So many people may look at this and go...wait what? But this is something they can do at level 2 and will stay effective to level 20.
Step 1: get to level 2 and take the replicate magic item and pick bag of holding (your already getting where thisnos going)
Step 2: infuse the backpacks or bags or whatever with bag of holding
Step 3: set a trap using the bags or I'd you are a battle Smith and have a humanoid steel defender you can have them walk up and put one bag in another.
This is hilarious and will always works but please don't abuse it, this is for the memes and lols
What is it about bag of holding bombs? No matter the circumstance, or the edition, or the situation, this trope never dies.
As Stormknight said though, you can only use any specific infusion on one item. To make a bag of holding bomb through infusions only, it comes online at lvl 10 when Quiver of Ehlonna is able to be replicated. Quiver in a bag.....profit?
I've asked the same question. Because it is omnipresent, and everybody thinks it's both the first time someone's thought of it and also the best thing ever done.
The best answer I got was that players can't see a line like "Any creature within 10 feet of the gate is sucked through it to a random location on the Astral Plane. The gate then closes..." and not think of it as a no-save way to flip the DM the bird finger on an encounter they don't like. It's a "Negate one shitty fight w/no save" card. Alternately, it appeals to a subset of players for whom every line in the rules is a potential opportunity for advantage
It usually costs very expensive, difficult to replace resources (permanent destruction of multiple magic items), but when you get a class that can Baggie Bomb people for 'free', that Negate Shitty Fight card starts looking very attractive. It feels like a Cool Rules Hack - this powerful thing that's normally super expensive is free now, hurray! The fact that every DM ever just kinda rolls their eyes and sighs whenever it comes up is icing on the cake for that same subset of players, since most of them delight in vexing their DM. It means they 'won', and figured out a way to make the rules work for them instead of "for the DM".
I almost accidentally set this off last sunday. We looted a room we bluffed the guards out of. I handed the monk my BoH, and she started sweeping stuff inside. DM later says there was a chance that the shelf she was sweeping could have had a BoH.
There is a sentence in the Artificer rules that means an Artificer character can only have one item at a time infused with a specific infusion.
You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time.
That said, if you have two Artificer characters on the same party, then you could certainly experiment with folding time and space in this manner!
No I am correct, it is referring to the fact that you can only have one infusion on one item, so you can't use returning weapon and the +1 weapon, or cloak of elfenkind and cloak of the manta on the same item, however if you have two bags you can put a holding enchantment on each, I read it several times, also that wording looks wrong, the wording for it is
"Infusing an Item
Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a nonmagical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item. An infusion works on only certain kinds of objects, as specified in the infusion's description. If the item requires attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you infuse the item. If you decide to attune to the item later, you must do so using the normal process for attunement (see "Attunement" in chapter 7 of the Dungeon Master's Guide).
Your infusion remains in an item indefinitely, but when you die, the infusion vanishes after a number of days have passed equal to your Intelligence modifier (minimum of 1 day). The infusion also vanishes if you give up your knowledge of the infusion for another one.
You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table. You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time. Moreover, no object can bear more than one of your infusions at a time. If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion immediately ends, and then the new infusion applies."
My personal favorite way to discourage the bag bomb, its a 50/50 chance, sometimes everything ends up in the astral sea, sometimes something nasty pops through the breach.
No I am correct, it is referring to the fact that you can only have one infusion on one item, so you can't use returning weapon and the +1 weapon, or cloak of elfenkind and cloak of the manta on the same item
This is already the case anyway considering only nonmagical items can be infused and infusing an item makes it magical.
"Infusing an Item
Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a nonmagical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item. An infusion works on only certain kinds of objects, as specified in the infusion's description. If the item requires attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you infuse the item. If you decide to attune to the item later, you must do so using the normal process for attunement (see "Attunement" in chapter 7 of the Dungeon Master's Guide).
Your infusion remains in an item indefinitely, but when you die, the infusion vanishes after a number of days have passed equal to your Intelligence modifier (minimum of 1 day). The infusion also vanishes if you give up your knowledge of the infusion for another one.
You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table. You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time. Moreover, no object can bear more than one of your infusions at a time. If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion immediately ends, and then the new infusion applies."
The bold text makes it pretty clear each infusion can be in only one object at a time.
I think this is hilarious! As a DM if my players started to do this on a regular basis I'd let them have some fun, and then eventually start sending creatures from the Astral Plane at the players. Maybe they're looking to make a deal to have them send specific items, maybe they attack because they're annoyed random creatures keep showing up on their plane, maybe they are returning the favor and using their own bag of holding trick to send monsters THEY don't want to deal with to the material plane!
I can't see the problem with that idea. The paty can olny have 1 "astral grenade" a day/artificer. Moreover in my opinon it is fare from being overpovered, especially on low levels where it functions like a stong damage spell.
