Level
Cantrip
Casting Time
1 Action
Range/Area
30 ft.
Components
V, S
Duration
1 Minute
School
Conjuration
Attack/Save
None
Damage/Effect
Utility
A spectral, floating hand appears at a point you choose within range. The hand lasts for the duration or until you dismiss it as an action. The hand vanishes if it is ever more than 30 feet away from you or if you cast this spell again.
You can use your action to control the hand. You can use the hand to manipulate an object, open an unlocked door or container, stow or retrieve an item from an open container, or pour the contents out of a vial. You can move the hand up to 30 feet each time you use it.
The hand can't attack, activate magic items, or carry more than 10 pounds.
What if I lift a 10 pounds rock with it, then hover it 30 feet above my opponent and drop it? The rules does support fall damage, but applied to living creatures. Inanimate objects do have AC (a rock would have AC 17), but I imagine if its possible to convert or apply damage that way. Personally, I would take the 1d6 per 10ft fall damage as a base damage and take the AC same as an ability score, in therms of modifier, adding +3 to the damage roll (due to 16 and 17 giving +3 modifier). Logically speaking, dropping a fogging rock on someone's head is indeed an attack, but gravity would be the culprit at the end, so if a player brings this to my campaign, I'd rather praise them for being smart than punishing them being strict to the rules...
Edit: I read some comments before mine, of course the target could do a DEX saving throw, only taking the damage at a fail.
I believe that qualifies as an attack is why
To bad you can't attack. It's spectral so going inside someone and squeezing there heart would be insane
Could someone summon it inside someone’s throat and making a fist to suffocate a creature? It’s not attacking, moving any sort of object, wielding any weapon. The RAW are a point of you choosing within range.
As far as i can see there is no way to 'Kill' the hand. So if you put the mage hand into someones mouth they are unable to cast spells with the verbal component unless they run 30ft away from you. Am i missing anything here?
no, but i think it would be possible to use the hand to reload it. Or at the very least help reloading it.
Use the ready action before combat to make the hand move into the path of the first attack made before your first turn by an enemy.
Trigger: An enemy begins to swing their weapon.
Response: Cast mage hand so that the hand gets hit instead of you, thus preventing you from taking damage.
To what yesah1234567 said: That would be making an attack, and it says that the hand cannot attack, so that would sadly not be possible. However, if you were to aim the pistol with mage hand and hit the trigger with, for example, a fire bolt, you could still shoot someone, it would just take two actions. Also may blow up the pistol.
Although both can cast mage hand, arcane tricksters can make it invisible.
You could consider this the object “Falling onto a Creature” as described in Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything, forcing the target to make a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw or be impacted by the rock, taking half of the fall damage while the rock takes the other half, thus dealing up to 3d6 divided by 2 bludgeoning damage if the target fails its save. But only a Chaotic Evil character would have so little mercy on the poor rock!
As said in Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything, you can modify the appearance of a spell as long as it doesn’t affect the statistics of the spell or make it look like another spell.
My thoughts exactly.
I know that at least in the 2024 Player’s Handbook version, the feat specifies “within 5 feet” of you, so sadly no.
I think that it would probably work.
Wall of force is still way too broken, thought, for a variety of other reasons.
I made a homebrew metamagic option called "Reactive spell". ***Reactive Spell (3/Day):*** When he or another creature is targeted by an enemy, James can use his reaction to immediately cast a spell in response. The spell he casts must have a casting time of 1 Action or 1 Bonus Action and cannot deal damage directly.
Do I need the telekinetic feat to use mage hand to recreate the Kanan Jarrus missle redirection from Star Wars rebels?
Ah yes a good reminder of the time that a person in the school’s campaign found a way to drop a five foot cubed block of ice from 30 feet into the air in one turn