When you cast this spell, you inscribe a glyph that later unleashes a magical effect. You inscribe it either on a surface (such as a table or a section of floor or wall) or within an object that can be closed (such as a book, a scroll, or a treasure chest) to conceal the glyph. The glyph can cover an area no larger than 10 feet in diameter. If the surface or object is moved more than 10 feet from where you cast this spell, the glyph is broken, and the spell ends without being triggered.
The glyph is nearly invisible and requires a successful Intelligence (Investigation) check against your spell save DC to be found.
You decide what triggers the glyph when you cast the spell. For glyphs inscribed on a surface, the most typical triggers include touching or standing on the glyph, removing another object covering the glyph, approaching within a certain distance of the glyph, or manipulating the object on which the glyph is inscribed. For glyphs inscribed within an object, the most common triggers include opening that object, approaching within a certain distance of the object, or seeing or reading the glyph. Once a glyph is triggered, this spell ends.
You can further refine the trigger so the spell activates only under certain circumstances or according to physical characteristics (such as height or weight), creature kind (for example, the ward could be set to affect aberrations or drow), or alignment. You can also set conditions for creatures that don’t trigger the glyph, such as those who say a certain password.
When you inscribe the glyph, choose explosive runes or a spell glyph.
Explosive Runes. When triggered, the glyph erupts with magical energy in a 20-foot-radius sphere centered on the glyph. The sphere spreads around corners. Each creature in the area must make a Dexterity saving throw. A creature takes 5d8 acid, cold, fire, lightning, or thunder damage on a failed saving throw (your choice when you create the glyph), or half as much damage on a successful one.
Spell Glyph. You can store a prepared spell of 3rd level or lower in the glyph by casting it as part of creating the glyph. The spell must target a single creature or an area. The spell being stored has no immediate effect when cast in this way. When the glyph is triggered, the stored spell is cast. If the spell has a target, it targets the creature that triggered the glyph. If the spell affects an area, the area is centered on that creature. If the spell summons hostile creatures or creates harmful objects or traps, they appear as close as possible to the intruder and attack it. If the spell requires concentration, it lasts until the end of its full duration.
At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 4th level or higher, the damage of an explosive runes glyph increases by 1d8 for each slot level above 3rd. If you create a spell glyph, you can store any spell of up to the same level as the slot you use for the glyph of warding.
* - (incense and powdered diamond worth at least 200 gp, which the spell consumes)
@TheGnome5786
It’s an extra dimensional space meaning it is on another plane of existence (Astral Plane), there for it is not moving as it is sitting still in the space it was cast, the Astral Plane.
You’re debating the fact that I’m moving the bag, there for the dimension is moving too? In which case if I shake the bag I can create an earthquake of sorts in the Astral Plane with my bag of holding?
I’m pretty sure the Astral Plane does not move because I have a fancy bag that I can store stuff in, is directly connected to said plane of existence.
you could also argue, that mass comes into account when considering the 10ft radius of this spell. As an example, the spell works perfectly fine if you place it on/in an object in your current plane of existence. Yet technically you’re on a planet and the planet is moving, so there for it would break as soon as you cast it. Assuming the Astral Plane is the size of a planet (let’s be real, it’s a lot bigger) then the glyph of warding spell would also be tied to its mass and not the bag itself.
As stated above, it’s not like I can directly affect the Astral Plane’s physics by shaking my bag of holding.
Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t saying that this spell isn’t OP, because it is… In the right hands!
Sure, some DMs would hate you for doing something so absurd, but those aren’t the DMs I want to play with. I like it when my DMs respect out of the box thinking and reward that with the satisfaction of allowing you to do it. I have been in too many campaigns where the DM restricts you so much. It goes bland and stale and you are forced to play like an obedient child.
In my honest opinion, it becomes more of an adventure that the players control, rather than the DM railroading everything you do because it’s how they want it to be.
@ForthFinger
Yes, you can use this on a shield!
No, you cannot then move the shield more than 10 ft without breaking the glyph.
"Where you cast this spell" is referring to the physical location, not you the person. This addition was added to the spell to prevent players from doing exactly what you are trying to do, creating powerful, portable weapons or buffs. The spell is intended to be a sort of trap, like a stationary magical landmine. (Or, if we're getting creative, a stationary magical effect or buff)
I think many people are getting mixed up and believing that once they cast the spell, they cannot move more than 10ft away from it, but this is incorrect. You can 'set it and forget it'. The spellcaster can be on a different plane of existence, or even die, and the glyph will remain until either triggered, broken (by moving it), or magically dispelled.
