i was gonna make a clever little build that utilizes the piercer feat and thorn whip to great effect and i noticed something special about how the feature was worded with how it "gives a bonus to one damage roll equal to the number you rolled" instead of merely stating that you add a d8 directly to the damage roll, somthing that seems to suggest that it does not deal any additional damage when it scores a critical hit and that the extra d8 cannot benefit from special dice effects that would apply to an damage roll like the sorcerer's empowered spell metamagic or the afformentioned piercer feat. Am i correct in this interpretation?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
i am soup, with too many ideas (all of them very spicy) who has made sufficient homebrew material and character to last an thousand human lifetimes
The College of Valor's Combat Inspiration feature uses similar wording and Sage Advice Compendium officially ruled that you can reroll that die on a critical hit. "Damage dice" should include all dice rolled to the determine the total of a damage roll.
Where the one damage roll comes into effect most is with spells that would roll damage dice for different individual attacks even though it's all the same spell or things like that. Such as some Ray spells for example (And yes i'm aware that you can find Sage advice from jeremy going both ways on just what spells count as such things, I'm not trying to debate that point).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
i was gonna make a clever little build that utilizes the piercer feat and thorn whip to great effect and i noticed something special about how the feature was worded with how it "gives a bonus to one damage roll equal to the number you rolled" instead of merely stating that you add a d8 directly to the damage roll, somthing that seems to suggest that it does not deal any additional damage when it scores a critical hit and that the extra d8 cannot benefit from special dice effects that would apply to an damage roll like the sorcerer's empowered spell metamagic or the afformentioned piercer feat. Am i correct in this interpretation?
i am soup, with too many ideas (all of them very spicy) who has made sufficient homebrew material and character to last an thousand human lifetimes
The College of Valor's Combat Inspiration feature uses similar wording and Sage Advice Compendium officially ruled that you can reroll that die on a critical hit. "Damage dice" should include all dice rolled to the determine the total of a damage roll.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Where the one damage roll comes into effect most is with spells that would roll damage dice for different individual attacks even though it's all the same spell or things like that. Such as some Ray spells for example (And yes i'm aware that you can find Sage advice from jeremy going both ways on just what spells count as such things, I'm not trying to debate that point).