Level
Cantrip
Casting Time
1 Action
Range/Area
120 ft.
Components
V, S
Duration
Instantaneous
School
Evocation
Attack/Save
Ranged
Damage/Effect
Acid (...)
You cast sorcerous energy at one creature or object within range. Make a ranged spell attack against the target. On a hit, the target takes 1d8 damage of a type you choose: Acid, Cold, Fire, Lightning, Poison, Psychic, or Thunder.
If you roll an 8 on a d8 for this spell, you can roll another d8, and add it to the damage. When you cast this spell, the maximum number of these d8s you can add to the spell’s damage equals your spellcasting ability modifier.
Cantrip Upgrade. The damage increases by 1d8 when you reach levels 5 (2d8), 11 (3d8), and 17 (4d8).
I would rule the crit is seperate. It specifically states "maximum number of these" (referring to the extra d8 from rolling max) is your modifier.
Whereas crit rules state: " A Critical Hit lets you roll extra dice for the attack’s damage against the target. Roll all of the attack’s damage dice twice and add them together". It does not state it comes from the same source of pool, and instead implies these additional dice are for all intents and purposes, crit dice.
So it may mind, similar to sneak attack, you roll everything twice. If we ruled this way, you could argue that a rogue only gets 3d8 sneak attack damage,. and a crit doesn't affect that as the rules state they only get 3d8 sneak damage, and therefore can't get more.
It would be 5d8.
When you reach level 5 the damage increases two 2d8. However, the "maximum number of these" (referring to the extra d8 from rolling max) is your modifier. So it would be the 2d8 from the base attack, plus an extra 3 if you roll an 8 3 times.
Now if you also managed to crit, and roll a load of 8s. It would be a cantrip that did 10d8 at level 5. But the odds are so very very very small.
"...Make a ranged attack roll against the target. On a hit, the target takes 1d8 damage of a type you choose: ..."
It is not an errata? It is says RANGED ATTACK ROLL, NOT RANGED SPELL ATTACK ROLL??!!
It was updated after the last errata, but at the time of writing this, it's not in the Changelog - - D&D Beyond
I have been thinking of shenanigans you could pull with this but it would depend on the minutiae of the rules and what your DM allows.
My first thought is Twinned Spell - reading the exact description it says ‘the maximum number of d8s you can add to the spell’s damage equals your spellcasting modifier’ and twinned spell says ‘you make a SINGLE spell target two creatures instead of one’ - since it is one spell being cast, it could be interpreted that between the two targets, you only add up to your spellcasting modifier’s worth in total. However, I’d argue that you could double the amount of dice by rolling damage separately for each target and applying the adding effect to each set of damage.
Then, if you were to multiclass this with Tempest Cleric and used Channel Divinity: Destructive Wrath (if you were using lightning or thunder damage) - you could automatically roll a number of d8s equal to ‘1 + spellcasting modifier’ because with Destructive Wrath ‘When you roll lightning or thunder damage you can use your channel divinity to deal max damage instead of rolling’ meaning you would get an 8 on every die, thus meaning you would automatically add the most d8s you can.
This is deffo something to discuss with your DM to see if they would allow it because it’s not exactly clear by interpretation of the rules but I think it’s pretty cool for a cantrip!
There was a discussion on the D&D Beyond forums a while ago about that second thing, the Destructive Wrath thing. I think the general consensus was that because Destructive Wrath says you deal max damage "instead of rolling", and Sorcerous Burst's exploding die effect says "if you roll an 8", technically this interaction doesn't apply. Some DMs might choose to allow it.