Choose one creature or nonmagical object that you can see within range. The creature shape-shifts into a different creature or a nonmagical object, or the object shape-shifts into a creature (the object must be neither worn nor carried). The transformation lasts for the duration or until the target dies or is destroyed, but if you maintain Concentration on this spell for the full duration, the spell lasts until dispelled.
An unwilling creature can make a Wisdom saving throw, and if it succeeds, it isn’t affected by this spell.
Creature into Creature. If you turn a creature into another kind of creature, the new form can be any kind you choose that has a Challenge Rating equal to or less than the target’s Challenge Rating or level. The target’s game statistics are replaced by the stat block of the new form, but it retains its Hit Points, Hit Point Dice, alignment, and personality.
The target gains a number of Temporary Hit Points equal to the Hit Points of the new form. These Temporary Hit Points vanish if any remain when the spell ends.
The target is limited in the actions it can perform by the anatomy of its new form, and it can’t speak or cast spells.
The target’s gear melds into the new form. The creature can’t use or otherwise benefit from any of that equipment.
Object into Creature. You can turn an object into any kind of creature, as long as the creature’s size is no larger than the object’s size and the creature has a Challenge Rating of 9 or lower. The creature is Friendly to you and your allies. In combat, it takes its turns immediately after yours, and it obeys your commands.
If the spell lasts more than an hour, you no longer control the creature. It might remain Friendly to you, depending on how you have treated it.
Creature into Object. If you turn a creature into an object, it transforms along with whatever it is wearing and carrying into that form, as long as the object’s size is no larger than the creature’s size. The creature’s statistics become those of the object, and the creature has no memory of time spent in this form after the spell ends and it returns to normal.
* - (a drop of mercury, a dollop of gum arabic, and a wisp of smoke)
so if you made a clone out of this new form youd only have your old health?
Did no one realize that making the spell end early if the target runs out of temporary hit points means the spell can only ever last until the target's next long rest? Or is that intentional? Because either way its sloppy and unclear.
in https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dnd/free-rules/spell-descriptions#TruePolymorph
the wording "The spell ends early on the target if it has no Temporary Hit Points left." is missing.
The target is limited in the actions it can perform by the anatomy of its new form, and it can’t speak or cast spells.
So you are permanently mute, even if you transform into something that can normally speak.
Yeah, the wording here is strange. I was wondering the same thing.
This is worded terribly. When the spell is made semi-permanent what happens to the health? Otherwise that just ends on a long rest, but it says it lasts until dispelled.
Also, "and it can’t speak or cast spells." the use of "and" implies you cant do either of those no matter what. Can your new dragon form not speak or spellcast? Why?
Wow, what a truly bizarre implementation of the "Creature into Creature" option. They've essentially copied the wording from the 2024 version of the Polymorph spell, and replaced the word "beast" with "creature". There are several problems with this:
For DM's and WOTC, my recommendations for fixing this would be:
The key word in the spell is that it ends "early" if they run out of temporary hit points. So if it reaches its full hour duration, a transformation will still become permanent until dispelled. So, taking a full rest would not undo the transformation. Rather the lingering question is whether, after an hour if the creature will fully take on the health of the creature the target became, or if it would keep its old hit point.
...So what if the boss has no minions to try and end the concentration? What happens if you're playing as a creature that can hold its breath infinitely, then you just jump in a Bag of Holding (Holding your knees to your torso to fit, of course,) and then keep concentration for an hour?
Yes, the "Creature into Creature" section is a total mess. As Knightin_gal wrote, it looks like the copied and pasted the 2024 Polymorph spell and replaced "beast" with "creature" which creates a host of nonsensical problems.
I get the simplicity you're going for in suggestion 1 in trying to fix this mess.
But, don't we end up with nonsensical situations like a normally 300 HP creature having the hitpoints of a wizard? Or the other way around, some low hitpoint thing like a newt ending up with the hit points of a dragon?
You know, with True Polymorph, he won't get better 😅 he's a newt forever. If I'm punishing Smaug by using True Polymorph on him it'd be weird if he ended up as a newt with 200 hp.
I don't know the best way to word it, maybe something along the lines of:
"When this spell becomes permanent at the end of the hour, the creature's maximum hit points become equal to its new form's maximum hit points, and the creature's current hit points become equal to its current temporary hit points, unless its temporary hit points are higher than its new maximum, in which case its current hit points become equal to its new maximum hit points. It then loses all remaining temporary hit points. Losing these temporary hit points in this way does not end the spell."
It's a mouthful, for sure, but it's also a level 9 spell, people should be comfortable with a bit of complexity as long as it's clear.
Can you turn a creature into a magic item with this?
Oof, so you can still indefinitely create new life using the object to creature option, but for some ungodly reason if you turn a creature into another creature they become mute bags of muscle & temp hp?
Yeah, it's gonna be a couple years before I ever get to see this spell in play at my table, but I'm 100% home-brewing it to use the legacy version for creature to creature. Or just removing the nonsense bits.
The first paragraph says "The creature shape-shifts into a different creature or a nonmagical object"
So I'm going with no.
Balls missed that line!! Well I guess my plan to turn Venca into the one ring is now up to my DM.
I just wanna be a dragon or a mighty being with spells. Hope they fix this before long.
Yeah, that is the dumbest thing I've seen in a spell description yet. The temporary hit point bit is pretty bad also.
I have read the comments here and seen the question in other forums so after studying this for awhile these are my conclusions:
A while back (before the 2024 rules) I saw a video describing a ritual of sorts that involved casting an 8th level glyph of warding with a clone spell built into it to activate when a specific phrase was spoken, true polymorphing oneself into a metallic dragon (any of the ones with the shapechange feature), maintaining concentration on the spell until it becomes permanent, activating the glyph of warding in order to start the cloning process (which would create a duplicate of the dragon form), and after 120 days you "delete the source material" causing your soul to enter the new dragon body.
This point of this ritual was it got rid of some of the caveats of the original true polymorph (e.g. you gain legendary resistances, legendary actions, spell can't be dispelled Etc.). In theory if you set up an additional Glyph of Warding, this time with a 9th level dispel magic, and had an ally say the key phrases instead so that the cloning would start while in full dragon form, and afterwards said dragon form would be dispelled by the second glyph. That way when you die 120 days later you would have your soul transferred into the dragon body with "... the same personality, memories, and abilities, but none of the original's equipment..." as per the clone spell. Meaning you would be an actual dragon with all the bells and whistles, along with your original personality, memories, and abilities.
anything wrong with this idea? (of course as a player I would never do this without talking to my DM first, and of course this requires access to three different spells (two 3rd level, one 8th level, and one 9th level), as well as spending two 9th level spell slots and one 8th level spell slot (which would take two in game days, one for set up and one for enacting the ritual) and then you'd have to wait 120 in game days for the clone to mature before becoming your full dragon form, which likely would take forever)
If a creature is turned into an object and then into a different creature, would it keep it's memories and conditions? I want to turn my familiar into something stronger, but I want it to still be my familiar. It's not really clear how much is kept. I'm a pact of the chain warlock at level 17. My familiar should not be CR 1.