First: The "astral genade" is more or less useless against creatures, that can fly, capeable of natural planeshift or in close-combat.
Second: Altough there is no saving throw, the player still have to aim and throw with relative accuracy. Not to mention that the majority of PCs do not have significant attack bonus on throwing improvised weapons, which the "astral grenade" should be as it is not an actual weapon.
(Not to mention that the maximum number of creatures that can be effectively "destroyed" this way is around 4 as usually there is no more enemy in a 10 ft. circle.)
Third: This weapon bescomes really unconfortalbe if it is "accidentally" stolen...
So to sum up this weapon is available once/day, optimal in short and middle range, can garanteedly "destroy" around 3 medium creatures, with minimal DM planing it's useless against boss monsers, a constant source of life threatening danger if the enemy gets it.
No I am correct, it is referring to the fact that you can only have one infusion on one item, so you can't use returning weapon and the +1 weapon, or cloak of elfenkind and cloak of the manta on the same item
This is already the case anyway considering only nonmagical items can be infused and infusing an item makes it magical.
"Infusing an Item
Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a nonmagical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item. An infusion works on only certain kinds of objects, as specified in the infusion's description. If the item requires attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you infuse the item. If you decide to attune to the item later, you must do so using the normal process for attunement (see "Attunement" in chapter 7 of the Dungeon Master's Guide).
Your infusion remains in an item indefinitely, but when you die, the infusion vanishes after a number of days have passed equal to your Intelligence modifier (minimum of 1 day). The infusion also vanishes if you give up your knowledge of the infusion for another one.
You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table. You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time. Moreover, no object can bear more than one of your infusions at a time. If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion immediately ends, and then the new infusion applies."
The bold text makes it pretty clear each infusion can be in only one object at a time.
However, in the replicate item infusion text
"You can learn this infusion multiple times;"
This supercedes the general rule on infusions
"each time you do so, choose a magic item that you can make with it" This is the infusion to make an item
"picking from the Replicable Items tables." This is the item that the infusion makes.
The only way that you can do this at level two... RAW.. is to select Replicate item for you 1st item, and Replicate item for your 2nd item (so 2/4 of your chooses) These are seperate infusions (from a feature that states you can take multiple times) . Both can be the bag of holding as your item (picked separately, it does not say you can not pick the same item with a different infusion.)
Now...the question is, will having two of the same replicate items INFUSION be worth the cost. Sure you can do the bag-bomb, but as mentioned above there are flaws to it. What about 2 alchemy Jugs to support your local pub? or 4 sending stones to have a 3 way conversation. All cool ideas, but you are giving up another unique item to do the same thing twice..
I think there is room for flexibility of replicating multiple items with this feature is not a game breaking event, and could lead to some cool interactions and FUN.
(Personal the Artificer could also fill the bag of holding with the oil from said alchemist jug. A pint of oil is 1 pound, the bag can hold 500 pounds. 1 pint covers 5 ft square The Bag of holdings dumps all contents when inverted. See the plan?).
The only way that you can do this at level two... RAW.. is to select Replicate item for you 1st item, and Replicate item for your 2nd item (so 2/4 of your chooses) These are seperate infusions (from a feature that states you can take multiple times) . Both can be the bag of holding as your item (picked separately, it does not say you can not pick the same item with a different infusion.)
That is not actually clearly RAW. The writing is ambiguous at best. Also, it plain doesn't work on dndbeyond (if you select Replicate Item again, any items you chose before are no longer available in the dropdown).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So many people may look at this and go...wait what? But this is something they can do at level 2 and will stay effective to level 20.
Step 1: get to level 2 and take the replicate magic item and pick bag of holding (your already getting where thisnos going)
Step 2: infuse the backpacks or bags or whatever with bag of holding
Step 3: set a trap using the bags or I'd you are a battle Smith and have a humanoid steel defender you can have them walk up and put one bag in another.
This is hilarious and will always works but please don't abuse it, this is for the memes and lols
There is a sentence in the Artificer rules that means an Artificer character can only have one item at a time infused with a specific infusion.
That said, if you have two Artificer characters on the same party, then you could certainly experiment with folding time and space in this manner!
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
What is it about bag of holding bombs? No matter the circumstance, or the edition, or the situation, this trope never dies.
As Stormknight said though, you can only use any specific infusion on one item. To make a bag of holding bomb through infusions only, it comes online at lvl 10 when Quiver of Ehlonna is able to be replicated. Quiver in a bag.....profit?
I've asked the same question. Because it is omnipresent, and everybody thinks it's both the first time someone's thought of it and also the best thing ever done.
