This spell transforms a creature that you can see within range into a new form. An unwilling creature must make a Wisdom saving throw to avoid the effect. The spell has no effect on a shapechanger or a creature with 0 hit points.
The transformation lasts for the duration, or until the target drops to 0 hit points or dies. The new form can be any beast whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target's (or the target's level, if it doesn't have a challenge rating). The target's game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast. It retains its alignment and personality.
The target assumes the hit points of its new form. When it reverts to its normal form, the creature returns to the number of hit points it had before it transformed. If it reverts as a result of dropping to 0 hit points, any excess damage carries over to its normal form. As long as the excess damage doesn't reduce the creature's normal form to 0 hit points, it isn't knocked unconscious.
The creature is limited in the actions it can perform by the nature of its new form, and it can't speak, cast spells, or take any other action that requires hands or speech.
The target's gear melds into the new form. The creature can't activate, use, wield, or otherwise benefit from any of its equipment.
* - (a caterpillar cocoon)
PC fails his ST and is polyed into a rat. Said rat is tossed into a room full of cats, who proceed to do what cats do with rats. If PC survives, once the spell wears off will he retain knowledge of what happened while in rat form? Or will it be more of a ‘dream’ in his mind?
Does polymorph work on Changelings?
Beast and undead are tags on the stat block so probably cannot polymorph into undead as it only says beasts.
4th level spell does mean you get it at your character's 4th level. Confusing yeah, but like, some classes get access to certain level of spells earlier or later than other classes. The Bard page says they get a 4th level spell slot, and thus those spells, at level 7.
A swarm of cranium rats, according to its stat block is a medium swarm of tiny beasts, so technically the creature type is swarm. It is made up of more than one beast so if you wanted to use polymorph in this way, you would have to settle for transforming into a single cranium rat.
Something that I feel should be amended.
"The creature is limited in the actions it can perform by the nature of its new form, and it can't speak, cast spells, or take any other action that requires hands or speech."
As written, if you were to polymorph into an ape or giant ape, you could not use the attacks included in their stat blocks (Fist, and Rock) as both attacks require hands and are also made using the attack action (Fist being an action that requires hands).
If this were amended it would likely allow these two creatures to use weapons and items they weren't carrying when the spell was cast on them as well. Considering both creatures have an Intelligence score of 6, and it is also very possible for a player character to also have this value for Intelligence and still use weapons, it would stand to reason that a character polymorphed into one of these two forms (or a similar one and providing an amendment to the spell was made) could use weapons while transformed.
A character still would not be able to speak, but using weapons (which they likely would not be proficient with while transformed) would still be fairly balanced, considering the Ape's low HP and the Giant Ape's ability to deal more damage than any medium sized weapon.
If i use polymorph on myself and i have Mage armor active that last 8hours. Or any other spell withTime. That spells still active?? Or You Lost it? Mirror image??
Polymorph is not a concentration spell. It ends either in one hour or when the beast is killed.
Nothing is forcing the transformation to happen at the same rate over every part of the rat/troll body. The body or object is ejected. If anything becomes trapped, the transformation will simply not complete until the encumbrance is removed.
The body part would be trapped and the rest of the troll would be restored with hit points etc.
How do you determine the CR lvl of the beast and do you need to know wat it looks like, if never seen it?
where can I find true polymorph
If an intellect devourer takes over someone and my druid casts polymorph on that person? What happens to the Intellect Devourer? If I make the target super small, is the devourer forced out? or would it be trapped inside? If it's forced out, does the person I cast it on just auto die and the spell is gone?
I would allow it but that's up to your specific DM
It is a "4th level spell", which a 5th level caster cannot use yet. This confusion has been around since the 1st edition of the game, and gets newer users all the time. For "caster classes", such as the wizard, an easy rule of thumb is that they get access to a new spell level at every ODD class level. This is not 100%, but is a solid "quick reference". Be aware that "half casters", such as rangers and paladins, arcane trickers and eldritch knights, this is completely thrown out and you should refer to teh class.
As a bard, you are a "caster class", so your spell progression follows my rule of thumb; you get access to a new level of spell at odd bard levels.
Bard Level - Spell Level Access
1 1
3 2
5 3
7 4
etc. ...Bards get access to 4th level spells at 7th level.
Depending on your dm, it could be anything from the spell not working at all, to you being crushed to death, or even you becoming a tiny T Rex (I like the third option)
I'm actually been researching aka tje bbeg uses the spell to turn an evil rogue into a beholder.
Having read this spell now, it's idiotic to cast this on yourself if you actually lose your own mental stats.
does polymorph stop if the person who casts it loses attention of the creature he/she morphed
When a creature reverts back from a giant ape let’s say and they are hanging from a railing, what would happen? How would they shrink back down?