Level
Cantrip
Casting Time
1 Action
Range/Area
30 ft.
Components
V, S
Duration
1 Minute
School
Conjuration
Attack/Save
None
Damage/Effect
Utility
A spectral, floating hand appears at a point you choose within range. The hand lasts for the duration. The hand vanishes if it is ever more than 30 feet away from you or if you cast this spell again.
When you cast the spell, you can use the hand to manipulate an object, open an unlocked door or container, stow or retrieve an item from an open container, or pour the contents out of a vial.
As a Magic action on your later turns, you can control the hand thus again. As part of that action, you can move the hand up to 30 feet.
The hand can’t attack, activate magic items, or carry more than 10 pounds.







-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 4, 2024Basically the same, but with slightly clearer wording.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 21, 2024yep
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 29, 2024No, Eric, you can't shove people off of a cliff like in BG3, it's right here, SEE?!
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 27, 2024Reusing the Magic Hand was a bonus action, now it is an action.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 1, 2024I need a rule clarification. Can mage hand steal an object from another creature, when you're character is not an arcane trickster?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 18, 2024I don't think so, no. Picking someone's pocket or otherwise stealing something off of their person goes beyond "manipulating an object" and into the area of making a Sleight of Hand check, which is not one of the things the spell says it can do. As you point out, the Arcane Trickster subclass does have a feature that allows this, though.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 6, 2025It was always an action unless you were playing an arcane trickster.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 19, 2025I have four words for you: mage hand particle accelerator
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Aug 6, 2025Does mage hand allows me to sneak attack by standing bebind an enemy? Or have to use "help" or something?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Aug 6, 2025As arcane trickster... Honestly, mage hand should be able to shot a gun xD, i mean, up ton10 lb, gun is 3 lb, bro i can pickpoecket you with expertise with this hand, but press the trigger is to hard... And dont tell me trigger are crazzy hard to pull, thats now, for security, not in done or when guns were created... I understand not been able to attack with dagger, sword or punches couse lack of strength, but bro, pull the trigger, common gimme that...
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Aug 11, 2025The hand isn't a creature, so it being adjacent to an enemy doesn't enable Sneak Attack. It also can't take the Help action, because again, it's not a creature.
The spell description tells you what the hand can do.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 1, 2025what?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 5, 2025If the hand can interact with objects, does that mean it could block an arrow, or stop a creature if it runs into it?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 8, 2025It can't block an arrow, because it can only act when you use your action to make it act; it can't react to things happening on other people's turns.
It can't stop a creature that runs into it, because the spell doesn't say it can do that (and because a creature is not an object).
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 7, 2025Cool hand
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 9, 2025Can somebody clarify this for me? So the spell says “The hand lasts for the duration. The hand vanishes if it is ever more than 30 feet away from you or if you cast this spell again.” So if you have an ability that increases the range of Mage Hand(like the Stronger Telekinesis ability of the Psykinetic subclass for the Psion class, which at the time of writing (October 2025) is still UA but you get my point), that ability functionally does nothing right? Because Mage Hand specifically states that you can’t have it more than 30ft away from you? PLEASE SEND HELP!!!!!!
(sorry for the wording, words aren’t a strong suit of mine)
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 13, 2025A very strict reading of the rules might say that, yes, though it's pretty clear that the intent of that ability is to increase both the casting range and the range the hand can be away from you.
The updated version of the Telekinetic feat from the 2024 Player's Handbook had a similar problem. In April 2025 they released some errata that updated the description of that feat such that it explicitly increases the distance the hand can be away from you. I would treat the Psykinetic's ability the same way in practice, and they may well update it before it actually gets published. Responding to the Psion UA survey and giving this as feedback would be a good idea.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 14, 2025Thanks for the help, really appreciate it
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 14, 2025No problem!