The best answer I got was that players can't see a line like "Any creature within 10 feet of the gate is sucked through it to a random location on the Astral Plane. The gate then closes..." and not think of it as a no-save way to flip the DM the bird finger on an encounter they don't like. It's a "Negate one shitty fight w/no save" card. Alternately, it appeals to a subset of players for whom every line in the rules is a potential opportunity for advantage
It usually costs very expensive, difficult to replace resources (permanent destruction of multiple magic items), but when you get a class that can Baggie Bomb people for 'free', that Negate Shitty Fight card starts looking very attractive. It feels like a Cool Rules Hack - this powerful thing that's normally super expensive is free now, hurray! The fact that every DM ever just kinda rolls their eyes and sighs whenever it comes up is icing on the cake for that same subset of players, since most of them delight in vexing their DM. It means they 'won', and figured out a way to make the rules work for them instead of "for the DM".
Please do not contact or message me.
I almost accidentally set this off last sunday. We looted a room we bluffed the guards out of. I handed the monk my BoH, and she started sweeping stuff inside. DM later says there was a chance that the shelf she was sweeping could have had a BoH.
No I am correct, it is referring to the fact that you can only have one infusion on one item, so you can't use returning weapon and the +1 weapon, or cloak of elfenkind and cloak of the manta on the same item, however if you have two bags you can put a holding enchantment on each, I read it several times, also that wording looks wrong, the wording for it is
"Infusing an Item
Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a nonmagical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item. An infusion works on only certain kinds of objects, as specified in the infusion's description. If the item requires attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you infuse the item. If you decide to attune to the item later, you must do so using the normal process for attunement (see "Attunement" in chapter 7 of the Dungeon Master's Guide).
Your infusion remains in an item indefinitely, but when you die, the infusion vanishes after a number of days have passed equal to your Intelligence modifier (minimum of 1 day). The infusion also vanishes if you give up your knowledge of the infusion for another one.
You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table. You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time. Moreover, no object can bear more than one of your infusions at a time. If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion immediately ends, and then the new infusion applies."
This supports the mod. You can't make more than one of that at a time.
My personal favorite way to discourage the bag bomb, its a 50/50 chance, sometimes everything ends up in the astral sea, sometimes something nasty pops through the breach.
This is already the case anyway considering only nonmagical items can be infused and infusing an item makes it magical.
The bold text makes it pretty clear each infusion can be in only one object at a time.
I think this is hilarious! As a DM if my players started to do this on a regular basis I'd let them have some fun, and then eventually start sending creatures from the Astral Plane at the players. Maybe they're looking to make a deal to have them send specific items, maybe they attack because they're annoyed random creatures keep showing up on their plane, maybe they are returning the favor and using their own bag of holding trick to send monsters THEY don't want to deal with to the material plane!
Find me on Twitter: @OboeLauren
I can't see the problem with that idea. The paty can olny have 1 "astral grenade" a day/artificer. Moreover in my opinon it is fare from being overpovered, especially on low levels where it functions like a stong damage spell.
First: The "astral genade" is more or less useless against creatures, that can fly, capeable of natural planeshift or in close-combat.
Second: Altough there is no saving throw, the player still have to aim and throw with relative accuracy. Not to mention that the majority of PCs do not have significant attack bonus on throwing improvised weapons, which the "astral grenade" should be as it is not an actual weapon.
(Not to mention that the maximum number of creatures that can be effectively "destroyed" this way is around 4 as usually there is no more enemy in a 10 ft. circle.)
Third: This weapon bescomes really unconfortalbe if it is "accidentally" stolen...
So to sum up this weapon is available once/day, optimal in short and middle range, can garanteedly "destroy" around 3 medium creatures, with minimal DM planing it's useless against boss monsers, a constant source of life threatening danger if the enemy gets it.
However, in the replicate item infusion text
"You can learn this infusion multiple times;"
This supercedes the general rule on infusions
"each time you do so, choose a magic item that you can make with it" This is the infusion to make an item
"picking from the Replicable Items tables." This is the item that the infusion makes.
The only way that you can do this at level two... RAW.. is to select Replicate item for you 1st item, and Replicate item for your 2nd item (so 2/4 of your chooses) These are seperate infusions (from a feature that states you can take multiple times) . Both can be the bag of holding as your item (picked separately, it does not say you can not pick the same item with a different infusion.)
Now...the question is, will having two of the same replicate items INFUSION be worth the cost. Sure you can do the bag-bomb, but as mentioned above there are flaws to it. What about 2 alchemy Jugs to support your local pub? or 4 sending stones to have a 3 way conversation. All cool ideas, but you are giving up another unique item to do the same thing twice..
I think there is room for flexibility of replicating multiple items with this feature is not a game breaking event, and could lead to some cool interactions and FUN.
(Personal the Artificer could also fill the bag of holding with the oil from said alchemist jug. A pint of oil is 1 pound, the bag can hold 500 pounds. 1 pint covers 5 ft square The Bag of holdings dumps all contents when inverted. See the plan?).
That is not actually clearly RAW. The writing is ambiguous at best. Also, it plain doesn't work on dndbeyond (if you select Replicate Item again, any items you chose before are no longer available in the dropdown).