Does Voice of Authority work with Spells which do not end immedately after casting?
Voice of Authority reads "You can invoke the power of law to embolden an ally to attack. If you cast a spell with a spell slot of 1st level or higher and target an ally with the spell, that ally can use their reaction immediately after the spell to make one weapon attack against a creature of your choice that you can see."
How does that work with spells like Faerie Fire, Moonbeam or Dawn if they are targetting an ally? Can they make the attack only after the spell stopped (for example because I lost concentration) or can they make an attack after they have taken damage?
Does that mean after the spell ended? For example after 10 minutes for Shield of Faith. Does that mean I can "prepare" attacks since you can end concentration at any time (no action required)?
Or does it mean after casting the spell? If that's the case can I hit my allies with melf's minute meteors to grant them the bonus attacks?
Faerie Fire, moonbeam, dawn and like spells do not target an ally or enemy. They target a space or point so doesn’t work for Voice of Authority.
Shield of Faith does target a creature, which could be an ally, but I believe it only works on the round you cast it. You are not casting it each round you are concentrating on it. They get a reaction attack, if they have a reaction left to use only on the round the spell is cast
Does Voice of Authority work with Spells which do not end immedately after casting?
Voice of Authority reads "You can invoke the power of law to embolden an ally to attack. If you cast a spell with a spell slot of 1st level or higher and target an ally with the spell, that ally can use their reaction immediately after the spell to make one weapon attack against a creature of your choice that you can see."
How does that work with spells like Faerie Fire, Moonbeam or Dawn if they are targetting an ally? Can they make the attack only after the spell stopped (for example because I lost concentration) or can they make an attack after they have taken damage?
It's basically gibberish, now that you bring it up, but the least gibberish way out I see is treating "after the spell" as "after the spell ends", so non-instantantaneous spells don't trigger the ability until they expire. Treating it as "after casting the spell" instead would be significantly more powerful and without any guidance at all I'd guess it's not intended.
Does Voice of Authority work with Spells which do not end immedately after casting?
Voice of Authority reads "You can invoke the power of law to embolden an ally to attack. If you cast a spell with a spell slot of 1st level or higher and target an ally with the spell, that ally can use their reaction immediately after the spell to make one weapon attack against a creature of your choice that you can see."
How does that work with spells like Faerie Fire, Moonbeam or Dawn if they are targetting an ally? Can they make the attack only after the spell stopped (for example because I lost concentration) or can they make an attack after they have taken damage?
It's basically gibberish, now that you bring it up, but the least gibberish way out I see is treating "after the spell" as "after the spell ends", so non-instantantaneous spells don't trigger the ability until they expire. Treating it as "after casting the spell" instead would be significantly more powerful and without any guidance at all I'd guess it's not intended.
I would say the least interpretive way out of the poor wording is to add "is cast" after spell. So, you cast bless on your martial character and they immediately benefit from it, not once it ends (which could be at anytime if you fail a concentration check).
Does Voice of Authority work with Spells which do not end immedately after casting?
Voice of Authority reads "You can invoke the power of law to embolden an ally to attack. If you cast a spell with a spell slot of 1st level or higher and target an ally with the spell, that ally can use their reaction immediately after the spell to make one weapon attack against a creature of your choice that you can see."
How does that work with spells like Faerie Fire, Moonbeam or Dawn if they are targetting an ally? Can they make the attack only after the spell stopped (for example because I lost concentration) or can they make an attack after they have taken damage?
It's basically gibberish, now that you bring it up, but the least gibberish way out I see is treating "after the spell" as "after the spell ends", so non-instantantaneous spells don't trigger the ability until they expire. Treating it as "after casting the spell" instead would be significantly more powerful and without any guidance at all I'd guess it's not intended.
I would say the least interpretive way out of the poor wording is to add "is cast" after spell. So, you cast bless on your martial character and they immediately benefit from it, not once it ends (which could be at anytime if you fail a concentration check).
That’s how I read it as well. You cast the spell, they get the reaction attack and they are done. Question for me is if you cast bless on three allies do they all get an attack? Or do you choose one
@ThriKreenWarrior: Voice of Authority has more text explaining this: "If the spell targets more than one ally, you choose the ally who can make the attack."
@ThriKreenWarrior: Voice of Authority has more text explaining this: "If the spell targets more than one ally, you choose the ally who can make the attack."
Thanks. I was just going off the quote in the OP. Should have looked at the the feature itself. My bad.
I see where youre coming from, but I'm fairly certain the design is supposed to be At the End of the Spell Casting.....
I will say though, one of my friends interpreted it they way you did, and used it to cast Calm Emotions on everyone in a Bar Fight, including the party's Barbarian... you can imagine how that played out when the DM told the barbarian he was allowed to punch someone for free after everyone else in the brawl calmed down..
Does Voice of Authority work with Spells which do not end immedately after casting?
Voice of Authority reads "You can invoke the power of law to embolden an ally to attack. If you cast a spell with a spell slot of 1st level or higher and target an ally with the spell, that ally can use their reaction immediately after the spell to make one weapon attack against a creature of your choice that you can see."
How does that work with spells like Faerie Fire, Moonbeam or Dawn if they are targetting an ally? Can they make the attack only after the spell stopped (for example because I lost concentration) or can they make an attack after they have taken damage?
Does that mean after the spell ended? For example after 10 minutes for Shield of Faith. Does that mean I can "prepare" attacks since you can end concentration at any time (no action required)?
Or does it mean after casting the spell? If that's the case can I hit my allies with melf's minute meteors to grant them the bonus attacks?
Faerie Fire, moonbeam, dawn and like spells do not target an ally or enemy. They target a space or point so doesn’t work for Voice of Authority.
Shield of Faith does target a creature, which could be an ally, but I believe it only works on the round you cast it. You are not casting it each round you are concentrating on it. They get a reaction attack, if they have a reaction left to use only on the round the spell is cast
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
It's basically gibberish, now that you bring it up, but the least gibberish way out I see is treating "after the spell" as "after the spell ends", so non-instantantaneous spells don't trigger the ability until they expire. Treating it as "after casting the spell" instead would be significantly more powerful and without any guidance at all I'd guess it's not intended.
I would say the least interpretive way out of the poor wording is to add "is cast" after spell. So, you cast bless on your martial character and they immediately benefit from it, not once it ends (which could be at anytime if you fail a concentration check).
That’s how I read it as well. You cast the spell, they get the reaction attack and they are done. Question for me is if you cast bless on three allies do they all get an attack? Or do you choose one
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
@ThriKreenWarrior: Voice of Authority has more text explaining this: "If the spell targets more than one ally, you choose the ally who can make the attack."
Thanks. I was just going off the quote in the OP. Should have looked at the the feature itself. My bad.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
I see where youre coming from, but I'm fairly certain the design is supposed to be At the End of the Spell Casting.....
I will say though, one of my friends interpreted it they way you did, and used it to cast Calm Emotions on everyone in a Bar Fight, including the party's Barbarian... you can imagine how that played out when the DM told the barbarian he was allowed to punch someone for free after everyone else in the brawl calmed down..