Level
Cantrip
Casting Time
1 Action
Range/Area
30 ft.
Components
V, S
Duration
1 Minute
School
Conjuration
Attack/Save
None
Damage/Effect
Utility
A spectral, floating hand appears at a point you choose within range. The hand lasts for the duration or until you dismiss it as an action. The hand vanishes if it is ever more than 30 feet away from you or if you cast this spell again.
You can use your action to control the hand. You can use the hand to manipulate an object, open an unlocked door or container, stow or retrieve an item from an open container, or pour the contents out of a vial. You can move the hand up to 30 feet each time you use it.
The hand can't attack, activate magic items, or carry more than 10 pounds.
Would it be possible to summon this in somebodys bloodstream and just, stop the flow of blood throughout their entire body or would I need wall of force for that
Under Rules As Written, no, because the spell description says exactly what things you can do with the hand, and that's not one of them. Also, this is kind of a gray area but as a DM I would probably not allow summoning things inside of creatures in general.
Right. This Cantrip is supposed to cause death. Drop 10 pounds from 30 feet, done. **insert sarcasm here**
I understand your thought process, however it clearly states it cannot make attacks. I suspect dealing damage to something would be considered an attack. Furthermore, would the person getting attacked get a DEX saving roll? And how much damage would actually be done? An argument can certainly be made that Mage Hand could flip the switch that causes damage and I would agree with that (like pulling a rope on a trebuchet for instance) but the damage dealt is already calculate from that weapon, not from some speculative direct Mage Hand damage.
DnD is not science. You can't remove all the water from a character with Create or Destroy Water either. It's a role playing game, Mage Hand is not intended to kill directly. Obviously.
It says, "at a point you choose within range." This means you don't have to see the point. So, just summon the hand inside of the enemies skull, and give their brain a little shake (the average human brain weighs ~3 pounds). Or, give one of the blood vessels in their brain a little squeeze and cause an aneurysm rupture. The possibilities are endless.
As far as I know there is no rule saying you can’t just strangle the tarrasqe with this.
What about a ten pound object? >:)
I get that we can't use Mage Hand to 'attack' but what about using it more defensively? 10 lbs of lift, or manipulation, could be useful, but not as an attack. What if I used my Mage Hand to grab the tip of a sword or mace and exert 10lbs of force in random directions? It isn't an attack to injure the enemy, it is to disorient his attack? 10lbs of force when gripping a bowstring will make the shot more difficult. Couldn't this impose disadvantage on the enemy?
If I hold my action to cast Mage Hand when I see a spell caster about to cast a spell. And the spell caster is within 30'. Can I have it appear in his mouth. I do not have to see there the hand appears.
AN embarrassing way to prevent a caster from casting a spell with verbal component. or have him waste counterspell on a cantrip.
I'm amazed at how many people here struggle with reading comprehension and not understanding D&D.
The problem with things like this is that the Ready action specifies that your action happens after the triggering event. It's not a reaction like Counterspell. If I were DMing I would say that would only allow you to mess with a spell that requires more than one turn to cast, and it's very rare to see someone try to cast a spell like that in combat.
Can a one handed PC use Mage Hand to assist lifting a two handed weapon? Not saying the mage hand can attack with the weapon, just fulfil the two hands needed requirement to lift the two handed weapon? I want my one armed badass barbarian... Or something bad ass with one arm.
As a DM, I'd say sure, but a lot of people would probably say no for various reasons despite your character having what I can only assume to be a player (you) given disability and you're trying to find a cool way around it.
Most Magic systems do follow physics though
Thank you DMThay! I was getting so frustrated that the whole premise relies on a highly flawed understanding of weight, acceleration, velocity, gravity, and is basically just a free-for-all of interchanging forces incorrectly. It's ridiculous it took 4 pages and over 50 posts for someone to deconstruct all the way the premise completely misunderstands the core physics of it's own argument. It's even more ridiculous that there are still 4 more pages after that of people continuing to miss the plot
Then how can it grab stuff?
You can throw a baseball at 90 miles per hour, sure, but that's exerting force of well over 10 pounds. I'm sure my physics majors have formulas for that.
as a DM I would rule the mage hand is too clumsy to spin an object around 210 mph.
I think that limitations on mage hand spell description let us understand the hand is not agile.
You could pull a lever, after you first construct some fancy throwing machine like a trebuchet. Then you would need some other skills and equipment too, not only mage hand.
I would not let you use sling with mage hand. Maybe you could invent some higher level hand spell that can do it?
I would let you use your action to try to grapple your enemy with clumsy hand that can handle 10lb.
maybe something like this:
strength of the hand is 1 (-5) turns out to be DC 3, if I am nice i could maybe give you your arcane bonus on top of that. maybe you have arcane skill of +6 so the DC is now 9 because you are a great mage after all.
Now enemy can make a DC 9 strength saving throw (with advantage because the hand is clumsy), or the enemy has disadvantage on its attacks, as long as you concentrate on twisting the weapon with mage hand and the enemy does not use its action to twist the weapon out of the grapple and succeed with DC 9 strength save with advantage. we must remember that the hand cannot handle the weight of the enemy, so it cannot stop it from moving. Enemy can also move over 30 feet to slip out from the hand.
if the enemy does not have weapon that the hand is able to manipulate (say it would weigh over 10lb, bear claw for example) then the hand would be ineffective.
but you cannot target inside your enemies skulls, because that area is in total cover. Spell needs a clear path to the target unless spell description says otherwise. You could target the surface of your enemies hat, maybe to shake that hat.
Yes, please. My DM will listen if I can prove it thoroughly.