Choose one creature or nonmagical object that you can see within range. The creature shape-shifts into a different creature or a nonmagical object, or the object shape-shifts into a creature (the object must be neither worn nor carried). The transformation lasts for the duration or until the target dies or is destroyed, but if you maintain Concentration on this spell for the full duration, the spell lasts until dispelled.
An unwilling creature can make a Wisdom saving throw, and if it succeeds, it isn’t affected by this spell.
Creature into Creature. If you turn a creature into another kind of creature, the new form can be any kind you choose that has a Challenge Rating equal to or less than the target’s Challenge Rating or level. The target’s game statistics are replaced by the stat block of the new form, but it retains its Hit Points, Hit Point Dice, alignment, and personality.
The target gains a number of Temporary Hit Points equal to the Hit Points of the new form. These Temporary Hit Points vanish if any remain when the spell ends.
The target is limited in the actions it can perform by the anatomy of its new form, and it can’t speak or cast spells.
The target’s gear melds into the new form. The creature can’t use or otherwise benefit from any of that equipment.
Object into Creature. You can turn an object into any kind of creature, as long as the creature’s size is no larger than the object’s size and the creature has a Challenge Rating of 9 or lower. The creature is Friendly to you and your allies. In combat, it takes its turns immediately after yours, and it obeys your commands.
If the spell lasts more than an hour, you no longer control the creature. It might remain Friendly to you, depending on how you have treated it.
Creature into Object. If you turn a creature into an object, it transforms along with whatever it is wearing and carrying into that form, as long as the object’s size is no larger than the creature’s size. The creature’s statistics become those of the object, and the creature has no memory of time spent in this form after the spell ends and it returns to normal.
* - (a drop of mercury, a dollop of gum arabic, and a wisp of smoke)
I agree, that definitely needs to be clarified. I suspect that "...if you maintain Concentration on this spell for the full duration, the spell lasts until dispelled" is meant to supersede the temporary hit points issue, and if so, then as long as you complete the full hour of concentration it wouldn't matter. But the current wording doesn't clearly and explicitly establish that.
That's always been a problem with Find Familiar, IMO. I do wish they would improve that directly rather than us having to possibly use True Polymorph for such a thing.
WOTC, based on the many comments and questions under this spell, could we get some Errata to help us with:
Excluding the new Temporary Hit Points for 1-hour, I think the comments here indicate most players would prefer if it still functioned more like 2014 True Polymorph with some possibility for lasting longer.
...Why can't my new humanoid form speak? Can someone please correct the intern that copy-pasted the Creature into Creature section from the regular Polymorph?
find a mountain turn it into cthulu
am i the only one that things of the most messed up way to use this basically there is nothing stopping me from turning people into objects permanently then casting reduce and throwing them into my bag of holding and just keeping them there forever as a collection
Can you now get legendary actions?
Yes, though that was always the case with this spell. You may be thinking of Shapechange, which used to have that limitation but no longer does.
Previously it was
If a creature assumes the form of a legendary creature, such as through a spell, it doesn’t gain that form’s legendary actions, lair actions, or regional effects.
In new version there is no such rule tho
Where are you getting that from?
Monster manual errata
Question about creature to object:
If i turned something into, say, a log of wood as an example, and then split that log of wood in half, what happens to the creature? say the log is now in two pieces, and the spell ends. Is the creature now in two parts or is it perfectly fine and back to normal? Also say the two pieces of wood got taken very far away from the spells initial casting location, where does the creature go to? The spells initial casting location, or the location of the logs? And if it goes back to the location of the logs, because theres two logs, which one does it pick? does it go to a central point between both logs? Or does it go to the larger log?
I would defiantly house rule this spell.
The temporary hit points would disappear after the 1 hour duration and then you would use all the creatures stats, including special attacks and spell use. You become that creature. Let's say you want to be a vampire, you are a vampire as written in the monster manual. As a CR13 creature you then could then start a class you qualify for at 14th level. You need to be 17Th level to cast this spell so you would lose 4 levels to become a vampire, but you could take let's say sorcerer and start at 1st level. So you could be a vampire with 7 levels in sorcerer at level 20.
OK, so the party mage got hit by a Petrifying effect and turned to stone. They have no cleric, hence no Greater Restoration. The Warlock has True Polymorph as an Invocation. If he turned the statue into a flesh version of the statue, is it the same person? Or is it some souless clone of that person? Hmmm... Inquiring minds want to know.
The BBEG keeps a Huge ball of string in their Bag of Holding, only to take it out and cast True Polymorph to turn it into an elephant or some other Huge creature.
sigma sigma boy
you could turn Tiamat into a Tarrasque
A bard can cast this spell... I do not want to know what object a bard would transform people into.