I think as it is now, it's a well-balanced spell. Without the restrictions is has, it would be far too powerful. It's a little costly but can be put to some fun and creative uses. Fortifying your keep with hidden traps, boons and buffs is kind of like making your own lair, definitely a home turf advantage. You could also potentially craft a glyph at your campsite before a long rest, and then activate it before you leave in the morning to get a concentration-free buff while keeping all your spell slots for the day (as a trickster cleric, things like Pass without a Trace, Protection from Energy, Enhance Ability, and Polymorph would last an hour. Death Ward and Aid would last 8hrs! any and all could be useful boons to have up, if you have the money and spell slots to burn beforehand.) If you know where a fight is going to happen, you could rig the area with traps or buffs beforehand. (man, being able to have Spirit guardians, Spiritual weapon, Spirit Shroud, and Guardian of Faith all going at once would be bonkers, especially if they were concentration free and you could still invoke duplicity!)
Basically, good spell, but not overpowered spell - lots of limitations that prevent abuse and encourage strategy and creativity
I don't disagree this spell should have a material cost, but 200gp feels like way too high a cost for the average campaign. Also really wish that if you cast this spell at a higher level you could move an object with a glyph on it around (or maybe just a separate spell for it). Would be a fun to trick enemies or create magical grenades
this hurts that bard gets its but not druid.
Is Dispel magic the only way to remove the rune, from a trapped door for example?
"If the spell affects an area, the area is centered on that creature." Let's say you upcast this to 6th level, then load it with a Guards and Wards spell. This seems really cool, as you could then trigger the Guards and Wards quickly in an emergency, or have it trigger when an intruder enters your stronghold without saying the password.
However, how would that work? Normally Guards and Wards lets you set the affected area, but the Glyph spell says it must be centered on the creature that triggers the glyph. There are other spells that raise similar questions.
Perhaps Guards and Wards cannot be tied to this spell, as its range is listed as "Touch," even though it affects an area.
Nah, 200gp isn't that much for what is meant to be a cast-and-leave-for-a-long-time spell. I'm fine with that.
In most campaigns, by mid- to high-level, 200gp is thrown around pretty easily. It's meant, though, to prevent the casual use of the spell. You're not setting up glyphs of warding every time you settle down to sleep or something.
What I don't like, and will be bending/breaking for one of my NPCs, is that it can't be used aboard a ship because of the ten foot rule.
I want my necromancer/pirate captain to have glyphed various treasure chests of his and his cabin door. Obviously, though, the ship moves around.
Yes.
You can place a GOW in a bag of holding, but then you wouldn't be able to glyph a treasure chest.
Can a glyph of warding be a tattoo?
I think this might be the only way you can take advantage of the entire Tenser's Transformation spell without jumping through a dozen hoops. Put the glyph on something or other, have it set to cast Tenser's once you say a password, and then speak the password after putting on heavy armor.
- So if you decide to do a spell glyph at level 7. would it expend two level 7 spell slots? or just 1 ? -
- Can you Store Glyph of warding inside glyph of warding? -
You would need some way to access each page, i though of, Page 1 Levitate 5ft. page 2, Gust, Light breeze. Page 3 to end, Any spell..
my favorite trick with this is a trap I call the room that just explodes. you have a random room in your dungeon, and all that is inside is a 5ft room with a five different glyphs all set to go at once. good for getting the completionists dead. all the villain needs is 1000 gold, a closet, and to tell their minions not to go into the room. set up 3-4 in every dungeon.
To the they can only be used once. Theoretically glyph of warding recast itself. This would work for inputs and logic gates. However outputs would need to be replaced. And according to the page, you choose what triggers it. Therefore you could say when a triggers and b does not c triggers.
I feel like this is a poorly written rule. RAW you basically can't summon (most) creatures despite having rules for it. The wording is a bit clunky. Catapult doesn't have a specific area, but it affects a line up to a point so it kinda does. Conjure woodland beings doesn't target a creature or area. The only one that does is conjure elemental.
RAI I think it's supposed to be more versatile than is written. Not be moved, but in what is stored, and how the spell is supposed to interact.
Well, no mention of this on the first two pages or the last page of this comment section, but it doesn't specify the casting time of the stored spell.
I feel like having a boss fight where the high level magic user NPC (say a lich) could just instant cast simulacrum without ever expending a spell slot is a bit funky. Now the party is facing twice the threat (all the spell slots and powers), with one of them having half HP. Phew...
Edit: I just realized it doesn't exclude target: self...
Blood wizard money gang, we love prebuffing to the max.
In our campaign, We said that we could put some down in our nautiloid.
Since the whole ship moves with the glyph it acts as being in the same spot from where you cast it.