval in Maleficent)
-become capable of using the Attack action? (since TRUE POLYMORPH "RAW" Rules state "The creature is limited in the actions it can perform by the nature of its new form")
-still be under my command and able to both deliver touch-ranged spells and disappear into its pocket dimension, etcetera? (Basically maintain its familiar feats)
Ask your DM.
so since the spell is a reaction that means you can deliver a spell and still take the dodge action?
I took magic initiate wizard as a ranger and the find familiar speel isn't listed. I've tried every way that I can think of to get this as the first level spell. All of the cantrips are available as are all of the other 1st level spells for wizard. Is this a dndbeyond issue or am I missing something important? silvery barbs also isn't listed under the available first level wizard spells, but I'm really only interested in the familiar.
Is there any reason/restriction as to why you couldn’t milk the poisonous snake for a vial or two of poison? I’ve got a party member with the poisoner feat and proficiency in alchemy tools that should be able to assist.
Does anyone know whether this spell creates the familiar from nothing, or if it summons an existing celestial, fey or fiend to manifest as your familiar?
And if the latter is the case, could you summon a specific celestial, fey or fiend to manifest as your familiar? (Given that it would adopt the statistics of the familiar form and get no new benefits; and also assuming it is a lesser entity of the chosen type, obviously not an Arch Demon or a Solar or an Arch Fey) Or is the creature assigned to you? Very odd and specific, but I'm curious anyway 😂
However the new feature in Unearthed Arcana, Cartomancer allows you to turn certain spells to a bonus action.
What are the cr limits for this
Do you know when your familiar drops to 0 if they aren't within 100 ft?