This spell transforms a creature that you can see within range into a new form. An unwilling creature must make a Wisdom saving throw to avoid the effect. The spell has no effect on a shapechanger or a creature with 0 hit points.
The transformation lasts for the duration, or until the target drops to 0 hit points or dies. The new form can be any beast whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target's (or the target's level, if it doesn't have a challenge rating). The target's game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast. It retains its alignment and personality.
The target assumes the hit points of its new form. When it reverts to its normal form, the creature returns to the number of hit points it had before it transformed. If it reverts as a result of dropping to 0 hit points, any excess damage carries over to its normal form. As long as the excess damage doesn't reduce the creature's normal form to 0 hit points, it isn't knocked unconscious.
The creature is limited in the actions it can perform by the nature of its new form, and it can't speak, cast spells, or take any other action that requires hands or speech.
The target's gear melds into the new form. The creature can't activate, use, wield, or otherwise benefit from any of its equipment.
* - (a caterpillar cocoon)
Is there any CR limit of what you can turn yourself into? My idea is to transform into a high ranking demon that can fly.
"The new form can be any beast whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target's (or the target's level, if it doesn't have a challenge rating)."
Vallid polymorph-into options must be:
So no polying into a demon.
is an object a creature? Or is an object an object?
Cmon.
Let's bring this all together.
The spell description answers a lot of the questions that have been raised.
Would a monk polymorphed into a giant ape still have monk abilities?
No. All of the monk's game stats are replaced by those of a giant ape.
Could a caster maintain concentration after casting the spell on themselves?
Possibly. Since the spell was already cast, losing the spellcasting ability wouldn't end the spell. Detect thoughts implies that a creature with Int 3 or less has no thoughts. If the beast form has Int 3 or less, it's likely it wouldn't be able to keep concentration. Higher Int, however, could easily still be capable of concentrating on the spell, using the Con of its new form to make saves if it takes damage.
Can power word kill be used to kill a polymorphed creature?
Yes, but it only kills the polymorphed form. Here's the order of operations.
The general rule that dead creatures can't regain hit points prevents effects such as cure wounds from restoring the dead by adding hit points. In the case of polymorph, specific rules override general. The dead creature isn't truly regaining hit points. It's returning to its alive, pre-polymorphed state.
Can a fiend warlock eventually cast polymorph?
If you take the Sculptor of Flesh invocation you can cast it once per long rest using a spell slot. Otherwise, it's not on the Warlock spell list.
"The spell has no effect on a shapechanger" - So... does this work on Changelings? How about Druids? Plasmoids?
This is not very well specified in the rules, but I think the intent is for creatures who actually have a "Shapechanger" feature in their stat block — such as Imps, Mimics, or Doppelgangers — to be immune to it. That said, I think it would be reasonable to argue that it shouldn't work on a Changeling or a Druid. Plasmoids would be a bit more of a stretch in my opinion.
Maybe 2d12
I have plans for a hag that has a belt with rats on them. occasionally the hag may snap the neck of the rat and throw it you might be wondering what would the point be to that its just a dead rat. it is actually a polymorphed troll so..... TACTICAL TROLL.
If the creature doesn't fit into the available space, I would first look at the squeezing rules (chapter 9 - Basic Rules). If the creature is still too large (i.e. 2 size categories or more) then it would take crushing damage for both the creature and the structure equal to the lesser of the HP of the creature or the structure. So, unless you are in a flimsy structure like a wooden shack, the creature's HP would be reduced to 0, reverting it to its original form, and thus wasting the spell.
Squeezing into a Smaller Space
A creature can squeeze through a space that is large enough for a creature one size smaller than it. Thus, a Large creature can squeeze through a passage that's only 5 feet wide. While squeezing through a space, a creature must spend 1 extra foot for every foot it moves there, and it has disadvantage on attack rolls and Dexterity saving throws. Attack rolls against the creature have advantage while it's in the smaller space.
Yess
Can you polymorph a ghost?
My players have several times polymorphed huge/giant opponents into turtles (slow and easy to handle), then stuffed them into cramped spaces and ended the spell, thus chrushing the monster. Alternatively have they transformed the foe into a worm, let a familar fly it high into the sky and returned it to its natural form just after letting go, letting gravity do the work.
As a DM I love the creativity but also hate that most foes easily can be defeated this way and have yet another encounter become ridiculously easy, so I wonder how to limit the use aside from avoiding any cracks and open skies. Of course, I can have one more monster than they can transform, but that can also be a problem to match the story etc.
Another thing: Is the transformation instant or gradually during a round? The PC's wanted to transform an ally in a 15' wide hallway, and we discussed whether that would crush the people next to it or if they would be pushed away instead.
How do I add the creature as a warlock? As in the creature I am morphed into
Technically yes, but it would end immediately becasue your concentration would be broken.
Hey in my dnd group we polymorph a party member and they got shot out of it. Is there orientation still the same from his original form or does it change with the orientation of the creature