Level
1st
Casting Time
1 Action
Range/Area
30 ft.
(30 ft. )
Components
V, S, M *
Duration
Instantaneous
School
Transmutation
Attack/Save
None
Damage/Effect
Creation
You do one of the following:
Create Water. You create up to 10 gallons of clean water within range in an open container. Alternatively, the water falls as rain in a 30-foot Cube within range, extinguishing exposed flames there.
Destroy Water. You destroy up to 10 gallons of water in an open container within range. Alternatively, you destroy fog in a 30-foot Cube within range.
Using a Higher-Level Spell Slot. You create or destroy 10 additional gallons of water, or the size of the Cube increases by 5 feet, for each spell slot level above 1.
* - (a mix of water and sand)
Why must the water be in the container? Can you not clear water out of a puddle? Can you not create a large cube of water in the space of a Fire Elemental? Can you not demolish a Water Elemental? Must you be forced to make water in only containers?
I imagine the necessity for a container comes from trying to avoid, "I summon the water in the bad guy's lungs," or, "I destroy all the water in the bad guy, turning him into a dried husk."
In the SPECIAL column in the Cleric spell list it does not show "M".
Then when I go into the spell itself it shows "M".
This is true of a number of spells in the special column in spell lists.
Is the special column in the spell list of any use if I have to go into each spell to find out the requirements?
Even creating a large cube of water in the space of a Fire Elemental wouldn't do a significant amount of damage.
Water Susceptibility. For every 5 feet the elemental moves in water, or for every gallon of water splashed on it, it takes 1 cold damage.
Since this spell creates 10 gallons of water per spell level, it would do 10 points of damage per spell level. I think it's safe to assume that it could do the same amount of damage to an water elemental. Seems like other spells and attacks would be much more effective.
Is your enemy's lungs not a container?
That seems pretty obviously contrary to the spirit of how the spell is intended to work.
Lungs arent empty, nor open, theyre filled with spongy bronchioles, plus any competent dm is obviously going to block this as its a pretty consistently bad faith decision
how is this NOT conjuration?
The spell actually makes no mention of the container needing to be "empty", and I would argue that containers are "open" when there is a clear path from the outside to the inside, so lungs are "open" as long as the creature is breathing (not holding its breath or swallowing). The real argument to be made is whether a set of lungs counts as a "container".
In the Basic Rules, the list of official containers does include "Chest" and the description of a Chest in the Player's Handbook only mentions that it "holds up to 12 cubic feet of contents." So a Chest is very clearly a container (it even has the "container" tag) and there is nothing in the rules specifying that a living chest made of flesh on a being's torso doesn't count. However, 10 gallons only translates to about 1.33681 cubic feet, so if any and every chest holds "up to 12 cubic feet", you'd need to upcast this spell at 9th level to completely fill a chest.
According to the Player's Handbook, a creature can hold its breath for "a number of minutes equal to 1 plus its Constitution modifier" and once it runs out of breath it begins suffocating, at which point it gains a level of exhaustion at the end of each of its turns (once the creature can breathe again the exhaustion goes back to what it was before they were suffocating). If it gains 6 levels of exhaustion, it dies. Considering that you're filling its lungs with water, it'd probably automatically run out of breath and go straight into suffocation. So following the letter of the law, there is nothing expressly prohibiting you from creating water in an enemy's lungs, and it would pretty handily lead to their death.
All this being said, yeah, I doubt any DM would let you get away with this, so... oh well.