Level
1st
Casting Time
1 Bonus Action
Range/Area
Touch
Components
V, S, M *
Duration
1 Minute
School
Transmutation
Attack/Save
None
Damage/Effect
Movement
You touch a willing creature. Once on each of its turns until the spell ends, that creature can jump up to 30 feet by spending 10 feet of movement.
Using a Higher-Level Spell Slot. You can target one additional creature for each spell slot level above 1.
* - (a grasshopper’s hind leg)
Does the jump spell enable you to jump down of a bridge without taking falling damage? Eg I am on a 30’ high bridge and jump off down to the ground below?
if I jump 30’ up to touch the ceiling without grabbing it do I then take 30’ falling damage when I come back down? If I jump 15’ to touch the ceiling does the 15’ up plus 15’ down count as a 30’ jump?
No, this spell has no effect on falling damage. This spell just decreases the amount of movement you need to spend to jump a certain distance. If it reduced falling damage in some way, it would say that.
The spell Feather Fall is the main magical way of reducing falling damage.
If you jump 30 feet up without grabbing it, then you fall 30 feet down. You'd take 3d6 bludgeoning damage when you hit the ground.
Jumping 15 feet to the ceiling is a 15-foot jump. You can't jump down off the ceiling, because that's not what jumping is.
You say that like it's not the funniest thing.
Does this work with monks using step of the wind, which doubles your jump distance for a turn?
I don't see why not.
So I've put a thread in the rules discussion: https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/dungeons-dragons-discussion/rules-game-mechanics/220289-jump-spell-and-distance#c2
But how does this spell work with the Glossary rules for jumping which state that when you jump, each 1ft you jump costs 1ft of your movement? The spell doesn't explicity say that it replaces the normal jump rules. I imply from it that the lets you reach a 20ft jump distance without the need for your Str to be 20.
How does this work alongside effects that duplicate your jump distance, such as Step of the Wind? Do you get a 60 foot jump by spending only 10?
Technically, no — this doesn't actually change your jump distance, it just gives you a once-per-turn "discount" on the movement cost of jumping.
However, if I were DMing, I'd probably allow it on the grounds that it seems more fun.
Correct. Because this is exactly how the spell description says it works.
False. You are so wrong. You are mixing all the rules you can think of. What a mess.
This spell allows you to do exactly what the spell description says. Nowhere in the spell does it say anything about damage or falling. You can jump any distance any direction, as long as its limited to 30 feet.
You can jump 30' straight up an land without damage. If you magically enhance your take off force (jump thrust) to propell you 30' up, then you can use that exact force to cushion the landing. As one does when one jumps (remember how the spell is called "jump"?). All jumps include the landing. Thus, the landing is part of the jump, which means the landing is part of the spell, and the landing is magically enhanced.
As per normal logical reasoning, you can also step off a 30' cliff without taking damage (jumping downwards). My buddy, who's at the bottom of the cliff using the same jump spell, is able to jump up to my exact height (at the top of the cliff), then "fall" back down and land safely, taking no damage. Then I jump the exact same distance, starting from the top. Why would I take damage when I land? Makes no sense. We both have buffed, super thick, magically enhanced thighs for one minute. Jumping 30 feet down a cliff is 100% in accordance with the spell description.
You are jumping. You are not falling. At all. The fall rules do not apply here. Not even close. Just because the direction is downwards doesn't automatically change the jump into a fall. Have you ever seen anyone jump onto a boat from the docks, or jump off a roof or across a creek, nailing the jump, only to hear them describe how they fell? Ofcourse not. Because they didn't fall. Almost all jumps includes a downwards movement and a landing, without making them into falls. Falling implies a loss of control, something that has not occurred here. You are still just jumping (which includes a magically enhanced landing).
Dont try to be smart and mix all the rules. Stick to the spell description.
Yes it does. Once per turn, at a cost of 10 movement, it sets your jumping distance up to 30 feet without direction restrictions. As per the spell description.
That's literally all the spell does. No "discount". No "falling". No "damage".
You cast the spell. Then you jump, once per turn, up to 30 feet, however you like.
Why is it so hard to comprehend this spell description? Two short sentences. Thats it.
Yes. Yes you can. Because the spell's description says so.
No. You will take no falling damage because you are not falling, and thus the falling rules do not apply.
You are jumping, and the landing is part of that jump, something the spell also enhances.